~ 「TGIF!」 Idol♡s unzipped on way back Fridays Presents an all-time favorite drama series…. “Long Vacation” episode 8 (volume 130)

Idols unzipped...

~Reminiscing an all-time favorite drama series continued…. the one with a bit of side story closure and lots of fireworks, just not of the literal kind….

my Long Vacation DVD box set

Long Vacation episode 8 (1)Long Vacation episode 8 (2)Long Vacation episode 8 (3)Long Vacation episode 8 (4)

「ロングバケーション episode 8」

(English subtitled)

So I’ll be posting each episode singly one episode per week every Friday …all 11 episodes here ^^.

And as aforementioned I think “Long Vacation” is the best drama ever written! Stars Kimura Takuya, Yamaguchi Tomoko, Takenouchi Yutaka, Matsu Takako, Ryo, and Inamori Izumi…. not to mention it also has one of the most iconic theme songs of all-time in Kubota Toshinobu’s “La La La Love Song” and if by chance you don’t know it, trust me you’re gonna fall in love w/ it head over heels I promise and even the opening credits remains as one of the very best cast montages!!

So I got the idea to watch and comment along with this episode before actually publishing this post publicly, as my thoughts/ reactions came to me in “real time”, so hopefully this acts like a conversation starter if you reply to any of the comments below and add new ones of your own thoughts if you’d like, as this great episode rolls along =).

Long Vacation episode 8 (6)Long Vacation episode 8 (7)Long Vacation episode 8 (8)Long Vacation episode 8 (9)Long Vacation episode 8 (10)Long Vacation episode 8 (11)Long Vacation episode 8 (12)Long Vacation episode 8 (13)Long Vacation episode 8 (14)Long Vacation episode 8 (15)Long Vacation episode 8 (16)Long Vacation episode 8 (17)Long Vacation episode 8 (18)Long Vacation episode 8 (19)Long Vacation episode 8 (20)Long Vacation episode 8 (21)Long Vacation episode 8 (23)Long Vacation episode 8 (24)Long Vacation episode 8 (25)Long Vacation episode 8 (26)Long Vacation episode 8 (27)Long Vacation episode 8 (28)Long Vacation episode 8 (29)Long Vacation episode 8 (30)Long Vacation episode 8 (31)Long Vacation episode 8 (32)Long Vacation episode 8 (33)Long Vacation episode 8 (35)Long Vacation episode 8 (34)Long Vacation episode 8 (37)Long Vacation episode 8 (38)Long Vacation episode 8 (39)Long Vacation episode 8 (40)Long Vacation episode 8 (41)Long Vacation episode 8 (42)Long Vacation episode 8 (43)Long Vacation episode 8 (44)

About MorningBerryz

Lover and free spirit who's interests in Japanese culture and the like are insatiable. I am of pure Japanese/Okinawan descent, love my cats, sleep and am a bit naughty at times :).
Gallery | This entry was posted in Idols♥ unzipped, Japanese dramas, Japanese idols and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

45 Responses to ~ 「TGIF!」 Idol♡s unzipped on way back Fridays Presents an all-time favorite drama series…. “Long Vacation” episode 8 (volume 130)

  1. Woah a lot of piercing words from Sena as we continue from precisely where we left off last episode. While I can totally 100% understand his side of emotions and why he’s feeling these emotions of “betrayal”, on Minami’s side things just kind of fell into place and she was having a early state of a relationship no doubt with Tetsuya leading up to their kiss so it’s a definite mixed bags here. Not really any right or wrong as this one’s not so cut and dry I feel.

    Like

    • djv124 says:

      mwaaaah…this episode really crushed my heart. For a moment, I thought it was going to be the last episode in the series, since it had that kind of a feeling to it at the end. I’m glad there’s more, but I only hope more episodes means a little more happiness for me, and not more heartbreak. I guess we’ll see.
      IN any event, the episode sure did start off with a bang! Wow.

      Like

  2. Minami’s forgetting of her keys leads to awkward genius in the writing here and we do get more open conversation afterward so it was definitely a development my heart wanted to see. Little remarks here and there as the truth becomes a bit fuddled at best, amusing when Sena replies to Minami’s remark of them being like siblings…. saying they don’t look alike.

    Like

    • djv124 says:

      Yes indeed, bringing Tetsuya into the mix right away to confront Sena without realizing it’s a confrontation was pretty good writing. I was happy to see this happen. It did kind of lay out I guess how Minami feels about Sena, but I really, really thought she liked Sena you know? Kind of bummed she looks at him as a younger brother. I mean, geez, who kisses their younger brother like that? lol.

      Like

  3. A “timely” trip away for Tetsuya I instantly thought!! Ohhhhhh what can a week provide for these two you have to be thinking at this very instant with Tetsuya away on business. First fireworks set off as Minami quickly quips that she’s intent on moving out of Sena’s place as she can only imagine that such a living “condition” will only weigh on Tetsuya’s mind. And an early inkling of a firecracker perhaps as Tetsuya in return mentions he has an announcement to make to Minami and you have to believe it’s going to be of the epic KIND!~!

    Like

    • djv124 says:

      Uh Oh, was all I could think here…anytime there’s an announcement to be made by somebody in a dorama, especially somebody as seemingly good-hearted as Tetsuya, can only mean something bad.

      Like

  4. A really heartbroken Sena I felt for him here and just hearing him repeat out loud Minami’s stating that their relationship is of two siblings and nothing more xD. Hmmm a kiss is really just a kiss? I guess you’d need to do it* and kiss in order to make it official. =P

    Like

    • djv124 says:

      I would think kissing somebody is a good first step to getting it on, yeah? But Sena was too shy I guess to do much more, or maybe he didn’t have an opportunity since things moved so fast after that kiss between them a few episodes ago. Still, Minami HAD to have known how Sena felt about her, and yet she went along with Tetsuya and did it with him, or so I guess we’re all supposed to believe that’s what happened. It’s really heartbreaking… I mean, Minami knows how Sena is seemingly incapable of really making the first move, with the exception of his kiss with Minami….she should’ve waited for him or maybe sat down and talked with him. So frustrating because I want Sena to be happy! And Minami too! But the question now becomes…will Minami truly be happy with Tetsuya, or is there still a chance for Sena?????

      Like

  5. Coincidentally funny that brother and sister are now in need of a new place of residence =O. Also funny that Ryokochan declined a live in Shinji! =O Again their chemistry is sooo believable as brother and sister, great acting and wonderful casting!

    Like

  6. Ahhhhh this made me so happy and optimistic for Sena as he’s finally decided to enter the big competition with the Boston orchestra being the immense reward if one were to triumph!~! And we’re back in my favorite cozy eatery…. a comforting environment, you betcha!!!!! I loved the movie reference here as Sensei makes his point for Sena and himself… Sena’s initial reply is amusing as well. Their talk of sadness, strength and kindness is an enlightening point of view here whether one agrees totally or not. And we both cheered happily as Sensei makes his point go full circle here reaching that means of having just one special person in your life whom you’re totally open emotionally with and that being the beginning of Sena being able to tear down that mental and emotional block of a wall that’s been his Achilles till now particularly when it comes to his piano/music. \(^o^)/!!

    Like

    • djv124 says:

      This was a powerful scene. This series doesn’t preach too much or have long winded talks about love. It’s been very fast paced so far…so to have this guy really dig in about what love means…it came at the perfect time. I loved it. Very good stuff, and he said all of this at a very lovely place too, didn’t he? Yummy noodles!

      Like

  7. And now the cat’s out of the bag as Sena sees Minami’s paperwork for a new place to live. =( Sena’s playing of “Minami’s” theme on the piano here in a light heart~ed way is sweetly soothing and Minami’s dream~* is likewise soothing to hear her recite from memory. And the trigger is of course Sena’s playing…… =).

    Like

  8. Notice that Sena pauses and then refrains from revealing where he’d be heading to if he wins the competition? Purposely done as in the back of his mind he must be thinking that revealing such a thing right now will only push Minami further away from him then she already is.

    Like

  9. Every time they drink red wine, I want a nice merlot or the like! =)

    Like

  10. Another fireworks display at Shinji’s place and I did not see this one coming in a million years!!!!!! =O I was so shocked that Rumiko would go so far just to show up Shinji in his face. =O And how strangely that guy must have felt hearing her words of explanation!! The whole good looking guy complex in relationships was quite biting and I think true too on some levels or situations unfortunately.

    Like

  11. For the first time I really felt for Shinji’s feelings, being told that so bluntly. And yet it all works out okay with Ryokochan’s agreeing to him staying over at her place.

    Like

  12. That wasn’t just getting back at Shinji, that was downright brutal!!!!! =O Rumiko showed a side we’ve not imagined that she even had just then, cheers for her on one side although I CANNOT imagine that she’s into that guy by any means! xD

    Like

    • djv124 says:

      Meh..didn’t care so much for Rumiko’s whole getting back at Shinji with the ugly guy or what I guess wer’re supposed to think is an ugly guy. It just seemed kind of childish of her. One more reason to say goodbye to her character already. Shinji finally seems to have found somebody he can really love, and I am rooting for him and Ryoko chan now since they seem like total opposites that completely attract. It’s a good thing, I’m sure.

      Like

  13. I really thought the whole honest conversation regarding Minami moving out of Sena’s place really worked so so naturally with them playing basketball in that familiar spot downstairs, it’s like that venue itself just lead to a let me down easy sort of way if that makes any sense at all. My feeling here despite the underlying of cheering for them to be together all this time was that with Sena opening himself up to the competition with much thanks to Minami for opening him up,emotionally that way, that coupled with Minami’s finding of a loving and kind man for herself made this reveal not so devastating. I mean sure it’s that way on the underlying emotional level of Sena & Minami, but we just felt this sort of happy vibe here despite all of that. Plus well wishes between them which seemed most genuine made is that much more happy.

    Like

    • djv124 says:

      Them playing basketball together really didn’t make things any easier, in my opinion, for the fact that Minami went and chose Tetsuya over Sena, at this point at least. It was nice to watch them play B-Ball though together. I was laughing a lot at this scene because of how adorable Minami was shooting hoops.

      Like

  14. Eventually that happy feeling does fade though as that moving truck makes everything a bit too real. Minami’s really moving and those wheels are far beyond being set in motion as we actually see it unfold for real.

    Like

  15. I had that same melancholy sad feeling when Monica and Chandler moved out of their apartment and what had been the central gathering place for “Friends” when that show ended, here it’s Minami’s obvious body language as she’s reflecting on her time spent there and with Sena and how it’s all going to end very soon.

    Like

  16. Seeing Minami’s infamous sofa leaving cracked me up a bit as it’s so vividly amusing how Minami once moved in literally before Sena could even say if it was okay with him =P.

    Like

  17. There’s this whole moving on vibe going on here, and it’s even with other friends too. And we finally get wind of Tetsuya’s big announcement to Minami…. or is it?? I thought he was going to propose to her albeit that would seem way too fast!!!! 😄 We were both like ehhhhhh??? LOL The mention of a son though… hmmm….

    Like

    • djv124 says:

      Who is “we?” Are you referring to me and you, or you and somebody else watching this? You’ve said “we” a few times in this post…so I’m just curious who you are referring too. Also, the mention of a son…see, I don’t get why that’s such a big deal. These are two grown human beings, not twenty somethings or teenagers in love. It is perfectly and completely natural if not understandable that Tetsuya would be divorced and have a kid or two. I mean, he’s a grown man….most adults have been married or have kids at their ages, you know? Especially in Japan, where there is the social pressure to be married and with children by the time you reach your thirties. I can understand Minami feeling overwhelmed by Tetsuya’s reveal, but I also see it his way. I dated a Korean girl once and me and her were getting along so well until the day I decided to tell her I had been married once before and got divorced a second after being married. It was one of those crazy, two second marriages that should never have been, something I did on pure impulse back in my more crazier days.
      Me and that girl were NEVER the same again. In fact, she got mad at me for telling her and told me I should’ve kept that a secret from her!
      I’ll never understand why it’s so horrible to be divorced and have children. If you think about it, divorced men and women might be the ones who have the most capacity for real love, because they’ve already been through all the bullcrap that relationships can bring and are hopefully more wiser and more experienced as a result. So that means there will be more of a focus by the divorced person to perhaps find something more sustainable and real in life, and not wanting to waste time either, as seen by Tetsuya’s quick admission of how much he loved Minami. I was so proud of Minami for defending Tetsuya to Sena afterwards….it made me love Minami all that much more, despite her choosing Tetsuya over Sena at this point. I swear to GOD this show pulls me in so many different directions lol!

      Like

  18. Now this was a sweet little distraction of sorts and it arrived at the perfect time!! I truly thought that the side story between Sena and his student Takako had ended and with closure back then but here it’s a most welcome update in the form of a lovely postcard! Just how much of an impact Sena made on her life and thinking is most sweet!~! And her asking for advice too! Loved this moment~*! So so hilarious how too tired souls got that whole greeting/ idiomatic greeting all backwards!~! =P Actually Minami’s the one who set that little Freudian slip on its way but Sena not even realizing it was even more amusing!! =)

    Like

    • djv124 says:

      Ahhh, I liked this part so much! It was very emotional for me. It was very well-timed, and I was happy to see Takako come back here…..very, very cooL!

      Like

  19. MMMMM love barbeque’s!!!!! We have them once on a while so they’re always much looked forward to! Something about grilled foods and friends and family all together just makes everything that much more yummy♥!!!~! LOL!! Sena’s remark about age and cooking natto was pee in your pants funny!!!!!!!!!!!!! Not that I did, just saying =)!

    Like

  20. And our fireworks literally here on display! This episode had a lot of sparks of one kind or another.. some bad some hurtful some good some sad some optimistic and for Minami’s moving out barbeque you gotta have them right!!

    Like

  21. Okay i was like everyone’s going to be that late?? =O A barbeque for two and oh no Mother Nature too xD. Ahhhhhh rain! 😄 Momo’s little run in with Shinji in the stairway had Momo in great form! And we even get a Momo~song to go along with the one “last” time memory* between Sena and Minami…. too cute!

    Like

  22. And this may sound odd but one of my other immediate thoughts was oh no there’ll be no fireworks either, you know the one Minami was eyeing at the supermarket. =( Darn rain! xD

    Like

  23. Rain always gives me this melancholy feeling to begin with and the ambience of this entire scene and what with Minami moving out the very next day it’s all so appropriate with the rain. Her play on words here in order to dodge a question was amusing! =)

    Like

  24. And now we know that Tetsuya’s being married/ divorced and with a son does indeed weigh on Minami’s mind on some level.

    Like

  25. A~h! I did not like Sena being so persistent to put down Tetsuya as a liar here =/….. overly critical as Minami says that is just didn’t come up right away and while honesty is always the best policy I didn’t for one second think that Tetsuya had been hiding it from her. He meant to tell her and even made a big announcement deal of it just before his last business trip, so I’m with Minami here. And OMG don’t even get me started on Sena’s whole skeptical of Tetsuya remarks and how good looking cameramen cheat! =/ Going way too far!!!!!!! And there’s the landmine laid by Sena….. hey I think we have that sauce on the table! A ponzu or savory soy dressing….. more like a ponzu I would think! Soba and gyoza’s mate! Yup and that landmine has triggered a fight! How awfully sad for their last night together… =/.

    Like

    • djv124 says:

      So the BBQ was awesome between Sena and Minami. I loved the whole MomoChan and Shinji moment too…though it was somewhat too slapstick for my taste, I still thought it cute nonetheless. Still can’t believe that’s Izumi playing this kind of a character. Blows my mind completely lol.
      I think the fight here with Sena and Minami was gut-wrenching. It hurt to watch these two go at it. I love how Minami at the end though went to telling Sena that he has no right to say anything, but she is kind of the one who brought all of this up, so it’s not Sena’s fault he gave her his opinion. She does the same in his situations too, so it’s only fair in my opinion. However, I kept thinking that Sena could be right… maybe Tetsuya is a player, and if that’s the case, it could open up the door for team Sena/Minami to actually be how this show ends? It would be an obvious plot point, but I would be totally okay with that. However, I give a lot of respect as I said to Minami for defending Tetsuya, a man she barely knows, to Sena. I just wish these two hadn’t fought so much over him. And Minami should see right through Sena at this point…he wasn’t trying to hurt her, he was screaming here for Minami to recognize that he still really likes her!!!! Yet she either didn’t get that or just didn’t want to admit it.
      The fireworks were all inside, weren’t they? OUCH!

      Like

  26. And the morning after…. bad bad bad. =( Minami’s leaving with their last words being so hurtful and regrettable between them…. and you see Sena’s regretting it written all over his face and body language. =(

    Like

  27. Now these final three minutes are the stuff of drama legend!!!!! Minami’s looking back at Sena’s apartment window…..(hoping that he’s going to pop his head out at any moment). I so loved that she finally gave in an hollered his way! =) You just don’t want things to end this way with those words being their last between them. Stop stop! And we get that from Minami once again. Now while there are only pleasantries exchanged here at first you just know that emotions are much much higher than that and so much must be going on inside for both of them. Loved that Minami came right out and said what Sena was thinking at that very moment about the night before between them. And too funny as Minami shouts out that should have done it* remark just then =)!~! Cute! Well cute as in cutely funny! To help lighten the mood…. and what of those fireworks not set off? When Minami says her final “bye-bye” it really his us…. both sobbing of course. =(

    Like

    • djv124 says:

      Okay, please don’t think I’m a wimp, but when she kept saying “Sena” and then finally yelled it…I cried. I thought it was just…..sooo perfectly written and so well done. And I felt it completely. The funny conversation between them was kind of a way to say sorry about last night I guess, but I totally didn’t expect her to say that they should’ve done it at least once! I was like…eeeehhhh? Typical Minami, ne? Lol. It was cute. I was kind of half expecting Sena to tell Minami to get back up in the apartment so they could get it on, but this is a Japanese dorama, so…no such thing will be happening lol. It was heart-breaking in so many ways. And I seriously thought this is how it was going to end. Can’t wait for next week! next week NEEDS to be now!!!!!!!!! Thank you so much for this mB!

      Like

  28. And it didn’t help our crying as Sena then looked so down, then the now empty room which was Minami’s as he gazed into it. He was playing it so cool out the window and yet his demeanor speaks otherwise and loudly as the episode closes with that oh so perfect look at the fireworks and then the pan out and away from his apartment as a ship just passes in the foreground with that lonely sounding of a horn just then. I don’t know how they could have made this episode crush a viewer any harder under those circumstances and then make you instantly Go!…. I need to see the next episode so badly!~! Till next Friday…. Otanoshimi ni! =)

    Like

Say something nice

