~ 「TGIF!」 Idol♡s unzipped on way back Fridays Presents an all-time favorite drama series…. “Hana yori dango” episode 5 (volume 139)

Idols unzipped...

Happy Aloha~♥ Friday!~! And on tonight’s momentous times-a~ton-episode we’re talking a wolf in sheep’s clothing, a most unexpected appearance, we go total sleuthing for a bit and there’ll be horror and more fights and there’ll be more heart upon heart than you can fathom in this one episode! ^^

~Reminiscing an all-time favorite drama series continued…

Hana Yori Dango DVD box set

Hana yori dango episode 5 (1)Hana yori dango episode 5 (2)Hana yori dango episode 5 (3)Hana yori dango episode 5 (4)

~Hana yori dango (episode 5)~

(English subtitled)

(note: there is a bit of “EnGrish” happening in the translation where a phrase like “I don’t know” may read something like “I’m don’t know”… however rest assured that the dialogue throughout is completely understandable in its context. Just a tiny hitch in the translation here. ^^*)

So once again I’ll be posting each episode singly, one episode per week every Friday …all 11 episodes here thereby emulating a “live” week to week drama watching experience ^^.

This time I’m going for a drama series which strikes all the highs, lows and in between(s) of one’s heartstrings, however this time anticipate a laugh out loud to cry like crazy “dramedy” where its inevitable spell will cause jaw dropping, your heart thumping and your funny bone tickled to an extreme of at times surreal measures. Now for the IDOL connection we’ve got both guy~candy and girl~candy all covered in the most YUM~♥ imaginable!! For the girls you’ve got ARASHI’s Matsujun and Oguri Shun leading the cast while for the guys it’s all about the main lead of our story played by the uber~adorable Inoue Mao… and yet it’s all about great storytelling, acting and the never to be forgotten experience of the “Hana yori dango” world. And when it comes to drama theme songs, “WISH” stands pretty high atop that special tier and it’s performed by the incomparable ARASHI!!! And trust me, if you’re not already familiar and head over heels with this song, you soon will be after just a couple of episodes or sooner =).

~Spoiler-free synopsis~

Makino Tsukushi is the only poor student at Eitoku Gakuen, a school of the ridiculously rich and privileged that is ruled by “Flower 4” or “F4”… a group of four boys who come from extremely powerful families: Domyoji Tsukasa- the leader and heir to the Domyoji World Finance Group/ Hanazawa Rui- the introverted son of a large company/ Nishikado Sojiro- a “player” who is the heir of a tea ceremony school/ and Mimasaka Akira-a playboy with ties to the underground. If a student gets on “F4’s” bad side, he gets a red notice and is bullied and driven out of school. Makino Tsukushi hopes to pass her days quietly without drawing any attention to herself however one day…

So I got the idea to watch and comment along with each episode before actually publishing each post publicly, as my thoughts/reactions came to me in “real time”, so hopefully this acts like a conversation starter if you reply to any of the comments below and add new ones of your own thoughts if you’d like, as this great drama series rolls along =).

Hana yori dango episode 5 (6)Hana yori dango episode 5 (7)Hana yori dango episode 5 (8)Hana yori dango episode 5 (9)Hana yori dango episode 5 (10)Hana yori dango episode 5 (11)Hana yori dango episode 5 (13)Hana yori dango episode 5 (14)Hana yori dango episode 5 (15)Hana yori dango episode 5 (16)Hana yori dango episode 5 (17)Hana yori dango episode 5 (19)Hana yori dango episode 5 (20)Hana yori dango episode 5 (21)Hana yori dango episode 5 (22)Hana yori dango episode 5 (23)Hana yori dango episode 5 (24)Hana yori dango episode 5 (25)Hana yori dango episode 5 (27)Hana yori dango episode 5 (29)Hana yori dango episode 5 (30)Hana yori dango episode 5 (31)Hana yori dango episode 5 (32)Hana yori dango episode 5 (33)Hana yori dango episode 5 (34)Hana yori dango episode 5 (35)Hana yori dango episode 5 (36)

About MorningBerryz

Lover and free spirit who's interests in Japanese culture and the like are insatiable. I am of pure Japanese/Okinawan descent, love my cats, sleep and am a bit naughty at times :).
Gallery | This entry was posted in Idols♥ unzipped, Japanese dramas, Japanese idols and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

57 Responses to ~ 「TGIF!」 Idol♡s unzipped on way back Fridays Presents an all-time favorite drama series…. “Hana yori dango” episode 5 (volume 139)

  1. And there lurks a foe? Acting so innocent all of time this girl Sakurako is a wolf in sheep’s clothing! And yet the angel hearted Tsukushi isn’t aware that something’s definitely amiss. =/

    Like

  2. Just the tiny gesture of Tsukushi snatching away one of those set up photos makes me smile. The F4 guys are more and more appearing to be not such bad guys after all, well we’ve got the gist of Tsukasa’s upbringing and how it has damaged him in life and so maybe his soul still can be saved. =)

    Like

  3. Now this is odd beyond belief as Sakurako is now begging Tsukasa to forgive Tsukushi?? Ehhh? It’s got to be her!!!!!! That sly evil smile she’s been showing and something about her is just not right. Also notice something awfully interesting about that photo?? It’s like someone else was in the room from the angle from which it was taken….I mean unless that guy had this super long selfie stick and I don’t believe that selfie sticks existed back then! I kinda wish that they didn’t exist today too =P.

    Like

    • djv124 says:

      OH MY GOD…this episode!!!! Truly incredible! Solid A for this episode, and easily my favorite out of them so far. Although, the show kind of felt like it was over for a moment, right up until that last kind of surprise appearance by Rui! But it was a great way to resolve this storyline with Sakurako (or is it truly resolved?), and also put Makino with Tsukasa in such a way that they are like an adorable couple who always fights but will definitely defend each other to others to the death, if necessary. I loved this so so so so much!
      And yes, what a KITSUNE Sakurako has turned out to be! Now we finally see why she wanted to mess with Makino, as Makino is an unwitting pawn in Sakurako’s quest to get Tsukasa to like her, ever since her childhood! Just…completely well written and fun stuff. I’m blown away.

      Like

  4. Mmm… that red and white scarf is going to haunt the mind of Tsukasa isn’t it… sort of how those fireworks did to our old friend Sena~kun =).

    Like

  5. LOL that’s such a pee in your pants funny moment when Tsukushi is declared the most intelligent as her family is trying to take a family photo with no one to snap the actual photo xD! Ah! and there it is!~! That photo at the hotel had to be taken by another person, question is who was also in that room that night? And to further figure out what happened and what did not, therefore there was no sex as those photos were all a set up with at least two guilty parties in that very room! =)

    Like

  6. Oh no and to ask Sakurako?? =O Nooooooo!! And she’s dressed awfully slutty all of the sudden as she is now saying negative things about any reconciliation between Tsukushi and Tsukasa. =/ Hmm.

    Like

  7. This Sakurako’s got two, three or maybe even four faces! =/ And her true colors are now out and I must clarify that the “three witches” thought, a friend and I started using that before this episode as I’m now reminded that there will be an abundance of people being called witches from this point forward LOLl =P.

    Like

    • djv124 says:

      Lots of witches in this show, but all of them are truly deserving of the title of “Witch” so far, for sure. Also, Sakurako totally looks like a hostess in her slut uniform. I was thinking that’s exactly who she had become, but then I had to realize this girl is still in high school right? I mean, I know or at least I’m pretty sure high school girls can also go do the whole hostess thing if they want, but it was somewhat shocking to see how much she transformed. I just kept wishing they would’ve shown a full face of Sakurako as a young busaiko child, you know? They kind of really didn’t, or at least if I remember right, they didn’t, ne? Still, I think she looks pretty hot in her slu…I mean, hostess getup!

      Like

  8. Nope Sakurako isn’t who she appears to be at all, not at all. And for that little moment before the opening credits and the awesome WISH~♥ song… you kinda get the feeling that Tsukushi is now onto Sakurako a bit? I mean that phone call just before was totally odd, beyond suspicious.

    Like

  9. LOL there’s some awfully wacky nicknames coming up in this drama…there was the Rui aka: the duck and now “Kinoko?” haha but why is Tsukushi as mushroom all of the sudden?? Hmm I’m just now reminded of a funny saying my Dad once told me and it went something like: I must be a mushroom because people keep me in the dark and keep feeding me s#%t all day long! =)

    Like

    • djv124 says:

      You were a Kinoko? Hysterical. Your Dad’s comment had me in tears. Tell Otousan thanks for me for that okay? Ha ha ha. Also, there are some weird references, aren’t they? But it all adds to the charm of this show so far. I’ve become completely used to the internal logic this dorama has going for itself, and I’m okay with it all.

      Like

  10. Ah! didn’t Sakurako drop that??! Funny seeing the F4 guys so interested in Tsukushi’s well being I think? I mean they seem sweet enough for the most part, you know aside from the womanizing going on XD. And how awesome they’re going to help!!!!!!!!

    Like

  11. OMG that is too funny!~! A free kiss giveaway for a purchase and look at the woman run towards their shop! =O

    Like

  12. Oh dear why oh why is two faced Sakurako at Tsukasa’s home again?? She acted like she was maybe jealous or something as you can’t really place a “motif” at this point. It’s odd all the way around and a mystery within itself and I bet that book has something hidden within it! You remember the one Sakurako freaked out over when Tsukushi picked in up ever so innocently that one day.

    YES! a pillow for Sakurako’s face!!!!!!!!!!!!!! The barbarian doesn’t discriminate! =)

    Like

  13. I love this as it’s now like this mini mystery of sorts…. who dunnit? and why? And why did I just spell out dunnit? =P instead of done it? ? And to see an F4 guy going all detective here is just so awesome! I mean they all have endless resources too so it can only be of great help!

    Oh boy and now Mom knows about the set up photos and she already has a predetermined dislike of Tsukushi ….. feel badly for Tsukasa.

    Like

  14. See how awesome it that!…. as one mention of opening a shop of his own next door has that salesperson or manager quickly singing like a bird! =D That ring in the photo is odd, not like any normal ring so it must be easily traced I think? As this store sold it? YUP! And OMG too cool how he makes that guy dance and get answers immediately as he only need mention how his endless wealth can buy it all up in an instant! In this case it’s money being used for good! To help Tsukushi!

    Like

  15. Now this is deeply disturbing…..! and that smug Sakurako’s getting what she wanted all along? Huh definitely is not the innocent person we all thought she was. Funny though… that Tsukasa doesn’t give the impression that he’s all that into her. =) And yet it’s devastating for Tsukushi to have to see them together that way even if Tsukasa’s heart isn’t into her as Tsukushi has no way of knowing what beats inside of a barbarian’s chest. XD I just wanna slap that Sakurako silly~!! I’ve never actually hit anyone before so my imagination slap here is my very “first.” =P

    Like

    • djv124 says:

      You’ve never actually hit anyone? So your past relationships didn’t include you getting upset enough to smack the other person? I can honestly say I’ve never got to that point either in a relationship, but sometimes I’ve wanted to, believe me! This is funny your imagination’s very first slap! Well done, MB, well done. I bet she felt it too!

      Like

  16. Haha that line is sooooooo long and now he’s kissed I wonder how many woman LOL!

    Like

  17. So so two faced here as Sakurako is totally acting like she’s helping to investigate what she’s probably behind. And the nerve to actually go to the very hotel? And the very room? Sakurako actually thinks that Tsukasa will fall for her?? Not in a zillion years if I wrote this drama myself!!! =) Now that vision Tsukasa just had… totally a vision and not reality! Tsukushi was passed out and never consented anything. Still I can totally see how his mind would be running wild with those thoughts of Tsukushi being that way. =(

    Like

  18. Just hit Sakurako with another pillow and leave Tsukasa!!! Something is very wrong with this girl!. =(

    Like

    • djv124 says:

      When Tsukasa hit her with the pillow, I thought it was so funny… he really whacked her! Also, I thought for a moment Tsukasa would’ve done something with Sakurako because of how hurt he was and how betrayed he felt, but he turned out to be much better than I expected him to be in that situation. But that’s why this is a dorama, you know? In real life, I think any guy might have decided to get some revenge sex and just go for it with Sakurako. Glad he didn’t though!

      Like

  19. Oh no don’t let her kiss you!!!!!!!!!! GOOD! That was too too close! Whew! And now Sakurako’s burning up even Tsukasa’s photo?? =/ She is a strange one.

    Like

  20. A scary and strange one.

    Like

  21. Mmm…. Tsukushi’s still got Rui on her mind. And yes that feeling of pain means that somehow she’s falling for Tsukasa as strange as that would have sounded after episode 1. =)

    Like

  22. Four tough guys and the barbarian is back in “fine” form. =/ I guess you shouldn’t accidentally or otherwise bump into Tsukasa at any time of the day or night LOL =P. Still it’s not funny, I mean seeing him revert back to this after his sister and Tsukushi almost had him human for a few days. =/

    Like

  23. Yup you’ll only feel that pain if you’re falling or have fallen for someone~♥!

    Like

    • djv124 says:

      I definitely felt his pain because love will do that to you. Or at least infatuation that can grow into real love will. I remember my first love… she dumped me for some other guy and I couldn’t get over it. I cried underneath a tree in the pouring rain dorama style, and was so loud that a cop came and investigated. But the cop was cool and talked to me like a human being and kind of made me realize that I was just 17 at the time and didn’t know what real love really was, and what I was feeling was just infatuation and that crazy adolescent mood swing of puberty kicking in (Yeah, I was a late, late bloomer). Nowadays, I’m so much harder and tougher to fall for anyone, or to really give my heart to another. I don’t think I have for…. geez, I can’t even remember? 2006 maybe? That might have been the last time I trusted somebody enough to say I truly loved them like Tsukasa is starting to for Makino. Do I miss this? Maybe… but it’s so dangerous to feel this way with the wrong person, ne?

      Like

  24. LIE LIE LIE! And Tsukushi’s going to actually believe that Tsukasa is at her place waiting to make up with her?? Ehhhh? No way! Hm and there it is~!! All of the “best” psychos have a knack for scouring faces in photos or chiseling ice blocks or well… those sort of things. =P Sakurako’s a nut case! But why? I’m sure we’re close to finding out.

    Like

  25. Ah that F4 dude is one crafty mind!~! He’s now got the lead onto the guy whom perhaps drugged Tsukushi that night yatta!

    Like

  26. OMG I can’t believe he’s actually cleaning up the shop after hours?? =O And the lady boss seems to always have a scene stealing story and this one’s up there too, you know with that “John” Lenon” guy who wasn’t John Lennon. =)

    Like

  27. Chiri? Chiri? Who the heck is Chiri? Hmm the maple leaf? I’m not getting it just yet and oh I have to say that or else I’ll be a spoiler XD. =P! Sure Sakurako’s going to get some tea and maybe a head on a platter while she;s at it. =O There’s that book again! They were classmates? F4 and Sakurako? Ehhh? And OMG look what she’s done to Tsukasa’s face in their yearbook! =O

    Like

    • djv124 says:

      Kind of got the maple leaf reference… I figured it was a keepsake from a long time ago. But that was just a guess. I was right, I see. However, Sakurako is definitely a nutjob and a half, but then again, maybe she just really wants something she knows she can’t have? I sort of just feel sorry for her at this point…though what she did to poor Makino was inexcusable.

      Like

  28. And now it’s officially a horror episode!~! That look on Sakurako’s face sends chills down my spine!~! =O

    Like

    • djv124 says:

      I absolutely loved how I could see the whites in Sakurako’s eyes here… SO much like a J-horror film! I was cracking up! Like this was too good! And I’ve actually seen the whites of Japanese girl’s eyes before in fights I’ve had with them and I know the kind of fear that Makino probably felt throughout all of what’s happening next… when you see the whites of a Japanese girl’s eyes, ANYTHING GOES. You’re pretty much in trouble lol.
      My favorite part of Sakurako’s storyline here, yeah!

      Like

  29. So Sakurako hates Tsukasa.. but why? I mean she appears to be after him or trying to seduce him and yet she’s now setting him up for something awfully bad. =( And she has Tsukushi. =(

    Like

  30. The reveal here is so deliciously disturbing of Sakurako! The real Sakurako is out and even her voice has seemingly changed from that timid deer of a girl into this monster of a person. And Tsukushi’s “involvement” was a coincidence after all, but not her hatred of Tsukasa it seems. Yeah we need to know why?? And what a helpless feeling for Tsukushi to know that she’s the bait in getting Tsukasa hurt…! =( And of course he can’t bring his friends along for help as Sakurako said he must come along and she’s holding all of the keys at the moment. How disturbing. And now Tsukasa finally realizes how he should have believed in Tsukushi…. but for it to come to this is heart pounding… watching him run desperately to save her and yet it’s all a trap.

    Like

  31. Boy he sure got there fast! He really LOVES Tsukushi. =)

    Like

  32. So Tsukasa’s heart will have him not fight back in order to save Tsukushi… I cry when he tells Tsukushi to close her eyes as he knows it’s going to be bad. =(

    Like

  33. Tsukasa could easily beat those thugs up and yet his hands are tied, as that nut will cut Tsukushi…. how devilish this has turned out. =( And Tsukushi has to watch him get beat up pleading with him to fight back when he knows he cannot….. ugh! what a helpless feeling. =(

    Like

  34. Okay Sakurako had some sort of procedure, plastic surgery or something… that yearbook photo is the final reveal! And yet Tsukasa’s buddies can’t be there to help him at all. But at least it’s now making “sense” as to the heart of Sakurako and just why she’s so messed up.

    Like

  35. So Tsukasa was awfully mean to Sakurako when they were little. And Sakurako can’t stand the fact that Tsukasa is protecting Tsukushi to this length right in front of her. It’s a conflicted feeling now, knowing what happened back then and yet what Sakurako is doing is unforgivable. I mean they were kids…. I mean that one kid did turn out to be a barbarian and all mostly thanks to his mother and yet they were just kids. He was mean beyond words and yet for Sakurako to go to such lengths for his affection is unimaginable. Changed her face forever and it’s sad on both sides.

    Like

  36. And how powerful was that! To see Tsukushi leap in front of Tsukasa to take the hit from the chair….. and yet in a moments notice you have to laugh a bit when Tsukasa replies that he’s not all right.. like duh hahah he’s all beaten up. XD I mean it’s not literally funny but his answer is so perfectly delivered there as Tsukushi is repeatedly asking if he’s okay. I mean he’s tough as nails so he’s “okay” and yet he’s not quite okay…!

    Like

    • djv124 says:

      I cried when Makino took the hit from the chair for Tsukasa. This whole segment had me in full suspense. I thought this show was going to get SUPER dark for a moment, but thankfully, Sakurako gave up. I thought she was going to go all the way with her devastation to both Makino and Tsukasa. Yet… again, this is the kind of story I love and the kind of story I like to write personally… evil characters who have a very good reason for their being evil, so much that you can feel sympathy for them. I can’t imagine loving somebody since I was a little child and getting rejected by them as a child and then getting a whole life makeover to make them like me and then still, STILL, after all that, it didn’t matter.
      Obsession is scary, neeee?
      But this whole sequence… seeing Tsukasa take a beating for Makino, and Makino yelling at him to fight back and asking why, and then seeing her take that chair hit… just brutal stuff for my heart to endure.
      LOVED IT.

      Like

  37. Okay just talked in circles too!

    Sooooo sweet here! Awww! He didn’t fight back as it was the only way he could protect her and then the embrace… scarf in hand and all =)! Powerful stuff!~!

    Like

  38. And with the evil Sakurako “out of the way”.. of course you get the feeling that Tsukasa’s mom is next to step up to the plate of being bad beyond belief? Hmmm…. we haven’t seen much of her just yet, only enough to see just how heartless she is. XD

    Sooo cute how Tsukasa and Tsukushi are already like an old couple arguing on their porch as they’re at the school’s table eating. =)

    Like

  39. And justice for Sakurako…. and yet I feel badly for her really. I mean she did the unspeakable and yet she’s been heart broken for so long too and now she’s going to be bullied by the original three witches. =/

    And just when those thoughts cross my mind there is the always protective and loving Tsukushi to save her… and despite everything that she’s done, Tsukushi is still there for her.

    Like

  40. Tsukushi always tells it like it is, won’t forgive her and yet one happy moment over he mom’s cooking is yet there to remind her of a wonderful time for them. =)

    Like

  41. The ending banter between Tsukushi and Tsukasa is the BEST!! Lying about his injury still hurting and giving Tsukushi the “three stooges” treatment there for a second LOL =P.

    And then…… the new cliffhanger!~! The return of Rui…. and how he always seems to appear when you least expect it ne~! Oh boy Tsukushi did say that she still has feelings for him and yet how could she possibly desert Tsukasa~the~Barbarian?? =O Just sayin’…! And until next Friday, O~tanoshimi ni ne! ^^*

    Like

    • djv124 says:

      Yes…this was an interesting twist. I guess my mind was so full of the Sakurako storyline that I completely forgot about Rui. However, we still have Tsukasa’s Mom to contend with, Tsukasa’s sister is lurking in the future storylines, I suspect, and of course now, Rui. I really felt like they could’ve ended the show even with this episode and it would’ve been pretty fulfilling and worth watching, but now… it makes me wonder how the show will progress. And honestly, if Makino leaves Tsukasa for Rui at this point, it would be really heartbreaking. Sure Tsukasa was a savage beast, but there’s no better love story than when a savage beast gets tamed by the beautiful princess, desho? And I don’t want to see Tsukasa and Rui at each other’s throats again. So I’m curious if, like, a new villain will get introduced, or where the show will go from here, or how this is going to play out. And please, please, please let Makino punch somebody out again! Still perhaps the overall best moment of the show! Anyways, can’t wait for next week. Glad you introduced this to me MB….I’m so lucky to have you in my life!

      Like

Say something nice

