My Favorite 360 or so…. J-Pop Songs of All-Time (Vol. 3)

Jheart..P...O..P...

Sure you know the feeling, you’ve just completed a massive “best~of” list and then immediately without fail you begin questioning yourself.. did I leave a song out? Should this one or that one be higher? Lower? Or these ten I adore all the same so how can I possibly truly rank them?

And so with this new series here’s my quick criteria:

  • Songs will be presented in no particular order.
  • I must own the actual single or album, not an issue as I always support the artist(s).
  • No Family48 songs will be included, as this series is meant to hopefully turn you onto beloved songs which aren’t of our currently collective awareness. I mean, I need not tell you how awesome this or that AKB48 song is as you already know.
  • The “360 or so” is a very loose number =).

GLAY Beloved album (inner jacket scan)

~GLAY “Beloved”~

GLAY Beloved albumI first came across Japan’s iconic~rock group GLAY via drama watching… not a huge surprise I know as drama theme songs for the most part seem to always have a means of alluring as one takes in episode after episode, and then in some cases they additionally give birth to new fandoms. =) It was the mid nineties, smack dab in the midst of my frenzied drama watching years and our local Japanese station began airing a show titled “Hitonatsu no proposal”, and while the drama itself proved to be a bit middle of the road in terms of overall appeal (I mean it did star heartthrob Hosaka Naoki and it was the first time I saw Inamori Izumi on screen!!)… it didn’t take long for its theme song to sweep my heart away!~! I had just been turned onto the hard rock ways of Luna Sea not too long before and so GLAY’s “Beloved” was an easy song to dive into and inevitably I began purchasing their latest singles and albums from that point. GLAY is a four band member powerhouse of a group!!… with TAKURO on electric and acoustic guitars, HISASHI on electric and acoustic guitars, JIRO on electric bass  and TERU on vocals. A bit non conventional back then as the drums, piano, computer programming and keyboards were performed all performed by “guest” musicians Nagai Toshi, D.I.E. and Sakuma Masahide.

“Beloved” is the third track of GLAY’s likewise titled third full length album (released on November 18th, 1996) and was also previously released as a single. And in addition to TERU’s always strong and raspy vocals which give each song a load of character, GLAY’s brand of aggressive and moody rock are on full display here with “Beloved” and in particular I so love the sounds of acoustic and electric guitars layered in rhythm and harmony creating a gritty and yet very melodic arrangement, one which remains as one of the groups’ very best and most memorable of songs. A true to life love song~♥ and if you’d not heard this one before, I so urge you to check this song out… so deep with emotions and delivered oh so poetically. Just Beautiful~.

GLAY “BELOVED”

Mou dorekurai aruite kitanoka. Machikado natsu wo kazaru himawari.

How far have I walked? The sunflowers that in summer decorate the street corners.

Mendouna koi wo nagedashita kako. Omoi dasutabi ni setsunasa tsunoru

I invite sadness when I remember the past in which I threw away troublesome loves.

Isogashi mainichi ni oborete sunao ni narenu nakade. Wasureteta taisetsuna nanika ni yasashi hi ga tomoru

I’m drowned in the hurry of everyday life, and I can’t be meek. A tender fire is lit in an important something that I forgot.

Yagatekuru sorezore no kousaten wo. Mayoino naka tachido marukedo. Soredemo hito wa mata arukidasu. Meguriau koigokoro dona tokimo. Jibunrashiku ikite yukunoni anata ga soba ni itekuretara. Ah yume kara sameta korekara mo anata wo aishiteru

Soon we each come to our crossroads. We lose our way and stop, but even so we keep on walking. A chance meeting with the awakening of love. I always try to live like myself. If you are by my side. Ah I awake from a dream, from now on I’ll love you.

Tanjuna kokorono yaritori wo nakushita tokino nakade. Sandomeno kisetsu wa utakata no koi wo ai dato yonda

The exchange of a simple heart. In those times I’ve lost, the third season called an ephemeral romance love.

Itsunohimo sarigenai kurashino naka. Hagukunda aino kodachi hohoemi mo namidamo uketomete. Tozakaru natsukashiki tomono koe wo. Mune ni idaite omoi wo yoseta ikutsuka no deai ikutsuka no wakare. Kurikaesu hibiwa tsuzuite yuku

Someday in my casual life. There is a grove of trees of the love we raised that will accept both laughter and tears. I hold in my heart that nostalgic voice of a friend that has gone far away. And collect the memories. A few meetings, a few partings. Those repeated days will continue.

Yagatekuru sorezore no kousaten wo. Mayoino naka tachidomaru kedo. Soredemo hito wa mata arukidasu. Meguriau koigokoro dona to kimo. Jibunrashiku ikiteyukunoni anata ga soba ni itekuretara. Ah yume kara samete korekara mo anata wo aishiteru. Ah yume kara samete ima ijou anata wo aishiteru

Soon we each come to our crossroads. We lose our way and stop, but even so we keep on walking. A chance meeting with the awakening of love. I always try to live like myself. If you are by my side. Ah, I awake from a dream, from now on I’ll love you. Ah I awake from a dream, now more than ever I’ll love you~♥. ^^

GLAY Beloved album (inner jacket scan)

About MorningBerryz

Lover and free spirit who's interests in Japanese culture and the like are insatiable. I am of pure Japanese/Okinawan descent, love my cats, sleep and am a bit naughty at times :).
Gallery | This entry was posted in J~Pop, J~rock, My Favorite 360 or so…. J-Pop Songs of All-Time and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Favorite 360 or so…. J-Pop Songs of All-Time (Vol. 3)

  1. Denny Sinnoh says:

    Yes. I can see why you like it.
    : )

    Liked by 1 person

Say something nice

