“Sailorfuku to kikanjuu~ sotsugyou” (Highly recommended viewing)

Sailorfuku to kikanjuu- sotsugyou on Bluray!

Hashimoto Kanna in Sailor fuku to kikanjuu

~Hashimoto Kanna “Sailorfuku to kikanjuu” (MV)~

“Sayonara wa wakare no kotoba ja nakute
Futatabi au made no tooi yakusoku.”

“Goodbye” is not.. the final word of parting. Father in time, a promise until we meet once again.”

(repeat)

“Yume no ita basho ni miren nokoshite mo
Kokoro samui dake sa.”

“Where we dreamed of.. make sure not to leave any regrets. Or it will only freeze our hearts.”

“Konomama nan jikan demo daite itai kedo
Tada konomama tsumetai hoho wo atatametai kedo…”

“Just like the way we are.. for hours and hours I want to embrace you in my arms. Just like the way it is now.. against your ice cold cheeks, I want to warm them up.”

“Tokai wa byoukizami no awatadashi sa
koi mo konkuriito no kago no naka.”

“The city remains frantic every second,
romance is sealed in a concrete cage.”

“kimi ga meguriau ai ni tsukaretara
kitto modotteoide.”

“If you ever get tired of the love you find there,
then come back to me.”

“Aishita otokotachi o omoide ni kaete
itsu no hi ni ka boku no koto o
omoidasu ga ii
tada kokoro no katasumi ni demo chiisaku memo shite.”

“I keep all the men I loved in memories.
Someday you may recall
me in your memories.
A small memory etched in the corner of your heart.”

“Suutsukeesu ippai ni tsumekonda
kibou to iu na no omoi nimotsu o
kimi wa karugaru to kitto mochiagete
egao miseru darou.”

“The heavy burdens called “hope,”
crammed into a suitcase.
You will surely lift them up with ease,
while showing me your smiling face.”

“Aishita otokotachi o kagayaki ni kaete
itsu no hi ni ka boku no koto o
omoidasu ga ii
tada kokoro no katasumi ni demo chiisaku memo shite.”

“The men I loved shine brilliantly.
Someday you may recall
me in your memories.
A small memory etched in the corner of your heart.”

Hashimoto Kanna Sailor fuku to kikanjuu type B cover

…and with these lyrics of “Sailor fuku to kikanjuu” sung by Hashimoto Kanna and now its coupling with myself finally seeing the movie I Hashimoto Kanna Sailorfuku to kikanjuu single type a with first press photo extranow have a newfound and much deeper love of this song which I already did have a big fondness for upon the arrival of Kanna~chan’s debut single release which I previously posted about. However after watching the movie, this theme truly captures my heart infinitely more as these lyrics and Kanna~chan’s melancholy vocal deliverance fully engulf the story’s underlying heartbreak and whenever you can connect a song with a ton of visuals and emotion it just immediately goes upper tier…

..and therefore definitely receives the “coveted”…

Maochans-Music-Seal-of-Approval.jpg~Maochan♥ Music Seal of Approval~!!

Hashimoto Kanna Sailorfuku to kikanjuu single type A jacket scan

And while even the movie art and Blu-ray cover may perhaps give the impression of a high octane/ gun toting  movie, “Sailorfuku to kikanjuu- sotsugyou” is actually so much more, a story which underlines and flushes out the human element of the deep bonds and eternal friendships which exist in the mafia underground. Furthermore the dark dealings, betrayals and political connections side of the lifestyle are fully brought to light in a setting where consequential circumstances have led to a now 18 year old high school student once having inherited a small yakuza gang named the Medaka Group. Now with the Medaka disbanded, it’s like that old mafia sentiment once profoundly stated by the incomparable Al Pacino where he says “Just when I thought I was out.. they pull me back in!” And so the story continues in that dark direction with this new movie and I have to give high praise to Hashimoto Kanna for her outstanding role here, as her character while trying desperately to cling back towards the normality of an eighteen year olds lifestyle… goes through an escalation of unimaginable pain, loss and soul searching to find oneself amongst the dark wrath of the underground and its far reaching depths, and so needless to say this role required quite the realm of emotional output and she did it all with flying colors.^^

Sailorfuku to kikanjuu- Sotsugyou Blu-ray! Okay so my Blu-ray did arrive! and I finally got to watch the movie “Sailorfuku to kikanjuu- sotsugyou” which is a follow up script to the 1978 original series written by Akagawa Jiro, and with this new movie it’s an adaptation of his continuing story which was written back in 1989 where the original story leaps to a year after the original story took place. The series protagonist  Hoshi Izumi as aforementioned is now struggling with life after her being thrust into the role of the boss of a small Japanese mafia group, as she tries to adapt back to being a normal school girl. Now here’s where personally it got even a lot more interesting!! as this movie’s theme song “Sailor fuku to kikanjuu” is actually a cover song which originally appeared in the 1981 film version and it starred as the main character none other than Yakushimaru Hiroko! =) Now this name may sound very familiar?… you see last year I first heard Yakushimaru Hiroko perform on NHK’s Kouhaku and as they say the rest was history!!.. as in I immediately ordered her then latest concert release and I yes I did a little post about it too… and here it is:

Yakushimaru Hiroko 35th Anniversary Concert -Toki no Tobira-

Yakushimaru Hiroko 35th Anniversary Concert Toki no Tobira (3)

~薬師丸ひろ子~

Yakushimaru Hiroko 35th Anniversary Concert Toki no Tobira (1)At each year’s end the Kouhaku (Red & White Songfest) provides not only a full evenings plate of music with a chance to see whom received the honors to perform along with waiting for your favorites♥ to appear as it also lends a chance to discover “new” artists to fill your personal musical library collection as even long statured groups/artists/musicians upon your very first time seeing/hearing them can truly tug @ your music~loving soul with even just a single performance ^^.

Rewind to this past December Eve’s Kouhaku and there were more than a few artists that tugged @ me and so tonight I thought that I’d share one such artist whom totally mesmerized me on that evening with her song ♪~♪ WOMAN “W no higeki yori” ♪~♪. That artist was Yakushimaru Hiroko and upon a tiny bit of further digging I realized that her career was originally launched as an actress in 1978 with her musical debut coming in the early 80’s and that both are very established careers as her filmography/television and musical catalogs are impressive with the former being her career mainstay.

TOCT-10875TOCT-26317TOCT-28030TOCT-95144TOCT-95189TYCN-80016TYCN-80017TYCN-80019TYCN-80020TYCN-80021TYCN-80022TYCT-60030

And while the majority of Yakushimaru Hiroko’s singles and albums are long out of print above is just a sampling of what’s still available from her musical catalog.

down arrow

~Yakushimaru Hiroko’s “-Toki no Tobira- 35th Anniversary Concert” can be ordered @ Cdjapan~

~Yakushimaru Hiroko’s music releases can be ordered @ Cdjapan~

up arrow

Yakushimaru Hiroko 35th Anniversary Concert Toki no Tobira (3)

Yakushimaru Hiroko 35th Anniversary Concert Toki no Tobira Blu-ray version

My first Yakushimaru Hiroko purchase~♥ =)!!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

~Tonight’s featured performers are:

Vocal: Yakushimaru Hiroko

Piano & music director: Takebe Satoshi

Guitar: Toyama Tetsuro

Bass: Kawasaki Teppei

Drums: Tsuruya Tomou

Keyboards: Shimizu Shunya

Chorus: Uchikawa Yoshiko

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Yakushimaru Hiroko in 35th Anniversary Concert Toki no Tobira.. (32)Yakushimaru Hiroko in 35th Anniversary Concert Toki no Tobira.. (35)Yakushimaru Hiroko in 35th Anniversary Concert Toki no Tobira.. (34)Yakushimaru Hiroko in 35th Anniversary Concert Toki no Tobira.. (39)

~Yakushimaru Hiroko 「WOMAN “W no higeki yori”」~

However upon witnessing such a stunning performance on the Kouhaku what I readily yearned for was a live concert before delving any further into her studio catalog and I found the absolutely perfect concert Blu-ray (also available on DVD) which was released in January of last year …..and the reasoning for its perfection ~*? Well it’s a 35th anniversary concert which means lots of singles/hits coverage!! In all Yakushimaru Hiroko released 21 singles and so tonight I’ve chosen three of those lead tracks and one additional beloved song for you to also fall in love~♥ with =). Now keep in mind that these songs were originally released during the early 80’s into the early 90’s so with these 35th anniversary performances you’ll be hearing reinterpreted versions of these songs while still keeping their original catchiness in tune and yet with these jazzy~concert hall styled performances these songs transcend time in a most glorious fashion. Tonight’s setting is intimate. The band accomplished and amazing. And so be prepared to be treated to a musical experience most special, oh! and I’m beginning with WOMAN “W no higeki yori” albeit it’s actually the encore finale, because it’s the very song Yakushimaru Hiroko performed on the Kouhaku on that New Year’s Eve ^^.

WOMAN “W no higeki yori” was originally released in 1984 as a single’s title track.

This is truly one of those melodies which can upon its very first listen capture you so much with both verses and its melodically uplifting chorus being equally memorable in the fullest sense ^^.

Yakushimaru Hiroko in 35th Anniversary Concert Toki no Tobira.. (33)Yakushimaru Hiroko in 35th Anniversary Concert Toki no Tobira.. (31)Yakushimaru Hiroko in 35th Anniversary Concert Toki no Tobira.. (37)Yakushimaru Hiroko in 35th Anniversary Concert Toki no Tobira.. (36)Yakushimaru Hiroko in 35th Anniversary Concert Toki no Tobira.. (38)Yakushimaru Hiroko in 35th Anniversary Concert Toki no Tobira.. (40)Yakushimaru Hiroko in 35th Anniversary Concert Toki no Tobira.. (41)

Even cats love Yakushimaru Hiroko!

Even Yuko luvs Yakushimaru Hiroko ^^!~!

Yakushimaru Hiroko in 35th Anniversary Concert Toki no Tobira.. (1)Yakushimaru Hiroko in 35th Anniversary Concert Toki no Tobira.. (2)Yakushimaru Hiroko in 35th Anniversary Concert Toki no Tobira.. (3)Yakushimaru Hiroko in 35th Anniversary Concert Toki no Tobira.. (4)

~Yakushimaru Hiroko “Anata wo motto shiritakute”

This single title track was also released in 1984 and I chose it particularly for its light hearted playfulness in both melody and lyrics and they even kept the oh~so~cute 80’s telephone ring complete with her dialogue here =)! This track simply dances upon clouds with the sweetest of piano melodies driving its rhythm, another can’t miss song I think ^^!

Yakushimaru Hiroko in 35th Anniversary Concert Toki no Tobira.. (5)Yakushimaru Hiroko in 35th Anniversary Concert Toki no Tobira.. (6)Yakushimaru Hiroko in 35th Anniversary Concert Toki no Tobira.. (7)Yakushimaru Hiroko in 35th Anniversary Concert Toki no Tobira.. (9)Yakushimaru Hiroko in 35th Anniversary Concert Toki no Tobira.. (8)Yakushimaru Hiroko in 35th Anniversary Concert Toki no Tobira.. (12)Yakushimaru Hiroko in 35th Anniversary Concert Toki no Tobira.. (13)Yakushimaru Hiroko in 35th Anniversary Concert Toki no Tobira.. (11)Yakushimaru Hiroko in 35th Anniversary Concert Toki no Tobira.. (10)Yakushimaru Hiroko in 35th Anniversary Concert Toki no Tobira.. (16)Yakushimaru Hiroko in 35th Anniversary Concert Toki no Tobira.. (18)Yakushimaru Hiroko in 35th Anniversary Concert Toki no Tobira.. (14)Yakushimaru Hiroko in 35th Anniversary Concert Toki no Tobira.. (15)Yakushimaru Hiroko in 35th Anniversary Concert Toki no Tobira.. (17)Yakushimaru Hiroko in 35th Anniversary Concert Toki no Tobira.. (23)Yakushimaru Hiroko in 35th Anniversary Concert Toki no Tobira.. (19)Yakushimaru Hiroko in 35th Anniversary Concert Toki no Tobira.. (20)Yakushimaru Hiroko in 35th Anniversary Concert Toki no Tobira.. (21)Yakushimaru Hiroko in 35th Anniversary Concert Toki no Tobira.. (22)

Yakushimaru Hiroko in 35th Anniversary Concert Toki no Tobira.. (24)Yakushimaru Hiroko in 35th Anniversary Concert Toki no Tobira.. (25)Yakushimaru Hiroko in 35th Anniversary Concert Toki no Tobira.. (26)Yakushimaru Hiroko in 35th Anniversary Concert Toki no Tobira.. (28)

~Yakushimaru Hiroko “Kaze ni notte”~

“Kaze ni notte” was released as a single title track in 1991 and is one of her absolute sweetest of ballads!! Yakushimaru Hiroko’s vocals have an incredible depth to them and her powerful range can soar on any given note, and really here no finer song to exemplify just that ….. it’s pure elegance~♥ ^^.

Yakushimaru Hiroko in 35th Anniversary Concert Toki no Tobira.. (27)Yakushimaru Hiroko in 35th Anniversary Concert Toki no Tobira.. (29)Yakushimaru Hiroko in 35th Anniversary Concert Toki no Tobira.. (30)Yakushimaru Hiroko in 35th Anniversary Concert Toki no Tobira.. (31)

Yakushimaru Hiroko 35th Anniversary Concert Toki no Tobira (2)

Yakushimaru Hiroko in 35th Anniversary Concert Toki no Tobira (1)Yakushimaru Hiroko in 35th Anniversary Concert Toki no Tobira (2)Yakushimaru Hiroko in 35th Anniversary Concert Toki no Tobira (3)Yakushimaru Hiroko in 35th Anniversary Concert Toki no Tobira (4)

~Yakushimaru Hiroko “Yume de aetara”~

And lastly one of my most favorite standards if you will from J-Pop’s golden age and I’m sure you’ve heard this one before right?, ….it’s “Yume de aetara” which has been recorded and performed by countless artists over the years as it’s one of the most catchy and memorable songs ever written I think and with this unique a bit slowed down jazzy arrangement it’s like never heard before and especially with the re~imagined ending which climaxes the song perfectly! …enjoy ^^~♥!

Yakushimaru Hiroko in 35th Anniversary Concert Toki no Tobira (7)Yakushimaru Hiroko in 35th Anniversary Concert Toki no Tobira (5)Yakushimaru Hiroko in 35th Anniversary Concert Toki no Tobira (6)Yakushimaru Hiroko in 35th Anniversary Concert Toki no Tobira (8)Yakushimaru Hiroko in 35th Anniversary Concert Toki no Tobira (9)Yakushimaru Hiroko in 35th Anniversary Concert Toki no Tobira (10)Yakushimaru Hiroko in 35th Anniversary Concert Toki no Tobira (11)Yakushimaru Hiroko in 35th Anniversary Concert Toki no Tobira (12)

Yakushimaru Hiroko 35th Anniversary Concert Toki no Tobira (2)

^^~♡.

About MorningBerryz

Lover and free spirit who's interests in Japanese culture and the like are insatiable. I am of pure Japanese/Okinawan descent, love my cats, sleep and am a bit naughty at times :).
Gallery | This entry was posted in Japanese idols, Japanese movies, J~Pop, Seifuku♥ and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to “Sailorfuku to kikanjuu~ sotsugyou” (Highly recommended viewing)

  1. djv124 says:

    The Hashimoto Kanna song at the beginning was excellent. I enjoyed it immensely, and it fit the MV very well, and vice versa. I have to see this movie! Glad it all has your Mao chan seal of approval (now that I know the context for that seal and how serious I need to take it, unless I want to end up getting punched in the face! BLAM!).
    Hiroko’s stuff was graceful, and her voice distinctly powerful. To imagine if she was a younger teenage version of herself and was part of AKB? Oh man…that made me think that for some reason. I was trying to remember her Kouhaku performance too…she was on this past year, right? Well, it’s been awhile since I saw it, obviously, but good for her!

    Liked by 2 people

    • I had a second coming of love for this song as finally being able to connect directly ‘Seifuku to kikanjuu” properly with the movie, just opened its lyrics and melancholy tone and melody to an entirely new height. I loved this song before standing alone but now this song and its deeper meanings really engulf me emotionally as great songs do.

      The second half here was originally posted last year so it should read two Kouhaku ago XD, and really you must give at the very least Yakushimaru-san’s performance of WOMAN “W no higeki yori” the good headphones honor. =) ! One listen on that night is all it took for me to be speechless and running to order a concert of hers and happily the one I feature here is pure excellence from start to finish. Now if Yakushimaru Hiroko could have been in AKB48, her voice would have been such a stand out in the group… an analogy off the top of my head would be how Marsuura Aya’s voice distinguished her career as a soloist as Tsunku no doubt knew he could never place her into any of his groups permanently… still I love the hypothetical thought and that would have been amazing! The merging of Hashimoto Kanna and Yakushimaru-san here was done on the fly so you speak as I realized that Kanna-chan here is reprising this very same role which Yakushimaru-san performed years ago in a movie version too. A wonderful connection which caught me by surprise. Thank you for giving these songs your full attention! =)!

      Liked by 1 person

    • You remain the hardest person I know to convince in taking a leap of faith in music, I’m throwing musical~gold at you here and you will be missing out. =)

      Like

      • djv124 says:

        To each their own, MB. I have a certain sound I tend to go for with JPOP and Japanese music, particularly that being mostly dance stuff, four on the floor, techno hop, stuff like that. I do like ballads and really well written songs, however, so even if I can’t get into the whole overall musical production of a song or a singer’s voice, as a musician, I can appreciate the immense talent that goes into crafting a good tune. I honestly mean that. But my heart likes what it likes, you know? I’m sure I gave you a list of metal groups I enjoy you might only like a few of them, if any at all, but maybe that is just because your heart has been conditioned to like what it likes, as is mine.
        That being said, I really really REALLY love that you are always trying to get me into new stuff. I feel like you feel it’s your personal mission to expand my musical horizons, and I sincerely want you to know I appreciate every effort you make. You have opened up to me a lot of JPOP and Japanese music I didn’t even know existed, and I am grateful for that. And you gave me Long Vacation, a show that will never leave me, and has the best soundtrack I could possibly ask for to a dorama. I mean, when you influence me MB, you influence me BIG.
        Don’t sweat it though… everything you share with me I do my best to give it an honest go, and I would say about 90% of what you send my way I could actually see myself getting into over time. The other 9% is stuff I think I would absolutely go crazy over and die for, and then maybe 1% I am not that affected by but I do appreciate hearing it anyways. I mean, I love music of all kinds, except country. That’s just me. I can get down to enka in the same day as I listen to death metal. My ears are my most valued possession on my body, next to my eyes. And something tells me you would say the same about what’s on your face too.
        Assuming you have a face, MB, and you aren’t some sinister musical genius, Japanese technobot run amok from a robotics warehouse in Akihabara. I’ve considered that as a possibility with you sometimes. Just so you know lol.

        Liked by 1 person

        • I understand, I won’t push anymore. =) Your face comment was a bit alarming though, not quite sure what to make of it.

          Like

          • djv124 says:

            No, no, no, please push all you want. I enjoy it! I like that you always try to send me new stuff… but I have to ask…how on earth did you get from my comment that I didn’t want you to do that anymore? I honestly enjoy that you share so much with me, okay? But surely you understand that not everything you send my way I’m going to like, yeah?
            And my face comment…..JOKE JOKE JOKE! I was just saying that maybe you are actually a robot from Akihabara who may or may not have a face, like you know, a Jetsons style sweeper type robot? Errr, totally didn’t mean to offend or make you upset or alarmed or whatever you’re feeling right now, okay? I was just being facetious with you. Guess you missed my humor there :(.
            Anyways, looking forward to tonight’s new dorama installment! And again, sorry if you got weirded out or offended just now. I forget that I have to be very careful with my words when I write to you because of these kinds of misunderstandings lol. The last thing I want to do is upset you or make you mad or give you the wrong impression about what it is I’m thinking. I got only good thoughts for you MB!
            Sigh… if only we could just talk on the phone lol…..

            Like

            • Thank you for explaining as I had a brain hiccup and didn’t get it (-∀-`)。No no offense taken one bit =). I asked one of my friends what they thought and they said I was being overbearing on you and I guess my whole nature is wanting to share things which move me and no we are not the same. I would make these mp3 discs for my friends whenever I accumulate enough music I think they would like and a lot of my friends have similar tastes and really I’ve been spoiled by that over the years. And so I’ve been told to not be “such a blanket” and it must be for the best…. I had to censor what one of my girl friends just called me (・д・`*)!!!

              I just finished creating tonight’s post and commenting upon it but I still need to encode it and upload. I should be able to finish a little later tonight ^^. I was thinking about getting in another release if I have time to complete it…. re-watching this second episode reminded me of just how entertaining this drama truly is as I haven’t watched in awhile, I mean I already know but in the moment it all comes rushing back to you all at once of how you felt about it way back then when it was my first time…. yup cannot separate the being sappy from me =)!

              Like

              • djv124 says:

                Good to know all is well. I am really like you too, in that when I share things with people, I do this thing mentally where I feel like it’s me who is the author of whatever I’m sharing. So particularly if I show somebody a youtube clip of a person performing a song that has moved me, I feel like I’m the performer showing somebody my work. If the person I show doesn’t give me a godly reaction, I get offended sometimes. I’m like this with everything, because I’m a performer at heart. I like to create and I feel rewarded when others recognize my creativity, even if it’s not my own lol.
                So I get where you are coming from, I think. And I do appreciate how much you feel it’s super important to share your love of things like doramas and music with me. I wish the people in my everyday life took even half an interest in me like you do. That’s why you are so important to me always MB. Honestly, you are.
                Looking forward to the next episode!

                Liked by 1 person

                • I understand what you’re saying and you being a writer/musician/performer you have much more invested than I could ever imagine. I’m not offended though as it’s a different emotion for me personally, for me it’s “you’re missing out” and I’m a firm believer in try it openly without pretenses because if you never try it you’ll never know what’s out there that you’re missing based on a label, genre, family of groups, etc… listen without prejudice as one musician’s mind once said profoundly That’s much more where my heart comes from. =)

                  Like

        • Denny Sinnoh says:

          I love these mature themed concert performances. Tugs at the heartstrings, even if I don’t understand it all. It is OK, that you like pop and dance stuff. You are still young.

          It is different for me however. Dammit … (Denny semi-slams rum-and-coke on bar). When you’ve loved and lost … LOVED … and … LOST … the way I have … (choking up) …
          You may understand someday

          Liked by 1 person

        • Denny Sinnoh says:

          Re: “I love music of all kinds, except country.”

          Maybe you just have not found the right country. Also if you like Enka, it is actually a little-bit country like in the themes of the songs.

          Liked by 1 person

          • So true, as actually enka is a form of Japanese folk music giving it a country music relation. So yup, you never know and in keeping an open heart and mind there’s a never ending wealth of music out there for everyone ^^.

            Liked by 1 person

  2. Denny Sinnoh says:

    The cat and I are very happy to watch this DVD thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

Say something nice

