~ 「TGIF!」 Idol♡s unzipped on way back Fridays Presents an all-time favorite drama series…. “Hana yori dango” (volume 135)

Idols unzipped...

Happy Aloha~♥ Friday (*´∀`*) ♪♪!

The past eleven weeks of drama watching proved to be a most fun and fruitful experience as we just wrapped up watching “Long Vacation” a couple of weeks ago, and so we’re onto another great and memorable drama series and this time it will be none other than my #4 all-time favorite drama from my personal list which I shared here a few weeks ago. ^^

~Reminiscing an all-time favorite drama series…

Hana Yori Dango DVD box set

Hana yori dango episode 1 (4)Hana yori dango episode 1 (5)Hana yori dango episode 1 (6)Hana yori dango episode 1 (7)

~Hana yori dango (episode 1)~

(English subtitled)

(note: there is a bit of “EnGrish” happening in the translation where a phrase like “I don’t know” may read something like “I’m don’t know”… however rest assured that the dialogue throughout is completely understandable. Just a tiny hitch in the translation here. ^^*)

So once again I’ll be posting each episode singly, one episode per week every Friday …all 11 episodes here thereby emulating a “live” week to week drama watching experience ^^.

This time I’m going for a drama series which strikes all the highs, lows and in between(s) of one’s heartstrings, however this time anticipate a laugh out loud to cry like crazy “dramedy” where its inevitable spell will cause jaw dropping, your heart thumping and your funny bone tickled to an extreme of at times surreal measures. Now for the IDOL connection we’ve got both guy~candy and girl~candy all covered in the most YUM~♥ imaginable!! For the girls you’ve got ARASHI’s Matsujun and Oguri Shun leading the cast while for the guys it’s all about the main lead of our story played by the uber~adorable Inoue Mao… and yet it’s all about great storytelling, acting and the never to be forgotten experience of the “Hana yori dango” world. And when it comes to drama theme songs, “WISH” stands pretty high atop that special tier and it’s performed by the incomparable ARASHI!!! And trust me, if you’re not already familiar and head over heels with this song, you soon will be after just a couple of episodes or sooner =).

~Spoiler-free synopsis~

Makino Tsukushi is the only poor student at Eitoku Gakuen, a school of the ridiculously rich and privileged that is ruled by “Flower 4” or “F4”… a group of four boys who come from extremely powerful families: Domyoji Tsukasa- the leader and heir to the Domyoji World Finance Group/ Hanazawa Rui- the introverted son of a large company/ Nishikado Sojiro- a “player” who is the heir of a tea ceremony school/ and Mimasaka Akira-a playboy with ties to the underground. If a student gets on “F4’s” bad side, he gets a red notice and is bullied and driven out of school. Makino Tsukushi hopes to pass her days quietly without drawing any attention to herself however one day…

So I got the idea to watch and comment along with each episode before actually publishing each post publicly, as my thoughts/reactions came to me in “real time”, so hopefully this acts like a conversation starter if you reply to any of the comments below and add new ones of your own thoughts if you’d like, as this great drama series rolls along =).

Hana yori dango episode 1 (1)Hana yori dango episode 1 (2)Hana yori dango episode 1 (8)Hana yori dango episode 1 (9)Hana yori dango episode 1 (11)HYD (1)HYD (2)HYD (3)Hana yori dango episode 1 (15)Hana yori dango episode 1 (16)Hana yori dango episode 1 (17)Hana yori dango episode 1 (18)Hana yori dango episode 1 (19)Hana yori dango episode 1 (20)Hana yori dango episode 1 (21)Hana yori dango episode 1 (22)Hana yori dango episode 1 (23)Hana yori dango episode 1 (24)Hana yori dango episode 1 (25)Hana yori dango episode 1 (27)Hana yori dango episode 1 (28)Hana yori dango episode 1 (29)Hana yori dango episode 1 (30)Hana yori dango episode 1 (31)Hana yori dango episode 1 (32)Hana yori dango episode 1 (34)Hana yori dango episode 1 (35)Hana yori dango episode 1 (36)Hana yori dango episode 1 (37)Hana yori dango episode 1 (39)Hana yori dango episode 1 (40)Hana yori dango episode 1 (41)Hana yori dango episode 1 (42)Hana yori dango episode 1 (43)Hana yori dango episode 1 (44)Hana yori dango episode 1 (45)Hana yori dango episode 1 (46)Hana yori dango episode 1 (48)Hana yori dango episode 1 (47)

About MorningBerryz

Lover and free spirit who's interests in Japanese culture and the like are insatiable. I am of pure Japanese/Okinawan descent, love my cats, sleep and am a bit naughty at times :).
Gallery | This entry was posted in Idols♥ unzipped, Japanese dramas, Japanese idols and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

109 Responses to ~ 「TGIF!」 Idol♡s unzipped on way back Fridays Presents an all-time favorite drama series…. “Hana yori dango” (volume 135)

  1. The instrumental theme music at times reminds me of Tim Burton and right from the very beginning its sooo sooo fitting as this surreal~fantasy like school for the rich is described by our lead character. Again I apologize for the slight EngRish which occurs at times in the translations xD… in context it’s totally understandable though and I’ve seen much worse. Actually my drama set only has Japanese subtitles which would be of no use here and so I borrowed this I think Taiwan set from my friend whom gushed over this drama with me when we watched it for the very first time all those years ago. =)

    Like

    • djv124 says:

      So I finished my script and edited it, then decided to take a break because I wanted to check this out so badly. I have another script to edit and fast. Anyway, I have some thoughts about everything, of which I will respond as you did via to your comments, like we did last time. I have to thank you sincerely for doing this again with me. I really want to have MB in my life as long as possible, so this is one more way to make that happen. Maybe we should go through your entire list of doramas? I would be down to do that if you are!
      But I’m getting ahead of myself.
      Okay, so first, I have to be completely honest and tell you that this is going to probably take me a little more time to get sucked into it. Dramedys are my least favorite types of shows, as I prefer my doramas to be full of dorama and comedy only in the right doses. Like how Long Vacation had Izumi as a comic relief character, yet she also was full of truth and in many ways, was a reflecting mirror for Minami chan. I realize this show is going to be a different creature altogether to watch, and I’m okay with that… but this first episode wasn’t as powerful as Long Vacation’s first episode, in terms of hooking me. Just throwing that out there.
      The other negative is that so far, I don’t find anyone in the show all that attractive to watch. I mean, I’m a guy, so watching the F4 dudes isn’t exactly my thing. Glad it’s yours though, and your comments below cracked me up, in terms of how many times you talked about how hot the guys are in this show. I love that you feel comfortable enough to tell me that kind of thing. Yet so far, nobody in the show has my interest, physically speaking, though Makino’s personality started to show up a little by the end of the episode. I am happy about that.
      Last, the biggest hurdle I am going to have to cross with this show is the translation. No offense, but it was more than a “little” with the Engrish. In fact, there were some parts I had NO IDEA what was being said, the translations were so bad. Good thing my Japanese helped me, so I figured it out on my own, but I’m hoping as the show continues, this won’t be an ongoing problem.
      Now for the good… ijime is such a big issue in Japan, as you said, and it was nice to see Makino stand up to others being bullied and for herself as well. I can completely support ANY show in Japan that promotes the idea of protecting oneself against ijime. So already I like the basic premise of the show.
      Also, I grew up middle class and then later in life, very poor. I had to fight for everything I have now, and I have a lot thankfully at this point in time, but there was a time when I was homeless and slept on a park bench for days at a time. So I feel deeply already for Makino, being that she’s such a “commoner,” as I was in her same spot in high school. Because I was smart, I got put into classes with all the rich kids, who, smart or not, were put into all the advanced classes because their parents made our school do this for their children. So I was never talked to or even acknowledged by those around me. They treated me like a pariah, and I had no parents making me bento boxes to remind me I am loved. So Makino is somebody I want to root for in a big way. And when you cut through the hyperbole of this episode, it’s all about Makino needing to not be naive and to do her best to protect herself from these rich kids that are messed up as well.
      I think I need to see more, but I am confident that I’m going to fall for this show like I did for Long Vacation. Again, MB, you are the absolute best for sharing this all with me. I am ready for another journey with you.

      Like

      • Woah! ambitious that’s a lot of dramas!! =) Maybe even after my “blogging days” that could be a possibility? Gosh you’re always doing so much!! I got an “extra weekend” here… too much vacation not taken so my boss had me take another two days off, and I was just off =P. Mmm maybe dramedy wasn’t the right term to use here… I mean it’s not maybe what I think you think it is…hahah that sounds wacky altogether! So I shouldn’t label things XD…. it’s just a drama. =) Going for my#1 with “Long Vacation” in hindsight maybe a little too ambitious if I’m going to be able to keep you interested? Like we had “drama~sex” on the very first date because of me and now where do we go from here LOL XD. Seriously though it’s very honest of you to come forth with me with such personal experiences…. more than that I sense a trust in you. As far as the translations go I feel so awful about those, I had totally forgot that I only own the Japanese box set which has only Japanese translations…. for the hearing impaired mostly XD so I had to call a late audible and ask a friend to borrow this set, translations break down at times I know and I feel awful about it really. =( Hearing your comments here I don’t even know what to say, I’ve failed I know but if you could tell me which scenes aren’t clear I can totally translate them for you, again I feel awful about this. =/

        Like

        • djv124 says:

          Well, okay, so as far as translations go, I’ll live. I do know a decent amount of Japanese, so it’s not like I couldn’t figure everything out eventually, and I’ve seen enough movies and TV shows in my lifetime to get a sense of context for scenes. Not to mention, I now officially am writing movies for a living too (just got an offer of a buyout for my second ever written script! Yeah for me!). But yeah, if I need help with something, is it okay to ask? Some stuff that is, like, specifically Japanese and has context that a Japanese person would understand before I would..those are the hardest things to understand. So arigato in advance on that. But please don’t feel like you failed..you didn’t fail at all. I commented, didn’t I? I watched, didn’t I? And most of all, I got you to somehow say me and you had sex, even if it was just as a reference to sex as in “TV dorama-sex.”
          Seriously, MB, you couldn’t have made me laugh and smile more tonight!
          So Long Vacation is so special and so beautiful and I am STILL thinking about it. The music particularly…and you are right, it’s a classic and your number one and is very hard to top, but, like, each dorama has its own feel and importance and offers different kinds of feelings to experience, all of which are equally interesting and important to encounter. For example, MOTHER, the one dorama on your list that I’ve watched (well, almost watched..still stuck on the last few episodes because I decided to commit fully to your Long Vacation watching instead and now this new dorama lol), it has a completely different kind of feel to it than Long Vacation. A much more destroy your heart kind of feeling, like seeing the girl in the garbage bag the first episode? I cried like a little baby when I saw that, and unfortunately, MOTHER only gets more and more depressing from there, you know? I love it though, and I love it in a much different way than I do Long Vacation. See where I’m going with this?
          So in that sense, anything I’m going to watch I go into it hoping to get my own set of feels for it, like a kind of emotion that uniquely will come from having watched that show. And if I get that from a show, then it’s something I’ll never forget, and moreover, I think that makes the show great in my eyes.
          So please, you didn’t fail, and we should keep watching, and I look forward to loving this new dorama in its own kind of way, okay?
          And in the meantime, I’m just going to think about me and you and the word “sex” in the same sentence and smile some more. As always, you are the best and you know just what to say.

          Liked by 1 person

          • Sorry I kind of freaked out there for a moment but this drama really does develop into something special and it’s most beloved with quite a large fan base. =) In hindsight I wonder if we should have begun with a drama outside of the top tier so to speak? And yet with what you’ve just expressed I’m feeling good about going straight to #1 first, you know giving you the very best my heart has to offer right on our first drama-watching date, albeit some may say that that was drama~slutty of myself (。ーωー。)笑!

            Like

            • djv124 says:

              Please, always feel good about sharing what’s in your heart with me. The dorama you picked for our first time together was so good that I don’t want to go find another MB to, um, have dorama sex. So in other words, you pulling out all the stops and getting all super dorama-slutty with me worked big time in your favor, as you showed me what I’m in store for as we continue down our dorama relationship road. Of course, now the hard part for you is to continue rising to the expectation of awesome dorama slutty sex like we had while watching Long Vacation, since that was, um, O-inducing, yeah? Or so I hope? It was for me, anyways.
              MB… I have no idea what I just wrote. Is that bad? Lol.
              Just kidding though… seriously, we’re all good. I’m very grateful to watch these with you. I’m learning more about the world of Japanese doramas, and I get to have you around longer in my life. That’s a win/win for me, and I hope for you too, my lady in the blog, but a freak in the dorama-sheets….er…something like that? Ha ha.

              Liked by 1 person

              • You’ve just given me a lot of ideas for future watching~♥!! And “Long Vacation” did put the big “O” into the mix didn’t it ヽ(。´▽`。)ノ。。!! やっほぃ♪、btw that’s my orgasmic~gushing* emoji =). And now I already have those thoughts for what’s next. ^^

                Like

                • djv124 says:

                  Gushing emoji, MB? Please tell me you write erotic manga for a living, MB! You are such an incredible writer and so quick with the quirk it blows my mind!
                  And with the kink too! Nice response! And I’m excited to see what we watch after our current series! I’m all in mb!

                  Like

  2. I personally never got into the Brand Name thingy when it comes to fashion and accessories and such so I can totally relate to Tsukushi’s feelings here being at this rich and privileged school albeit not in the same context as her family is played as being very poor here but we’ll soon get to all of that.

    Like

    • djv124 says:

      brand names are just that… names on something you buy to indicate status quo. Glad to hear you weren’t or aren’t like that MB. I never was either. I’m a jeans and t-shirt kind of guy and wear shoes until they have holes in them. I have zero use for looking cool.

      Like

  3. Ahhh the red card of doom!! =O F4 will soon be revealed with all of their history as well. Bullying is such a major issue in Japan, I mean it gets seriously bad there, here of course in a dramedy setting.

    Like

  4. Money runs the world and even a school here. =O I love how they’re each introduced here one by one, the members of F4. Matsujun’s definitely the star and hottie here along with this stage of career of Oguri Shun!! I mean all four are most handsome in their ways but Matsujiun and Oguri Shun just stand far above for me personally. ^^

    Tsukushi’s lone friend in school here comes off as both a bit naive and mysterious….you get this feeling that she’s playing naive a bit too much and yet it’s difficult to be sure.

    Like

    • djv124 says:

      It was a smart way to introduce me to Makino’s world and what she’s going to have to deal with. IN a way, us as an audience is like that transfer student, being transported to this school where the F4 rules the roost. How scary yet omoshiroi all at once!

      Like

      • It’s like an “almost” surreal fantasy but if you dig deeper it’s also an analogy of a lot of things which are wrong in society and money…. still this drama is in no way trying to punch that message home in this way alone….so just an observation, it’s so not this drama’s sense in any way because this drama is much more lovable~♥. ^^

        Like

  5. I can’t get over that F4 are actually seated in these lush chairs for the bullying that they’ve called for, it’s so wonderfully over the top making it just right for their aura.

    Did I mention how hot Matsujun is!!!!!!!! Even playing this meanie to the extreme here he’s still hot!!!!!!! =P

    Like

  6. Now I sooooo love Tsukushi’s immediate reaction to all of this school bullying/ F4 craziness!~!

    And what are the chances that a member of F4 just happened to be in the stairwell to hear her rant there for a bit LOL! Ohhh spooky at first!

    Like

  7. And the awesome theme song “WISH” by the hotter than the sun ARASHI! And it’s so cool that Matsujun’s from ARASHI and they chose this very song. The lyrics and melody fit like a glove and these opening credits are so cute! Playful with Inoue Mao playing favorites with Oguri Shun’s character “Hanazawa Rui” while fighting with Matsujun’s character Domyoji Tsukasa. Tsukushi and Tsukasa haha at first they may sound too similar but that will pass quickly as you become familiar with the characters. =) Oh and Hanazawa Rui’s the one that just overheard Tsukushi’s letting off a bit of steam in that stairwell…. the one she’s seen being sweet to in the opening credits… just a noteworthy connection there to come. ^^

    Like

    • djv124 says:

      Not sure I am into this song just yet, but there were moments in the show that had some cool soundtrack stuff going on. Particularly around the 20 minute mark…the techno groove there was awesome. I hope they bring it back for other episodes, as it had a melancholy vibe to it. Melancholy plus techno equals bliss.

      Like

      • Ohhh give it some time please!! REally I beg you! “WISH” is an enchanting song…. I mean I have guy friends who love it too! It’ll grow on you…;. it’s one of ARASHI’s much more whimsical classics…. and so suited to this drama which begs the question, which came first? the drama or the song? Duh duh duh????? =P

        Like

  8. Tsukushi’s so unpolished in a funny way as we hear her eating and speaking and so her voice is a bit odd sounding and then we learn that she likes even near-expiration date goodies from that shop! =P

    Like

  9. OMG! it only takes something as little as a bit of accidental orange juice getting in Domyoji Tsukasa’s eye for him to lose his mind and assert a red card upon the poor soul who did it by total accident =O. This extreme makes it even that much more humorous. =)

    Like

  10. Now you’ve just realized where I got that Inoue Mao~chan♥ punching that guy out screen cap I use from time to time to award songs or entire releases my “coveted” =P “Maochan♥ Seal of Music Approval” award when something’s a cut above musically here =)! It’s appeared in many posts here over the years and recently too so I’m sure you’ve seen it. ^^ I adore how Tsukushi does those little kangaroo hops just before clocking the meanie one!~!

    Like

  11. Okay I nearly “pee’d” (hahah not literally of course!) myself seeing Tsukushi’s reaction and the reasoning for her mother keeping those eggs in the rice cooker LOL =P!

    And here the wonderfully poor and aloof Makino family is all here and we learn of their overly thrifty ways! Like how Dad is aiming to beat his own record by making that single bottle of alcohol last 10 days OMG too funny! =O And to learn that they’re not only extremely poor and cutting more corners in life saving money, but that the pleasure they each individually take in having Tsukushi attend the prestigious and expensive Eitoku School and how they happily deprive themselves for this one cause in life. Soo funny even her sister gloats while drinking water LOL =P.

    Ah my mom has a lot of those leveled bento boxes!

    Like

    • djv124 says:

      So far, my favorite part of the entire show is Makino’s family and how much they are thrifty and dote on Makino. It’s funny but not in a bad way, and yet at the same time, you can tell there’s a real sense of love between them all. Or so it seems. And Makino’s father kind of reminds me of Murashige Anna’s father. I just saw the recent HKT documentary and there was a part with him and he just has that same kind of vibe as Makino’s Dad does.
      And that bento box is huge! Wow.

      Like

      • OH they’re the BEST!!!! So loving and so wildly “aloof” in the cutest of ways!! I love how her father is stretching his bottle of liquor to beyond the limits and oh her little brother too adorable!~! Best family ever!

        Like

  12. A little flashback to explain how Tsukushi came to attend this school and the beautiful alumni here giving a sweetly inspirational speech. =)

    Like

  13. Ah those tiny prawns =O…. such a cute bento she has! Tsukushi’s heart is such a giving and protecting one as here she rescues her “mysterious” lone friend from some not well to do looking guys during their lunch period =).

    Like

    • djv124 says:

      In a way, I thought the prawns were like symbols of how Makino starts out as a tiny force until she’s bullied to the point where she becomes a big prawn, by the end, as we see in her bento box right before it gets stepped on and crushed by the main F4 dude. And again, Makino has won my heart already by being a champion of the bullied people around her. I love people like her in real life. They are my heroes.

      Like

      • I love how you think, guys I know usually don’t see that type of symbolism or depth oh no I’m not slandering men I’ve talked to oh no erase rewind….! You’re a deep thinker, I like that is all! =D U~n one hundred percent agree~~~!

        Like

  14. “Commoner” as in “poor” like Tsukushi =P…. and moldy is spelt wrong here and it’s just hilarious that this friend doesn’t know what furikake looks like on a musubi (rice ball) =O. And YES they are absolute YUM!~! With an ume inside, even better!

    Like

    • djv124 says:

      Didn’t catch the significance of this because I don’t eat musubi’s that often, and since I can’t eat fish or anything fish-related, I’m out of the loop on the joke here. But it’s good to know there is something light-hearted about this. I sensed that when watching this part.

      Like

      • It’s tongue in cheek humor here with the notion that the poor liken to furikake, so not true because furikake is universally YUM~♥! Really it’s a funny part on Tsukushi’s odd friend there and the whole commoner notion. Furikake on tofu? OHHHHH don’t even get me started!! Double~YUM!♥

        Like

  15. The notion that the rich don’t eat or bother with furikake (seasoned seaweed) is too oddly funny!

    Like

  16. So this new friend is named Sakura.. hmmm where do we know that name so adorably and famously from? =P And it’s so awkwardly fitting that our lead girl is named “Tsukushi” as it can be in reference to wild grass as she says here =). And after learning of her protective ways and beating up those boys a bit earlier it’s all making perfect sense…. funny how they used her name in this way as it’s extra charming to this drama for sure.

    Like

    • djv124 says:

      I like that she’s named Tsukushi…such an odd name I thought but it makes for quite the symbolism in this dorama. I’m okay with it. Also… Sakuraaaataaaaaaaan!
      Speaking of Sakuratan, she seemed to have got herself into a bit of a situation yesterday, as it was reported that she went onto her twitter account and made fun of Tashima Meru’s body, calling her fat, and then immediately put a bunch of gibberish up on her account and said it got hacked. A lot of AKB members supposedly called Sakuratan out about it. Iwata Karen even politely threatened her about it.
      What is our dear Sakuratan thinking by doing this? One can only wonder…

      Like

      • The Tsukushi name is so symbolic and becomes sweet~♥…. demo.. OMG if it’s true what was she thinking??!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Don’t hit send with such stupid things that will inevitably come back to bite you? I mean it’s horrible if she even wrote that to begin with =(. i adore Sakuratan, but not in this way and I don’t know what’s truth or not but to then do the whole “I was HACKED” thing? (sigh*….) funny I just actually typed that just now… you should sigh* at the sight of me typing a comment that I just sighed*…. XD. I don’t get the motivation behind anyone writing anything like that to anyone… it’s like you would never say such a thing to another person’s face so why? It really gets my blood boiled….. saddens me really. =( I hope it’s not true. But to be hacked, it’s soooo cliche to say OMG! XD

        Like

        • djv124 says:

          I am very curious to know your response to the whole Sakuratan fiasco that’s going on right now with her comment to Tashima Meru and the “I got hacked” cover up (or is it) that resulted. It’s not exactly career ending or anything, but it does seem to put Sakuratan in a bad light with fans. I dunno…she’s just a young girl and has known Tashima Meru a very long time… I am curious if there isn’t anything to this really and we’re all making it into something bigger than it really is? Anyways, all I have to say about the whole thing is… “SIGH”
          Lol.

          Like

          • It’s certainly going to be over sensationalized if media gets a hold of it and I figure they already have although I’m not sure if something like this warrants that type of attention. The “I’ve been hacked…” response has proven to be more of a sign of guilt more than anything I’ve seen with celebrities and such, however I’m so going to give Sakuratan the benefit of the doubt here as she just doesn’t seem like the type of person to say such a thing and moreover she has no prior history of it that I’m aware of. Still it’s alarming no doubt and in a profession where perception is BIGGER than in most other professions, Sakuratan cannot afford this kind of regretful act. I just hope she’s telling the truth and is innocent.

            Like

  17. Okay oh crap! And the trouble begins and in the most epic of bad ways! =O Now if ‘Domyoji Tsukasa got that upset and issued a red card just for a single drop of orange juice getting into his eye, can you imagine what getting his precious shirt dirty is going to cost poor Sakura?

    Like

  18. Did you catch the playboy of F4 just now flirting with Sakura or actually asking if she has an older sister…. as he’s noted to be into older women =P. So casually done too in a time of major crisis here!! =O

    Like

    • djv124 says:

      Caught it. Love it. Added to the creep factor that guy has, but at the same time, good for him if he likes older women who would give up everything to be with him. There’s a certain kind of charm knowing there are people out there like that who have that kind of power of others. I say this because I find people like that to be psychologically VERY omoshiroi, in the sense that their motivations for why they like older women and are so good at manipulating the older types range from the classic Oedipus Complex to egotism and in some cases, sociopathology. I doubt this show is probably going to go much farther than just having this guy like older women, but personally, guys like that really are something else… a marvel to behold…since they are usually so empty inside no matter who they end up bedding that’s older than them.

      Like

      • Again Derek-kun you’re revealing your deep side,or rather yourself. =) There’s a lot to this type of personality no doubt and you just spearheaded it ….I won’t spoil his character because that would make me the worse friend to watch a drama with XD but I love your insight and thinking….!

        Like

        • djv124 says:

          Arigato. I like to read into stories I watch, because I can picture the script writers thinking out loud about it all and wondering if anyone catches the symbolism they were going for? I’m one of those people that look for that sort of thing at times, and other times, I’m just a sobbing mess and don’t care about symbolism if it’s something that deeply, deeply affects me. I am the best person to watch a dorama with, and so far, you are too, MB. No worries!

          Liked by 1 person

          • And we’re officially going drama~steady♥ (*´∀`) うれしー♥♥♥!

            Like

            • djv124 says:

              Dorama-steady? Our first time together, we get all hot and heavy with Long Vacation, and then I’m rewarded with the official pronouncement of our dating as a result of all those dorama-filled nights? I mean, seriously, what did I do to deserve such awesomeness?
              YES, THERE IS A DORAMA GOD!

              Liked by 1 person

  19. Matsujun plays deliciously bad tempered and just plain BAD so well!!!

    Like

  20. By the jaws hitting the floor you have to imagine that this has never happened before as Tsukushi begs forgiveness for Sakura while she’s not technically in trouble herself.

    Like

  21. Matsujun’s scowl… too hot!

    Like

  22. It’s like Tsukasa was so shocked by Tsukushi’s plea for forgiveness that he just left, however well…… this wouldn’t be a great drama unless F4 gave the innocent Tsukushi one of those dreaded “your life in school is over” red card things. And it’s amusing that it’s “from F4” as if it’s some sort of gift. =P

    Like

    • djv124 says:

      Ah, didn’t catch the irony of the card saying “From F4,” as I thought that was just good old Japanese politeness, ha ha. Yeah, of course she was going to get the red card, but I didn’t think it would be this soon into the show. It makes me wonder where the show will go in terms of plots, because all of the ones I immediately thought they would use once I understood the school setup they’ve already done in this first episode. From Makino and one of the F4 guys kind of having a little connection, to Makino getting the red card, and Makino punching one of the dudes (though I didn’t think it would be the main guy! Go Makino!)… I mean, where IS this show going to go now? So that excites me for sure.

      Like

      • It was really the explosiveness of the plot with something unimaginable occurring and especially to the central character, but ohhhh it gets incredibly amazing from here and the beauty is that the storyline isn’t typical and more in the ranks of you may never see it coming! =)

        Like

  23. Tsukushi’s desk is missing =(… and there it is outside. Worst, those classmates then dumping garbage on her from above. Even Sakura is avoiding her and she stuck up for her… so bad. =(

    Now these three giggling and mean spirited girls I named the three witches! xD They always seem to be around for the worst of times. They didn’t completely translate what they just said to her as they also called her poor. =(

    Like

    • djv124 says:

      The three witches are the closest thing for me right now of cute girls in this show, mostly the main girl of the three. I definitely think these girls probably have it coming to them too. Shame on them for dumping that water on Makino!

      Like

      • OMG you thought they were cute?! =O Not judging LOL just kidding okay maybe there was a cute factor there but they’re no “Sakuratan or Mayuyu” LOL I am sooooo bad! XD I sooooo wanted Tsukushi to knock them out!! And that coming from a girl who’s never hit but has been punched in the face by classmate whom thought I was coming onto her guy.. but he was talking to me and I didn’t like him at all XD…. gosh dramas are so good that they dig up silly memories. btw: blush doesn’t cover up a mean bruise. =(

        Like

        • djv124 says:

          You got hit in the face? I can’t imagine you fighting anyone lol. Crazy. I would love to know more about that story.
          And the three witches, not sure, but maybe they looked more prettier than the other girls I saw in the school so far, I guess? But yeah, they aren’t idol level status by far. I take what I can get though, and they aren’t too bad!

          Like

          • Mmm…. I’m sure you’ll warm up to Inoue Mao (Makino Tsukushi) as she’s a cutie in the rough =)! And the sad part is that she wasn’t even dating him at the time, he was single!!!!!!!! (*>ω<)!!But I totally wasn't interested and it wasn't the norm for me getting hit on in high school as I had the reputation of having a padlock down there* as in no sex till marriage (。ーωー。)。

            Like

  24. I totally wanted Tsukushi to punch them out just then!

    Like

  25. There’s Hanazawa Rui in that same stairway again… hearing Tsukushi just about to go off again. =P Rui’s the sweetheart of the group, he’s rich and introverted compared to the rest of F4 but you can totally sense that he’s built very differently inside… like he has this sweet demeanor and heart. But only time will tell.

    Like

    • djv124 says:

      Definitely if I had to pick somebody to like besides Makino in this show so far, it’s Rui san. He has potential to be somebody to like a lot, I think, but we’ll see. He also has no real courage because he seems to just go along with the other three F4 members, but maybe he has his reasons for doing this? His storyline I’m sure will be one to watch out for.

      Like

      • U~n you’ve got a good read on Rui albeit I can’t ruin by spoilers so I’ll just say that you’ve got yourself one fine and handsome man~crush♥ there….. Kidding!!!!! You’re talking character but I couldn’t resist XD.

        Like

  26. And by that slight smile, you can already sense that Tsukushi likes Rui.. can’t blame her! Speaking physical attraction-wise of course on my end! =)

    And haha look who’s secretly following or rather “stalking?” Tsukushi now, none other than head meanie Tsukasa! =O

    Like

  27. OMG look at Tsiukasa’s “house!!!” It looks more like a castle or fortress of some kind LOL =O.

    Like

    • djv124 says:

      I wouldn’t even know what to do or feel like if I lived in a house like that. I’ve been inside places that big before, but it always felt surreal to me when I was, like I should immediately leave or something. Even if I was that rich, I don’t think I would live in something that big. I probably would still drive my beat up Kia too lol.

      Like

      • It’s like The GAme of Thrones meets Japanese drama!=)

        Like

        • djv124 says:

          …Oh MB, not quite Game of Thrones. Not quite. But if you watched Game of Thrones, you would know why I just said this. Seriously MB, take the plunge, watch all the seasons! You’ll love it!

          Liked by 1 person

          • I’m in the minority for not watching I know so maybe as my Mom does have all of the box sets which I could borrow… hmm and with my “porn” comment she’ll surely have a lot of ecchi~ammo heading my way (。ーωー。)笑!

            Like

            • djv124 says:

              watching GoT with your mom might be extremely hazukashi and awkward. Better yet, watch it with me! Lets go through all the seasons together! They are so ridiculously good! I am a die hard GoT fan, of the TV series at least (waiting to read all the books once the series of books are finished, and yes, that was intentional), and I know it’s something you might find a lot of meaning and depth inside of it if you give it a chance as well. It’s really incredible stuff!
              Lets add it to our list of doramas to watch after we run through your list…ladies first, of course!

              Like

  28. Snakes in a school locker =O! and I just thought about Samuel L’s Snakes on a Plane movie ….huh don’t know why I just thought that and why I just additionally typed that just now? =P

    Like

  29. Oh those are the three guys whom were being dunked in the pool by Tsukasa just before and here they’re doing the utmost awfully unspeakable act to a girl. =( And in a nick of time it’s Rui! ♥!! An F4 member telling those thugs to get lost! =) This was difficult to watch…. for Tsukushi to be put through all of this.

    It’s so Rui to speak aloof just then after saving Tsukushi by explaining why he’s in that classroom….. the cleaning lady was working on his favorite getaway stairwell. =P

    Like

    • djv124 says:

      I almost stopped watching this dorama because I thought it was going to head into rape territory and I think my heart would’ve broke too much seeing this happen to Makino. I can’t believe it went from normal ijime stuff to THAT so fast. Thank GOD Rui san was there. Thannnnnnk God.

      Like

      • Oh no no no no no no it would have been game over for me too make no mistake! I know about that dark side of some guys =(.

        Like

        • djv124 says:

          MB, please don’t tell me some jerk tried to hurt you. Guys can be very vicious and dark but I hate the idea of that happening to you and I mean that. You are too precious, and not because of all this you’ve created, I’m talking as a father who has a daughter…I would not wish rape on anyone, not even the scummiest of the scummiest. But seriously MB, if anyone ever tried to hurt you…

          Like

          • It was back in high school, guy thinks it’s okay when it’s not okay.. but a few of my friends had followed us knowing the kind of person he was and I was okay albeit those friends saw me like never before and till this say it’s embarrassing =/.

            Like

            • djv124 says:

              Ah…good to know you are okay and that situation with the jerk dude didn’t turn into something far worse than it was. Still, sorry you had to go thru that MB. You don’t deserve anything of the sort. No girl does.

              Liked by 1 person

  30. And Rui just wants a quiet place to himself and it’s like destiny that Tsukushi’s been “ruining” his peace… three times now. I totally felt that maybe just maybe he likes her… ?

    Like

  31. So cool and mysterious that Rui~♥.

    Like

  32. And enter Tsukasa’s Mom…. and we slowly learn “perhaps” why Tsukasa’s that way. I mean his mother is queen of the heartless and cold and it’s how he’s been brought up you have to believe.

    NOW this is hilarious!!!! Look at the length of their “dinner” table OMG! =O

    Like

    • djv124 says:

      Hate her mother already. What a you know what!! How could she fire that chef like that? And yeah, of course, it’s always a parent to blame when the child goes wrong, isn’t it? I almost felt for Tsukasa, except not, because he ordered the rape of Makino right before this. I hate him now with all my heart.

      Like

      • That was colder than when our water hearer went out and we used to shower in our outside washroom…. seriously though that whole scene really revealed a lot,I mean the look on Tsukasa’s facet towards his own mother was intense Like there’s a lot of resentment/pain there. …couldn’t imagine growing up with a Mom like that =(..

        Like

  33. YUP he gets it from his mother.

    Like

  34. And just now watching mother and son “gaze” at one another from across their “dinner table”… now that’s the “look of love” isn’t it… so so much darkness here. =O

    Like

  35. Now each and every time we witness the Makino family it’s a blessing in comedy! I mean Tsukushi’s father just then remarked on how he intends to “eat” with the aroma of his half bowl of rice alone LOL =O…. however you feel so badly for Tsukushi at the same time as she’s beyond miserable at this expensive school her family is sending her to and just how they sacrifice for her to attend is beyond extreme.

    Like

    • djv124 says:

      I do feel for her in this situation….eating the smell of food is something I had to do as well, especially when the only food I could eat some days was the bread people gave the ducks in the park I slept in. I feel her situation completely.

      Like

  36. Akira and Sojiro have their awful faults in their own way being such playboys whom use women and then just dump them or 26-time them or whatever that number of girlfriends was just now =/. I mean Domyoji Tsukasa’s this big meanie with the worst of tempers while these two have this going and yet Tsukasa’s not a playboy that way…. worst of two evils? hmm…

    Like

  37. Tsukasa’s being revealed to have all of this pent up anger within himself while he’s not mature enough to know how to be or behave socially in the world…. from his overbearing mother of course. Like he can buy anything he wants with no bother, get what he wants with no bother and therefore hasn’t grown up to appreciate things and people in life. Like this boorish and jagged piece of clay that needs to be sculpted into a man.

    Like

  38. And in the pool room the confirmation that Tsukasa ordered the rape of Tsukushi…. thank goodness for Rui being there!!!!!!!!

    Like

  39. This little scene where Tsukushi awakes and witnesses her parents making sure that she gets all of the good stuff for her bento for the next day no matter how expensive, is both heart warming and at the same time you just feel for her as well as its all very troubling for her to see her family sacrifice for her this way and especially when things at school have gone sidewards. =(

    Like

  40. And now just some random dudes on a street corner getting beat up by Tsukasa just because he doesn’t know any better, or how to control his anger. =/

    Like

  41. Now this final school scene in this episode is why this one will live up to be one of the great ones!~!! Tsukasa’s destroyed the lovely bento made my Tsukushi’s loving parents and how they spent for it…. ! My heart breaks watching this scene and just how awful Tsukasa is…. and OMG he now needs clean shoes. =(

    BUT then! Tsukushi’s eyes, you see it…. anger and the most amazing thing in the drama world then occurs. Those familiar little kangaroo hops and no one knows what’s happening and then POW!!!!!!!!!! The punch heard around the drama world! We’ve just gone from miserably sad to awesomely uplifted by that single punch for justice!!!!!! And the look on Domyoji Tsukasa’s face, simply priceless~♥! Have you seen anything so unexpected and yet so wonderful? Even Rui looked a bit amused…?

    You’re going to totally fall in love with Inoue Mao as Makino Tsukushi.

    And then our very first cliffhanger, does not look good for Tsukushi as you catch a glimpse of Tsukasa in the backseat of the car just then! =O I really hope you’re looking forward to next week’s episode! Tanoshimi desu ne~* ^^.

    Like

    • djv124 says:

      This part was the best… I almost cheered when Makino punch Tsukasa. I loved how everyone gave Makino respect afterwards, and even Rui san was like, “you go girl!” but he didn’t say that of course.
      I could sense though that something awful was going to happen, since I think Tsukasa going all stone silent the first time Makino stood up to him ended up in her getting the red card. So he takes it up even ANOTHER notch and kidnaps her? Oh man….where is this going to go?
      Good cliffhanger, has me wanting to see the next episode, and I’m hoping to see how this show will endure over so many episodes. I hope Makino is going to be okay.
      Thank you again MB! Until next week!~

      Liked by 1 person

      • This scene was drama~epic! It’s like no one could have imagined it and yet it’s soooo sweet! And awesome course! The look on Tsukasa’s face…… OMG it’s the BEST! Just imagine a person thinks that they’re “something” and in an instant it’s all shattered!~!! Best and most unexpected drama punch EVER!!

        Like

  42. Denny Sinnoh says:

    Looks like it beats anything on NBC.

    Liked by 1 person

    • djv124 says:

      Sorry MB…have to use your post here for a second…
      Denny, sorry, I didn’t realize you would want to talk on the 48group talk I’ve been doing. Would you like to be a guest? We are always looking for people to comment! Please if you want to do that, PM me. You have my email, right? I’ll give you all the details and we can have you on in the weeks to come. The more the better!
      Oh, and MB, I would ask you, but I already know what your answer would be. Though if by some miracle of God you would say yes, let me know…your knowledge of the idol world would be totally appreciated and invaluable, since Denny being a 4th level Wota and me only a second level is nothing compared to your 10th level wota accomplishment!
      Anyways, Denny, get back to me privately, and Thanks MB again!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Denny Sinnoh says:

        Ha Ha.
        Yes, I would love to listen to listen to the podcast, if there is a link.

        BTW — what I meant by 4th class, was a lower level of knowledge. MB would be FIRST CLASS,

        .. a Black Belt, a 5-star General …

        (Denny breaks into Cole Porter’s “You’re the Top”)

        Like

Say something nice

