What’s Your Top 5? (The All Summer Olympics Edition)

Rio 2016


~Summer Olympic Games~

  1. Basketball
  2. Swimming
  3. Badminton
  4. Volleyball
  5. Track & Field

 So they’re just so many different events to love during the Summer Games! But easily for me it’s without question basketball at the top here and I know it’s not really an “Olympic” sport per se as it’s featured professionally every year on many levels, you know like how an event such as water polo, track & field, the swimming events and the like are more like the “real” Olympic sports as those athletes spend their years training exclusively for just those events every four years. Still I just LOVE basketball for all of it’s quick action and amazing athleticism! Oh and lots of scoring, they’re should always be as much scoring as possible =)! And I get to see all of my favorite players play together on the same team too. YUP with Michael Phelps ー(* ̄O ̄)ノ   long being the GOLDEN swimmer he’s been for such an amazingly long time and so so many others breaking records along the way it’s been amazing every four years for such a long time in the pool! But besides being spoiled with the likes of Missy Franklin and now Katie Ledecky it’s that thrill you get from each frenzied event not to mention those in pool rivalries which always pop up during these Games. And they’re so many swimming events varying in distance, stroke(s) and relays that it’s always a highlight for me. Okay you’re probably wondering ‘badminton??’ really? So I’m a racquet-girl at heart, I mean it’s one of very few sports that I can actually physically play okay and while I’m firmly a tennis fan/sometimes player I’ve taken a new liking to the sport of badminton. You see I used to imagine badminton as this “Jane Austin” type of sport where you’d be all proper and politely hit the little shuttlecock while wearing a pretty dress and hat…. but then! I witnessed badminton at its highest level of athletic awesomeness and the variety of shot making, those digs, slices and slams!…. and just the speed and agility of the game blew me away completely!! Okay I don’t actually know the names of those shots but that’s how I liken them too =P. And likewise there’s table tennis but those are a bit too tiny of quarters for me to get into the game as I’d much rather see a court for athletes to show their stuff. Track & field was firmly in with the fastest man/woman alive being on the line and with the greatest athlete and all being discovered….. so really it was a toss up between then soccer and volleyball for my fourth spot and in the end I went with volleyball as I sometimes attend our college games here and I so am attracted to the fast pace and awe inspiring athletes whom compete. Just keeps you on the edge of your seat at all times as there’s literally never a dull moment during a match…. beach volleyball too included of course! Although I do wonder why oh why do the woman need to be nearly naked in order to participate =O?

Okay so I left out the marquee event in gymnastics, but it just makes me waaaaaay too nervous to truly enjoy watching. I mean the balance beam with its narrowness freaks me out and the vault is spooky and don’t even get me started on about those bars!! =O Sure the floor exercises are great!… but overall I just couldn’t list it as on overall favorite event here for the sheer nervous factor it brings. Oh and on a final note, how about the women kicking Olympic butt so far ー(* ̄O ̄)ノ  while the men are just squeaking by in their games…. please don’t make me too nervous guys (・д・`*)!!、 I love watching you too much!~! ^^*

About MorningBerryz

Lover and free spirit who's interests in Japanese culture and the like are insatiable. I am of pure Japanese/Okinawan descent, love my cats, sleep and am a bit naughty at times :).
Gallery | This entry was posted in What's Your Top 5? and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What’s Your Top 5? (The All Summer Olympics Edition)

  1. djv124 says:

    I can completely understand why Basketball is your top fav for the Olympics. For me, it would be Hockey during the winter games, except I’m really partial to the figure skating, so that edges out Hockey by a very small margin in terms of what I would rank as my top favs.
    But this is about the Summer Olympics right?
    Well, here’s my top favs:
    1. Swimming (Can’t beat the thrill that is to be had in all the races)
    2. Beach Volleyball (It was pretty heartbreaking to see what happened tonight with our team, but still love watching it)
    3. Girl’s volleyball….Japan’s team looked pretty hot in those tiny shorts! Eroiiii!
    4. Women’s gymnastics….just wow. The USA team killed it this year! Yeah Us!
    5. Table Tennis (love how intense it gets)

    Yours are wonderful. Badminton though? I loved that you put that. Just an all around good time there…I get sucked into watching badminton matches. Seriously. Oh, and watching the Track and Field Events is always a fun time too. I really enjoy it, but I feel like after Usain Bolt finishes up his storied career possibly in Rio, it might not be as exciting? I guess we’ll see.
    Great share!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ah thank you for sharing~♥ your top five here!!! Hah are we the only fans of the Olympics that visit here? =O Hundred of visitors come here each day according to WP stats but I guess most are shy….. or I tend to attract many lurkers it seems😄. It sort of takes away the joy of blogging here, was much more active back on the VOX blogging platform and really why I’m closing up here when those artist posts are complete as I won’t be renewing my WP subscriptions this time when they expire. It costs over $400/ year and it’s beginning not to seem worth it but anyway I’ve been doing this for too long and it’s time to move on. =) I think people will discover this blog years from now and it’ll be like finding this gigantic uninhabited planet of a blog and then maybe it’ll be like Ohhh looky here! =)

    Yup! I’m officially a fan of badminton!! I want to learn to play, I mean I play tennis so maybe that’ll help me….. probably not LOL😄. Usain Bolt Gosh! and Phelps! and Ledecky!~! Now the men’s and women’s basketball team must bring home the GOLD!!! So sad it’s all ending so soon though =(.


Say something nice

