Acchan’s first album + 1st LIVE~!~!

Maeda Atsuko Selfish album type B booklet (6)

Maeda Atsuko Selfish album type B

Acchan’s highly anticipated first album release launched this past Wednesday the 22nd, and while I’ve been absorbing all of the music and video content for just a couple of days now…. I so wanted to share~♥ this masterpiece of J-Pop with you ASAP so I’m foregoing my usual “wait until it’s all sunk in before posting” tendency =).

Now when it comes to album releases the whole multiple versions dilemma becomes much more magnified as an album costs much more than a single release, and so here I went with album type B for its DVD bearing -live concert content (note: type C features the second portion of Acchan’s live event)  versus type A’s “Selfish” music video making of. All CD + DVD versions do include the original music video for “Selfish” so that’s a most welcome similarity here and while I do love seeing how an MV got it all going and put together, there’s just no comparison to what you’ll get with live concert footage!!!! No brainer right? Now Acchan’s “Selfish” album does indeed include a first press postcard (5 possible types out there) however CdJapan forgot to include mine with my shipment and they’ve now remedied that by sending out the first press postcard separately as they realized what had happened even before I did through a friendly e-mail =P.

down arrow

~Maeda Atsuko’s 1st album “Selfish” can be ordered @ Cdjapan~

down arrow

~the album tracks~

Maeda Atsuko Selfish (message card front)

(message card from Acchan♥)

Maeda Atsuko Selfish (message card)

~type B booklet + songs~

Maeda Atsuko Selfish album type B booklet (3)

Maeda Atsuko Selfish album type B booklet (4)

Now no need to preach that Acchan’s vocals are pure GOLD~* right? I mean our ex-AKB48 and former idol~world throne holder needs no introduction when it comes the nuances of vocalizing a GREAT song… and so with that being said “Selfish” captures a most beloved realm of genres… from a bookend of everything J-Pop~py ~~> to the “you’ve now arrived” frontier of contemporary GOODNESS♥ ^^!

Also mind you I’m still in the process of familiarizing myself fully with all of the album tracks here as Acchan’s playlist has been on a heavy rotation as of late! =D. And of course there is the presence of those already imprinted on our hearts (previously released) songs such as “Kimi wa boku da”, “Flower”, “Seventh Chord” and “Time Machine nante iranai” which need no further introduction. =)

Maeda Atsuko Selfish album type B booklet (4)

Maeda Atsuko Selfish album type B booklet (5)

“01 Selfish”

Maeda Atsuko Selfish album type B booklet (5)

“02 Zetsubou no iriguchi”

Maeda Atsuko Selfish album type B booklet (6)

“03 TIME MACHINE NANTE IRANAI”

Maeda Atsuko Selfish album type B booklet (6)

Maeda Atsuko Selfish album type B booklet (7)

“04 Sunday drive”

“05 Seventh Chord”

Maeda Atsuko Selfish album type B booklet (7)

“06 Tsumetai honou”

Maeda Atsuko Selfish album type B booklet (8)

Maeda Atsuko Selfish album type B booklet (8)

Maeda Atsuko Selfish album type B booklet (9)

“07 Contact Lens”

“08 Kowareta signal”

Maeda Atsuko Selfish album type B booklet (9)

“09 I’m free”

Maeda Atsuko Selfish album type B booklet (10)

Maeda Atsuko Selfish album type B booklet (10)

Maeda Atsuko Selfish album type B booklet (10)

Maeda Atsuko Selfish album type B booklet (11)

“10 Natsukashii hajimete”

Maeda Atsuko Selfish album type B booklet (11)

“11 Flower”

Maeda Atsuko Selfish album type B booklet (12)

“12 Hoozue to cafe macchiato”

Maeda Atsuko Selfish album type B booklet (12)

Maeda Atsuko Selfish album type B booklet (13)

“13 Kimi wa boku da”

“14 Kaze no accordion”

Maeda Atsuko Selfish album type B booklet (13)

“15 Migikata”

Maeda Atsuko Selfish album type B booklet (14)

Maeda Atsuko Selfish album type B booklet (14)

Maeda Atsuko Selfish album type B booklet (15)

~the music video~

Maeda Atsuko in Selfish MV (1)Maeda Atsuko in Selfish MV (2)Maeda Atsuko in Selfish MV (3)Maeda Atsuko in Selfish MV (4)

~“Selfish” (mv)~

Maeda Atsuko in Selfish MV (6)Maeda Atsuko in Selfish MV (7)Maeda Atsuko in Selfish MV (8)Maeda Atsuko in Selfish MV (9)Maeda Atsuko in Selfish MV (10)Maeda Atsuko in Selfish MV (11)Maeda Atsuko in Selfish MV (12)Maeda Atsuko in Selfish MV (13)Maeda Atsuko in Selfish MV (14)Maeda Atsuko in Selfish MV (15)Maeda Atsuko in Selfish MV (16)Maeda Atsuko in Selfish MV (17)Maeda Atsuko in Selfish MV (19)Maeda Atsuko in Selfish MV (18)Maeda Atsuko in Selfish MV (20)Maeda Atsuko in Selfish MV (21)Maeda Atsuko in Selfish MV (22)Maeda Atsuko in Selfish MV (23)Maeda Atsuko in Selfish MV (24)Maeda Atsuko in Selfish MV (25)Maeda Atsuko in Selfish MV (26)Maeda Atsuko in Selfish MV (28)

~Acchan’s♥ 1st live “Seventh Chord” @

Zepp Tokyo~

(Live part 1 as found on album type B’s DVD aka: why this album release rocks much more than most albums out there and why you should purchase it!)

Simply you couldn’t yearn for more Acchan♥ in this live event as not only are the song selections here outstanding, but also you’re treated to the natural art of stage presence by an artist, Acchan’s sometimes adorably nasally side of her vocals which always makes me giddy, a full live band to boot because there’s simply no substitute like ever in the history of music… idols or otherwise, a brief 3 minute band only jam which appears to be either a) for an Acchan wardrobe change? or b) an interlude which will lead up to an encore?… either way it’s wonderful to hear/see this band jam freely making them the main focus for just a little bit and last but certainly not least is the upping of emotions during Acchan’s performance of “Migikata” (btw: gorgeous song!!) where she gets really chocked up in a few moments where the chemistry between her fans and herself @ this live connect with one another in ways only known to idols & those whom are endeared to them~. ^^* OH! and there’s also one extra LONG MC which touches bases on not only Acchan’s career but also includes a wealth of tidbits that you most likely never knew about Acchan prior to watching this extended MC.

Acchan’s radiant~*~~* smile is second to none!!

Maeda Atsuko in first live Seventh Chord at Zepp Tokyo (live) (16)

~Maeda Atsuko 1st live “Seventh

Chord” at Zepp Tokyo (pt.1)~

Here I’ve edited the Acchan’s song performances (and extended MC) separately as the original DVD doesn’t appear to have any chapters, this way you can instantly jump to a beloved song or performance without needing to dig through the entire clip~.

(note: Screen captures are not intended to match up with song performances.)

~“Hitorijime”~

Maeda Atsuko in first live Seventh Chord at Zepp Tokyo (live) (1)Maeda Atsuko in first live Seventh Chord at Zepp Tokyo (live) (3)Maeda Atsuko in first live Seventh Chord at Zepp Tokyo (live) (2)Maeda Atsuko in first live Seventh Chord at Zepp Tokyo (live) (4)Maeda Atsuko in first live Seventh Chord at Zepp Tokyo (live) (5)

~“Time machine nante iranai”~

Maeda Atsuko in first live Seventh Chord at Zepp Tokyo (live) (6)Maeda Atsuko in first live Seventh Chord at Zepp Tokyo (live) (7)Maeda Atsuko in first live Seventh Chord at Zepp Tokyo (live) (10)Maeda Atsuko in first live Seventh Chord at Zepp Tokyo (live) (8)Maeda Atsuko in first live Seventh Chord at Zepp Tokyo (live) (9)

~“Kaze no accordion”~

Maeda Atsuko in first live Seventh Chord at Zepp Tokyo (live) (11)Maeda Atsuko in first live Seventh Chord at Zepp Tokyo (live) (12)Maeda Atsuko in first live Seventh Chord at Zepp Tokyo (live) (13)Maeda Atsuko in first live Seventh Chord at Zepp Tokyo (live) (14)Maeda Atsuko in first live Seventh Chord at Zepp Tokyo (live) (15)

~“I’m Free”~

Maeda Atsuko in first live Seventh Chord at Zepp Tokyo (live) (16)Maeda Atsuko in first live Seventh Chord at Zepp Tokyo (live) (17)Maeda Atsuko in first live Seventh Chord at Zepp Tokyo (live) (18)Maeda Atsuko in first live Seventh Chord at Zepp Tokyo (live) (19)Maeda Atsuko in first live Seventh Chord at Zepp Tokyo (live) (20)

~“Migikata”~

Maeda Atsuko in first live Seventh Chord at Zepp Tokyo (live) (21)Maeda Atsuko in first live Seventh Chord at Zepp Tokyo (live) (22)Maeda Atsuko in first live Seventh Chord at Zepp Tokyo (live) (23)Maeda Atsuko in first live Seventh Chord at Zepp Tokyo (live) (24)Maeda Atsuko in first live Seventh Chord at Zepp Tokyo (live) (25)

~“Kimi wa boku da”~

Maeda Atsuko in first live Seventh Chord at Zepp Tokyo (live) (26)Maeda Atsuko in first live Seventh Chord at Zepp Tokyo (live) (27)Maeda Atsuko in first live Seventh Chord at Zepp Tokyo (live) (28)Maeda Atsuko in first live Seventh Chord at Zepp Tokyo (live) (29)Maeda Atsuko in first live Seventh Chord at Zepp Tokyo (live) (30)

~LONG MC~

(not to be confused with “Young MC” =P.

Maeda Atsuko in first live Seventh Chord at Zepp Tokyo (live) (31)Maeda Atsuko in first live Seventh Chord at Zepp Tokyo (live) (32)Maeda Atsuko in first live Seventh Chord at Zepp Tokyo (live) (33)Maeda Atsuko in first live Seventh Chord at Zepp Tokyo (live) (35)Maeda Atsuko in first live Seventh Chord at Zepp Tokyo (live) (34)

~“Flower”~

Maeda Atsuko in first live Seventh Chord at Zepp Tokyo (live) (36)Maeda Atsuko in first live Seventh Chord at Zepp Tokyo (live) (37)Maeda Atsuko in first live Seventh Chord at Zepp Tokyo (live) (38)Maeda Atsuko in first live Seventh Chord at Zepp Tokyo (live) (39)Maeda Atsuko in first live Seventh Chord at Zepp Tokyo (live) (40)

~“Hoozue to café macchiato”~

Maeda Atsuko in first live Seventh Chord at Zepp Tokyo (live) (41)Maeda Atsuko in first live Seventh Chord at Zepp Tokyo (live) (43)Maeda Atsuko in first live Seventh Chord at Zepp Tokyo (live) (42)Maeda Atsuko in first live Seventh Chord at Zepp Tokyo (live) (44)Maeda Atsuko in first live Seventh Chord at Zepp Tokyo (live) (45)

~“Natsukashii hajimete”~

Maeda Atsuko in first live Seventh Chord at Zepp Tokyo (live) (46)Maeda Atsuko in first live Seventh Chord at Zepp Tokyo (live) (47)Maeda Atsuko in first live Seventh Chord at Zepp Tokyo (live) (48)Maeda Atsuko in first live Seventh Chord at Zepp Tokyo (live) (49)Maeda Atsuko in first live Seventh Chord at Zepp Tokyo (live) (50)Maeda Atsuko in first live Seventh Chord at Zepp Tokyo (live) (51)Maeda Atsuko in first live Seventh Chord at Zepp Tokyo (live) (52)Maeda Atsuko in first live Seventh Chord at Zepp Tokyo (live) (53)Maeda Atsuko in first live Seventh Chord at Zepp Tokyo (live) (54)Maeda Atsuko in first live Seventh Chord at Zepp Tokyo (live) (55)Maeda Atsuko in first live Seventh Chord at Zepp Tokyo (live) (56)

~fin~

About MorningBerryz

Lover and free spirit who's interests in Japanese culture and the like are insatiable. I am of pure Japanese/Okinawan descent, love my cats, sleep and am a bit naughty at times :).
Gallery | This entry was posted in J~Pop and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Acchan’s first album + 1st LIVE~!~!

  1. djv124 says:

    OMG…you actually put this one up! I was SO hoping you would cover Acchan’s new album! But you kind of outdid yourself on this one! I mean, all the videos too? I can’t wait to watch them all and go through this song by song! I want to hear the production for Flower especially, since I always was partial to that song of hers. Seriously, HUGE loving hug to you for this one!
    Oh, and waiting patiently for my weekly dose of you know what!! I can’t wait to start it this weekend, if it’s still on!

    Liked by 1 person

    • A~h it took a bit of patience in editing the live performances song by song as the original clip is one giant file XD.,,, but it was worth it as I’m sure there will be favorite songs/performances here for sure. The live band adds sooooo sooooo much to each and every song as there’s always the element of improvisation/ re-imagining of compositions and particularly when a genre is played with or shifted to another in some cases giving songs a totally new feeling and substance. I’ve always done each of Acchan’s solo singles here since her solo debut, however ironically “Flower” was released during my blogging hiatus awhile back so I regrettably never got around to posting that single =/.

      Watching Acchan sing live is such a pure joy as her demeanor is just one of honest joy making it so infectious for an audience….. and her smile’s still one of the most radiant~*~~*. This album is really an amazing project of hers and all of the song writing is so top notch, no filler here.

      And as far as tonight’s “Idols Unzipped”, I’m just waiting for WP to finish their side of the encoding process, this first episode is a bit extra long but the ones to follow are the standard 45 each minutes or so. These files take a long time to do, but it is my numero uno so it is sooooo worth it!~! This is so exciting we can “watch together” this drama series an episode a week! This is one of the great ones and you’re sure to be pulled right into it! =D

      Liked by 1 person

      • djv124 says:

        As always, you never disappoint MB. This is so incredible. Really, the amount of time you put into this post I can tell was a lot. I can’t wait to watch the live performances with the band too, since I’ve actually never seen too many performances of Acchan doing her solo thing. So this is a special treat. I’ll always love the golden ace of AKB. Always.
        As for the idols unzipped…yeah, I feel pretty confident I’m going to love what you’re going to show me in this series. I am reading a book called the THE SILENT DEAD, in which a female Japanese police officer who is a lieutenant, is tracking down a nasty serial killer in Tokyo. I can’t help but think of Izumi everytime I read a page from that book. I bring it up because she has that kind of crazy impression upon the soul that she gives, and I feel lucky to be watching anything with her in it, as that will only reinforce what she has impressed upon me so far of what I’ve seen of her. This is going to be really good! I feel like I’m standing in line to go see a movie I can just feel in my bones is going to deliver.

        Thanks again MB, as usual. I look forward to this weekend of spending time with Izumi!

        D

        Liked by 1 person

        • Thank you~♥ that means so much to me! I tend to overdo things rather than cut corners and especially when it’s something you’re passionate and into you want to go that much more into it, yes I’m a sometimes obsessive nut~* =P. I think you’re going to love the live performances,
          Acchan is radiant and as fun as ever particularly during her extended MC which is worth the watch. Acchan makes me happy and this album of hers makes me happy, just an entirety of catchy and lovable songs to go around~. You’re writer’s mind is always as imaginative and intuitive as ever with ideas!! =D I have to say that Inamori~san’s role in the drama we’re about to watch is a much different role than perhaps any other in which she’s been cast….. when you realize it*, I’ll just say that I’ve been referred to being that* way at times in my life, much more during my adolescence I assure you but nonetheless I can relate on that side of things =P.

          The entire cast is incredible and especially when you consider where they all are today and since this drama series originally aired all those years ago! It’s a remarkable cast top to bottom and even with the bit roles too they’re notable today. A~h but it’s the main female lead and main male lead you’re going to fall in love with, and for very different reasons of course LOL and I’m not entirely speaking in terms of men and woman in general as their actual roles are two of the most memorable ever written, and don’t just take my word for it as it’s pretty much a universal agreement across the drama loving world~. ^^

          I’m going to check again on WP’s progress with the episode…..!

          Like

          • djv124 says:

            Ahhh, you posted it! I can’t wait to dive into it! If I can get my work finished tonight, that’s the very first thing I’m going to do! I can’t wait!
            Also, there’s nothing wrong with being passionate about what you love. I’m so happy you are passionate everything you post and discuss in your blog. It’s comforting to me because it reminds me I’m not the only out there who goes all out when they love something. As I’ve said before, the person who is lucky enough to be with you will probably experience love like they’ve never experienced before. I imagine you are never going to be the girl who is only half into a any relationship you choose to be part of. And it shows even in posts like this one where you are just killing it with all the special stuff you post up here for us to check out! By the way, I’m working my way through Acchan’s album…so far, pretty good!
            But yeah, you rule MB, but you already know that lol. I also appreciate the fact that you put up your top 35 doramas as well. Some of them sound amazing, and a few of them I’ve actually seen in their entirety. I hope maybe someday to watch them all, so we can discuss them!
            Sleepover? Ha ha ha. More like long, extended vacation for a few months. We have a lot of shows to watch!
            But lets start with the best dorama, right?
            So it begins.

            Liked by 1 person

            • Okay so the my comment on the drama’s 1st episode became like 27 smaller comments otherwise it would’ve been like one gigantic blob of a comment =O. Just thought it’d be easier that way so if you scroll downward I put all of my initial thoughts on the first episode in bite size easy to consume comments =).

              And now that the padlock has been removed xD just kidding!! A relationship would have to be total dedication, I couldn’t be any other way =).

              I was much more of a drama~holic back then so a lot of my favorites are from awhile back, but as they say the good ones are timeless. Hahaha I have so many of those on…wait for it….VHS!! I used to record them from our local t.v. station here back then, I’d have like three or four going on during the same time period and all of these little post-its reminding me when to set the recording timer each day!

              Like

      • Denny Sinnoh says:

        RE: “Watching Acchan sing live is such a pure joy as her demeanor is just one of honest joy making it so infectious”

        She is amazing, in every possible way … plus she is the CURE for scurvy!
        (see bathtub photo)
        : )

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Denny Sinnoh says:

    I’m inclined to just buy the type D CD only, but I will wait for the price decline on eBay.
    Notice how she tried to make the cover just for me, but the photographer could not center it correctly.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ohh type D’s sexy leg pose?? It’s really one of the prettier of the covers, see how they do that…. make the great looking cover the regular edition so that they can get me to buy all four…? =O Ehhhhh! I had to resist this time and get only type B for the live footage =P.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. djv124 says:

    Okay, so I finished everything on this post and I think for me, the highlights really were seeing Acchan break down and cry from all the love she got during her performance from all the fans. That was pretty epic. She really struggled to get through that song, but it was so heartfelt and genuine that my emotions responded in kind. I really was blown away by that.
    I also loved her MC portion, what I could understand of it. She smiled so much and seemed so incredible in terms of how she treated her fans and responded to their yelling things to her. I thought that was neat.
    Flower was definitely my favorite performance, probably because I’m so used to hearing that song and I actually think it’s just a really well written song. Simple, easy hook and beautiful vocal melody. What’s not to love about it? But seeing her do this with a band and not the usual AKB style PA music playing in the background while she sang the song, that elevated the performance to a whole other level. Seriously, you were so on point when you talked about the band making this a much better experience live than if she had opted to not go with a band. It makes me wish I could hear all AKB songs done with a full band and the girls singing along with them. That would be so incredible, or at least some of the songs you know? Oh, and the jam by the band was fun too!

    It’s weird, but Acchan truly is one of the only people I can think of who never looks bad in any shot or video of her, with or without makeup, or just her being her. She is that rare beauty that just really doesn’t have a bad look, like, ever. I think as she got older, she actually became way more attractive too, but still she has kind of a babyface. Those cheeks of hers….KAWAIIII!

    Anyway, I really appreciated this post. Acchan is a huge love of mine, mostly because I got into AKB right when she was leaving, and I learned so much about the ultimate ace in the process that for me, her story really helped me to love AKB like I do today. This is a good affirmation of how far Acchan has come from those days way back when in AKB, and it’s excellent to see her go out on her own and do this kind of music. I can only hope she’ll bring her show here to the US so I can watch her in some club in LA and cheer her on. What a beautiful treasure this cd is!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh yes live bands add so much!! Back in the day, LOL that sounded a bit odd for me to say =P! But really a lot of idols groups from back in the day would regularly actually travel with a live band and some of the bands actually had names to which was really cool. Just how the idols interact with the band adds so much to the performances and then you add in improvisations no matter how subtle or large and it just elevates everything live. Momusu actually began with a live band for their very first live concert but then later went away from it….always puzzled me albeit I figured it was for keeping costs down but it would have been so much better had they kept it up all the way through. Later on of course they had live bands regularly again and in particular for their solo artists so that was nice. Just imagine all of those rockin’ AKB48 songs being driven by a live band and the girls getting into it that much more!~! I think most fans wouldn’t mind paying a bit more for that addition to any show they produce!

      I remember the first time I saw an idol get overwhelmed by emotion from their fans and just lose it on stage where they had a difficult time singing….it was the most heartwarming experience and then to see the reaction from fans cheering her on made it two-fold amazing!~! Acchan really felt her fan’s support and it was an amazing moment for sure and with the slightly smaller venue it made everything that much more intimate versus a gigantic stadium…although nothing against gigantic stadiums as ARASHI sort of invented a way for not a bad seat in the house to be had! =D It’s so cool that both you and Denny favor “Flower” so much!!!!! It is a GREAT song and overall single too!!

      Awww the girl with the squeezable cheeks! Totally totally agree on Acchan’s naturally gorgeous looks, she’s one of those girls which truly wakes up that way =)!

      Couldn’t have dreamed~* up a better first album from Acchan! Love all of her new songs too and then to get this live performance…priceless!! ^^

      Like

      • djv124 says:

        Yeah, Me and Denny are kind of similar in our tastes, I think. I dunno why, but Flower just hits all the right melodic notes for me, and Acchan sings it always so beautifully and with emotion. It’s exactly what I look for in an idol, her kind of emotion she puts forth in her songs. And honestly, seeing Acchan do her thing in a solo capacity really was much better than I could have imagined. I had a lot of fun with this live performance and I think for sure she is only going to get better with time if she chooses to continue performing and not, like, you know, make this a one and done type affair. I hope she’ll continue to love music like we all love her music.

        Liked by 1 person

        • “Flower” even included a “dialogue version” of the MV which says a lot about the song’s message and how much AkiP put into her going solo back then. Really a beautiful song and I just wish I had not been on blogging hiatus back then when it was released as it remains one of many releases that I missed out on posting up here during that time. =/ I too really hope that she continues on with her music career albeit her acting is certainly taking front and center for her and it’s really her passion it appears. Fingers crossed for more!~! ^^

          Like

Say something nice

