~ 「TGIF!」 Idol♡s unzipped on way back Fridays Presents an all-time favorite drama series…. “Long Vacation” episode 9 (volume 131)

Idols unzipped...

~Reminiscing an all-time favorite drama series continued…. episode 9, the one with the *miracle*, this one sponsored by Kleenex.. Yup you’re so gonna need those tissues by episode’s end it’s that GOOD I PROMISE IN ALL CAPS!….

my Long Vacation DVD box set

Long Vacation episode 9 (1)Long Vacation episode 9 (2)Long Vacation episode 9 (3)Long Vacation episode 9 (4)

「ロングバケーション episode 9」

(English subtitled)

So I’ll be posting each episode singly one episode per week every Friday …all 11 episodes here ^^.

And as aforementioned I think “Long Vacation” is the best drama ever written! Stars Kimura Takuya, Yamaguchi Tomoko, Takenouchi Yutaka, Matsu Takako, Ryo, and Inamori Izumi…. not to mention it also has one of the most iconic theme songs of all-time in Kubota Toshinobu’s “La La La Love Song” and if by chance you don’t know it, trust me you’re gonna fall in love w/ it head over heels I promise and even the opening credits remains as one of the very best cast montages!!

So I got the idea to watch and comment along with this episode before actually publishing this post publicly, as my thoughts/ reactions came to me in “real time”, so hopefully this acts like a conversation starter if you reply to any of the comments below and add new ones of your own thoughts if you’d like, as this great episode rolls along =).

Long Vacation episode 9 (6)Long Vacation episode 9 (7)Long Vacation episode 9 (8)Long Vacation episode 9 (9)Long Vacation episode 9 (10)Long Vacation episode 9 (11)Long Vacation episode 9 (12)Long Vacation episode 9 (13)Long Vacation episode 9 (14)Long Vacation episode 9 (15)Long Vacation episode 9 (16)Long Vacation episode 9 (17)Long Vacation episode 9 (18)Long Vacation episode 9 (19)Long Vacation episode 9 (20)Long Vacation episode 9 (21)Long Vacation episode 9 (22)Long Vacation episode 9 (23)Long Vacation episode 9 (24)Long Vacation episode 9 (25)Long Vacation episode 9 (26)Long Vacation episode 9 (27)Long Vacation episode 9 (28)Long Vacation episode 9 (29)Long Vacation episode 9 (30)Long Vacation episode 9 (31)Long Vacation episode 9 (32)Long Vacation episode 9 (33)Long Vacation episode 9 (34)Long Vacation episode 9 (35)Long Vacation episode 9 (37)Long Vacation episode 9 (38)Long Vacation episode 9 (39)Long Vacation episode 9 (40)Long Vacation episode 9 (41)Long Vacation episode 9 (43)Long Vacation episode 9 (44)Long Vacation episode 9 (45)Long Vacation episode 9 (46)Long Vacation episode 9 (47)Long Vacation episode 9 (48)Long Vacation episode 9 (49)Long Vacation episode 9 (50)

About MorningBerryz

Lover and free spirit who's interests in Japanese culture and the like are insatiable. I am of pure Japanese/Okinawan descent, love my cats, sleep and am a bit naughty at times :).
Gallery | This entry was posted in Idols♥ unzipped, Japanese dramas, Japanese idols and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

72 Responses to ~ 「TGIF!」 Idol♡s unzipped on way back Fridays Presents an all-time favorite drama series…. “Long Vacation” episode 9 (volume 131)

  1. Noooo did not purchase this on eBay! Free fansubs rule~!~!

    Like

    • djv124 says:

      lol, this is a great first post by you. I am laughing hard right now at this, which is good because this is the most devastating episode yet of this series. I swear to God if this doesn’t have a happy ending, I’m just going to find one of the many homeless dudes that live here in LA and just cut out my heart and tell them dinner is on me today, because seriously, after watching this episode, I am completely destroyed. I cried so much and then that ending…THAT ENDING! WTH????? Seriously MB, this one was super good but super rough.
      Good thing the series isn’t over yet, or so I hope. Just…sooooo sad and really right now I’m a complete mess. But I’m also happy that I can watch something this profound and be moved to tears even after seeing all the stuff I’ve seen in my life.
      Maybe I’ll hold onto my heart a little longer.
      More comments to come as I have a chance to respond. I can’t wait to read all of yours too!

      Like

  2. A shiver just came over my spine with the mention of Ryokochan also competing in the big competition Sena’s now aiming for =O. I mean she’s been the superior pianist by far till now and yet you get this inkling that that wall between Sena and his true ability is only a “Minami” away! =)

    Like

    • djv124 says:

      Definitely feel the same way here about Ryokochan, considering her devotion to the piano and her somewhat less complicated love life.

      Like

  3. Ahah even the ramen master notices the absence of Minami, she’s not one to not be noticed ^^.

    Wanna eat ramen again now!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! But it’s too HOT to eat ramen here!!!!!!!!!!! XD

    Like

  4. A sudden urge and curiosity just came over me! Have you ever watched an online drama stream using your headphone? Wow first time I’m doing it and it’s engulfing and you hear like atmospheric sounds that well I’ve never noticed before watching it on t.v. all of these years. Plus the Long Vacation soundtrack rules even MORE!~!

    Like

    • djv124 says:

      Oh sure, I watch everything with headphones because I watch a lot of stuff at night, plus I have a great set of headphones I bought from Japan when I was there (Sony Denons, yeah!). You hear a lot of great stuff that might go undetected if you watch without headphones. So yeah, definitely recommend listening with headphones for sure!

      Like

  5. Mmmm those fireworks now so nostalgic albeit not much time has passed….. =(.

    Like

  6. Ryokochan sounds so fierce playing with such precision! I’m nervous for Sena here….! He’s so capable and yet that darn wall XD. Mmmmm… perfect intro into our beloved La La Love Song!

    Like

    • djv124 says:

      Yeah, Ryokochan was pounding on those keys with fierce passion! I think Sena is in big trouble if he actually enters the competition. It was also a good intro for our beloved LA LA Love Song.

      Like

  7. I’m going to miss doing this with you =(, just that we’re so near to the final episode now!

    Like

  8. One of the greatest drama theme songs!! I’m reminded of it each time I hear it and after we’re finished watching remind me as I have two special treats~* for you!! ^^

    Like

    • djv124 says:

      Really? Oh, I love treats! Awesome. Definitely am terrible about reminding people of things, but I’ll do my best. Ganbatte yo!

      Like

  9. Oh that teacher doesn’t look happy =/. OMG he’s soooooooo rude!!!!!!!!!!!! He doesn’t have time to waste on Sena practicing with him he says XD!~! Brutal, don’t like this guy one bit!

    Like

    • djv124 says:

      Don’t like him but at the same time he’s kind of right…just he could’ve been nicer about it. I agree with Ryokochan completely when she tried to console Sena after the meeting with the sensei.

      Like

  10. I love that Tetsuya is finally coming open about his children =). And his past as a father. Very somber story leading up to his divorce. Hah when Tetsuya says those words about he not being able love again it sooooooo makes Minami one in the same. Honesty, always the best medicine for any kind of relationship.

    Like

  11. Ya~y! and even Ryokochan addresses that teacher’s rudeness!!!! What a meanie! It was so cute how Ryokochan is trying to get Sena to go to the festival, really shows how they’ve reunited as true friends and have gotten by all of their past woes. =)

    Like

    • djv124 says:

      It was a nice gesture for sure, though for a moment, I thought they were going to get back together, or this show was going to have some kind of tragedy strike that would make this episode venture off into even more tragic waters. So this ended up being a nice calm before the storm. I liked it a lot.

      Like

  12. Now that really freaked me out!! Ryokochan could have been killed or injured so badly and Sena saves her with his quick reflexes not even realizing he’s been injured himself. He’s just like the sweetest~♥! And now another wonderfully insightful metaphoric tunnel of words from Sena, these conversations always seem to occur when these two are together. The gentle and immaculate way he describes Ryokochan’s hands and then his… being like stones crouched over the keyboard. Made me sad to hear his revelation this way and yet you totally get his honesty and it’s a good thing that he realizes it… makes it hopefully possible for him to get by that wall one day! =)

    Like

    • djv124 says:

      That felt a little too much like the writers of the show were trying to come up with something catchy in this part to have Sena Kun say. It kind of took me out of the conversation between them for a moment. But I get why he said it and I understood the message, so it’s all good.

      Like

  13. “Rehabilitation of the heart.” I like that saying….

    Minami’s empty apartment speaks loudly even for that little instance.

    And now it’s so devastating to see Sena lock up his piano. =(

    Like

  14. So cute that Shinji has brought goodies for Sena all in cute little Tupperware and all =). Ahh it’s a man lunch date! =P

    Like

  15. Even though it’s said in “passing”, Shinji’s mention of Minami perhaps getting married is something I so wanted him to hear plainly… like light a fire under him or something! And yet it all seems hopeless. =(

    Like

  16. NOW this is the “reason” Shinji was meant to be here!!!!! Not to share yummy food in his cute little “Tupperware” but rather to discover that Sena has locked his piano and has decided to quit. UGH! that mean teacher guy really shook Sena’s confidence in himself as a pianist and even as a person it seems =(.

    Like

  17. And noooo to quit teaching too. =O

    Like

  18. Hahah you know that I’m writing this as if seeing it all for the first time, like I’m watching it all anew…. haha of course you do baka~me! XD I’m reacting like I did my first time! Can’t give anything away of course…! What am I saying XD.

    Like

    • djv124 says:

      I appreciate that a lot. I feel like you are able to slip right into that mindset of viewing this for the first time. It’s always interesting to read your reactions.

      Like

  19. Finally hearing Shinji’s reasons for quitting the piano himself purely enlightening here. He’s such an immense talent and yet it got to him in that intense way.

    Like

  20. Sooo cute and funny how our favorite siblings let each other know of their curiosity here, how Minami asks why he went to Sena’s place means she’s interested…..in? And Animal Shinji asking for her help in moving into his place complete with a pillow throw LOL. But for a price haha.

    Like

  21. The traffic conversation between Shinji and Minami….. ♥.

    Like

  22. NOW this is the best between siblings how one can always sense the others true emotions!! Shinji getting on Minami about not wanting to see Sena upstairs …..and OMG when he starts serenading her with a love song too too awesome!~! OK and wait for it wait for it…. and there it is that priceless expression and “HUH?” by Minami! =D LOL he’s even doing the dance moves too funny!!

    Like

  23. And after all Minami goes to Sena’s…. and it’s most important that she does! So that YES she can see his piano all covered up. And it’s for sale. One of the most essential scenes in all of the drama and it’s only about Animal moving into Sena’s place….. so perfectly written here on how it all reveals itself and then the dominoes to fall straight after!

    Like

  24. Oh yes another amazing proverb of sorts here and “ironically” it’s coming from the Animal himself! Love this one about wings and abilities and happiness. And I just got chicken skin there with Minami quickly without missing a beat refuting all of it by saying that Sena’s got the biggest wings in the world…. =)!

    Like

    • djv124 says:

      I did like how she came to Sena Kun’s side here and really believed in his talents. It was so beautiful and touching. Her seeing the piano wrapped up and ready to be sold was obviously like a dagger to her heart. I thought it was touching how she cleaned up Sena Kun’s place too. But it’s just that I don’t want her to “believe” in Sena and that’s it..I want her to pursue Sena kun because she wants to be by his side, rooting for him, and vice versa! So I’m hoping team Minami/Sena is going to still happen. At this point though, it doesn’t look like that’s going to be the case…. So nervous here!

      Like

  25. And the brother calls out his sister on the love card with those very words! And it’s unmistakable isn’t it, Minami loves Sena more than Tetsuya…. she could never love his this way I totally thought at that moment!

    Like

    • djv124 says:

      I wasn’t entirely sure if Minami loves Sena more than Tetsuya, because she seemed more than happy to run to Tetsuya and even leave Sena Kun hanging the night she slept over Tetsuya’s place, you know? But then again, maybe she’s really stuck now, like she realized she loves Sena Kun so much in this moment, but she’s moved out, she’s dating Tetsuya, it’s getting to the point of being a marriage discussion… how can she walk away from all of that? Or can she?

      Like

  26. I could rewind and see this little scene over and over…. the smug way Shinji keeps plugging away at Minami’s indirect “love confession”… his facial expression when he says “sooo ka~ne!!” is priceless!! and then in an instant “I don’t care” as he walks away…. too good.

    Like

  27. Funny how those fireworks still instill so much emotion between them upon it just being there at the “right” time. I still get giddy over the whole Sena and his germ free water bottle thingy! ♥! The indirect kiss….

    Like

  28. Cannot believe that Sena’s working in a clothing department store XD!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Like

  29. Sena’s covered piano such a sad sight.

    So cute how Sena remembers his very own words about his water bottle and germs then goes ahead and does a “Minami!” =D

    Like

  30. How curious is this?? Minami suddenly appearing at Sena’s workplace? When she gave the that expensive tie to Sena it was a magical moment not to mention the way she calls him over with that cute mouthing gesture. =)

    Like

    • djv124 says:

      Loved this whole exchange. IT was really heartbreaking to see them so far apart even though they were standing right in front of each other. Also, how Minami didn’t put her hand in front of Sena Kun’s face when checking out how the tie looked on him, much like that other customer had done to Sena Kun when we first saw him working at this store. That was just sad overall to see, like Sena Kun somehow has descended from a higher position that he was in before in his life. He looks supremely lonely too. And then here comes Minami and all the memories of her, like the water bottle, and now she’s doing this little exchange with the tie. I mean…it’s great, great stuff for doramas, isn’t it? And truly devastating as well. Loved this part so so much.

      Like

  31. You know for a second there I was afraid that Minami was going to walk out of the store and not even mention Sena’s covered piano and his quitting it. Whew! She turned around and asked the question we all so want to hear answered …answered properly towards Minami of course.

    One of the most powerful and revealing conversations between Sena and Minami yet, outside of his new workplace. The *miracle* dialogue. I loved hearing Minami insist that miracles do exist and how she played the piano when she was really little, quit after three days. So many proverbs in this drama and they most of the time come out during casual conversations like this one….now the onsen analogy to his piano and his abilities.

    OH for that instant I totally thought that Minami was going to say that “I LOVE…” Sena but she’s referring to his piano playing… still what a moment here! Gets your heart jumping all at once, but still such a momentous meeting between them as Sena finally hears of Minami’s true heart felt feelings about his playing.

    Like

  32. It feels so hopeless as Sena leaves. And really you have to think that Minami so wanted to say I love you to Sena…ne!

    Like

    • djv124 says:

      Yeah, again, following up the department store conversation with the miracle conversation was like a one two punch to the gut. And I kept thinking she was going to say she loved Sena…it would’ve been glorious and unexpected. I think in a way she IS saying that to him already, but just doesn’t know how to come right out and be that vulnerable, because the last time she was that vulnerable, she got stood up at the altar, desho? So…. I get her actions here. My heart was jumping here too.

      Like

  33. Tetsuya’s comments about his photography and the means of his talent, you just know that the wheels are turning inside Minami’s mind now for sure!

    Like

  34. Tiny scene and yet for the first time you sort of feel a disconnect between Shinji and Ryokochan as she plays and he looks restless and uninterested. =/ Something? or nothing?

    Like

  35. The siblings back together, always great scenes and dialogue. Now this took me by total surprise here as Minami is trying to get Shinji to help her figure out the notes to Sena’s song which has now long been that “theme” of Minami for this drama!~! Sooooo adorable as she hums the notes by memory to him too cute! This is one of those scenes that makes you want to cheer aloud! And then to LOL ask for those notes to be written into katakana for her to understand….♥! And now she knows!!!!!!!!!!! YES!

    Like

  36. OH this is priceless fun!! Minami’s the new student and friend of Sena’s and she’s in the kiddie class!!!! Too GREAT! The kid’s expressions…. priceless! And so Minami’s going to practice it alone….. ah a great Yamaha keyboard! I had this little Casio when I was little….. I never learned to play it properly because I have two left hands… can only play with one hand at a time… have two hands…. discovered I wasn’t ambidextrous when I was very little XD.

    Like

    • djv124 says:

      That was great to see Minami in the classroom with the kids. Omoshiroi, and so very very Minami here, ne? I never learned to play piano until I was in college, but then I had a very strict nun who taught me the basics of how to play (My first college I attended was a Roman Catholic Private University. I only went for one year). She was very good with me, and I learned a lot about music theory and how to play the piano with her. I just wish I would’ve started earlier in life, or kept up with it. I did write professional music with the piano, but I ended up choosing the guitar as my main instrument of choice in the end. Very cool you played! That makes sense since you seem to love music more than anyone I know.

      Like

  37. $1500.00 for the piano? It’s all to real now. =( Sena’s selling it.

    Like

  38. Momochan’s role is very tiny in this episode and yet I’m guessing you’re not really bothered by that?? I mean the drama is evolving as drama filled as a drama could possibly be… and with the best writing, cast and dialogue to boot. =)

    Seems that Minami’s the only one in denial about her Sena~LOVE♥! as even Momo plays the LOVE card on her the instant she knows why she’s learning to play that song.Haha I cracked up at the whole beginnings of the Sena and Sugisaki-san on a boat and then how that boat sank and Minami had to choose and she chose Mr. Sugisaki =P. It’s a subtle bit, but notice how Sena is either Sena or Sena-kun while Tetsuya is always Mr. Sugisaki? Says a lot without saying much! =)

    Like

    • djv124 says:

      Didn’t catch the usage of Japanese honorifics at all there. Arigato to point that out to me. It says VOLUMES to us, ne? Also, I’m not bothered at all about Momchan being absent from the dorama as much as she is. This story is all about Minami and Sena Kun for me. I’m really tied into their journey, really rooting for their love to be real, and I feel like I’m watching two people who when and if they finally do connect, it’s going to be more than a bag of fireworks going off between them!

      Like

  39. And Momo struck a chord! Hmmm…..

    Like

  40. Shinji’s got something planned!! =D

    I was soooo shocked that Rumiko on a whim asks Shinji to return to living with her =O.

    Like

  41. Like a shoe that doesn’t fit, Sena working in a clothing department store ick! =/

    Like

  42. Okay now at 35:10, got the Kleenex handy?

    Prepare for one of the most memorable final minutes of any drama all-time! And I know it’s saying a lot but really it’s so true!

    The piano which is supposed to be gone by then ringing notes onto the street as Sena returns home…. chicken skin moment for sure!

    Like

  43. And it’s THAT SONG!

    When you see Minami casually say welcome home and then reveal the plan between Shinji and herself albeit with non truths along the way…. how a brother knows his sister better than anyone and here we are. To play the song for Sena this once….♥. One of the most powerful moments in drama history with no words being spoken as Minami clumsily plays their song and Sena begins to tear up inevitably…. so truly♥. This is an incredible scene, the emotions gosh.

    And then the *miracle* and how Minami expresses it here, heartfelt and true. Her being as awful at the piano as she is and yet here she is playing this wonderful piece after only such a short time and then how this very song has its importance in her heart always as it was the one that saved her heart when her marriage went awry. And now it all comes full circle as THE SONG is fully revealed in the best of dialogues and moments created here…. the *miracle* exists.

    Like

  44. It’s so cute how Sena quips how awful Minami is…. and then to say “who said you could play my piano..” it’s such an amazing moment. He’s moved to tears and beyond by Minami’s sweetest of gestures here, getting him to no quit ….getting him to find his true self again and it’s not being that salesperson. Despite their parting words about Minami’s “pending” marriage…. Minami being stopped in her tracks outside as Sena begins serenading her with THE SONG speaks all that we need to know….?

    Like

    • djv124 says:

      There are simply no words for this part. I cried, and cried, and CRIED. I’m tearing up now even thinking about it. Watching Minami play that song so clumsily, watching Sena Kun tear up big time, watching these two souls being so close to each other and yet not being able to even sit on the same piano bench together… it just really broke me. Like here it is, my birthday, and I’m really emotionally moved. I couldn’t ask for a better gift today, you know? This scene is definitely worth of all the applause in heaven, because it was such a fine moment of acting and writing and more importantly, character development. And most of all, it was centered on a piece of music that instantly went into me and didn’t come out. It’s still there. I can feel it.
      The marriage waltz was a nice homage to the first episodes and Minami being in the position she was in back then and the position she’ll possibly be in by the series finale. But to see Minami just stand there in the street… to watch that beautiful face of hers go through so much anguish, and to see Sena Kun do the only thing he really knows how to do in life so very well.. it’s the very heart of this story, isn’t it? But now it’s time for the back and forth between these two to reach its conclusion.
      Run Sena Kun, Run!!!

      Like

  45. And then to break into the marriage waltz….. OMG you couldn’t write this any more powerful, that look on Minami’s face in that exact moment….and then to have “La La La Love Song” take over seamlessly….♥!

    Like

  46. Minami in a daze now, understandably…and you’re just wishing Sena to run after her!!!!!!!!!!

    Like

  47. Now whom does Minami truly love?? Huh it’s written all over her face isn’t it. And alas go Sena!!!!!!

    It’s doubly romantic that he runs to hail a cab…. ugh traffic! XD

    Hurry Hurry Sena! If only he can reach Minami soon!!!!!

    Problem is that he’s having a bit of trouble finding her new place =/.

    And then the doorbell ring of all doorbell rings!!!! It’s Sena right?? And nOOOOOOOOOOOo it’s not an elated look on Minami’s face as Tetsuya is the one to get there at this very moment. XD

    And there’s it is…. Sena’s outside and Minami has a choice. Go with Tetsuya or follow her heart to Sena? CLIFFHANGER!~!

    Can’t wait till next Friday right!!

    Otanoshimi ni kudasai!~! ^^*

    Like

    • djv124 says:

      Yes, next Friday night will be fun, though I will be watching Perfume here in LA next Friday, so my viewing of the video might be very late Friday evening. I hope that’s okay. Also, this just… seeing Sena Kun there..I almost yelled NOOOOOOOO but it was so late and I didn’t want to wake anyone. I was crushed. I didn’t know what to think. When the doorbell rang and Minami jumped up, I thought, Yes, lets make this happen! And then it was good-spirited Tetsuya, you could see Minami’s disappointment. Heck, you probably could’ve seen my disappointment all the way from where you are in Hawaii lol. I just…this show is too frickin good MB. I love it. Can’t wait to see how it all ends. I’m all in at this point.
      Arigato! You have fun too this week!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Hiya Derek~kun! Sorry been absent all week but I’ve been hard at work on the aforementioned project and I did also manage to actually scan another pictorial so I was sort of productive =P.

        Love that you know how to play the piano!~! Often times I find that composers liken the piano for writing even when it’s not their primary performance instrument… see the amazing Sakurai Kazutoshi!

        YUP! it’s unanimous with the *miracle* scene!!! Not a dry eye or soul to be found after watching through this one. An immaculate structured scene for sure! And then the “wrong” guy shows up at Minami’s door!!! xD

        Have a great time at the Perfume concert!~! I know how much you like them so this is one that’s been marked on your calendar for some time I imagine!

        Tonight’s episode will be waiting for you as I will be launching it a bit later today after creating its post here =).

        Like

Say something nice

