Desert Island Discs Volume 1

Desert Island

And so I was thinking about rebooting this into an ongoing feature with variations to keep things interesting and so in the spirit of that possibility (depending on shared lists ^^), let’s go back to the very beginning….

..If you shopped regularly at Tower Records back in the day before the idea of the record store for the most part went the way of the dinosaur, then surely you’ll remember their free monthly publication Pulse! magazine which was always available for you to pick up while on your way into or out of the store. They used to have this fun long running feature which I think was in the back of the magazine and it was titled ‘Desert Island Discs’ and it simply proposed the idea of having to choose precisely which albums you’d choose to have with you in the hypothetical world of you being stranded on a deserted island for the rest of your life with only precisely those albums/songs you have chosen. I can’t remember if they did them by entire albums or by single songs but in any case you could easily play along in either hypothetical sense choosing either all albums or all singular songs =). The allowed number of albums/songs I think was set at 10 although don’t quote me on that as I’m no where near being sure of that. On second thought I’m pretty sure it was done by entire albums so you’d get 10 albums to choose.

As an added bonus* I’ll also be taking the liberty of adding to this game the choice of one celebrity whom you’d want to spend the rest of your days with upon this hypothetical deserted island. For me the choice is simple…okay not really but after much inner struggle to produce a single celebrity’s name it all came down to either Kaneshiro Takeshi, Takenouchi Yutaka or Oshima Yuko and in the end I chose Yuko (*´∀`) ー♥♥♥!、okay I know what you’re thinking!!!!….how will we ever be able to reproduce? know to grow a family upon this deserted island?? Well, Yuko and I could give it a go although two you~who’s will never replace a wee~wee I’m afraid (;゜□゜)。Still, it’d be Yuko…now if only there were actually such comforts upon a deserted island beach (sadly Mayuyu not included in my daydream~*~~*)…


Yuko x MayuyuYuko x MayuyuYuko x Mayuyu

~Desert Island Discs All AKB48 edition~

So for this very first edition I’m doing an AKB48 exclusive desert island discs and I’ll be going with 10 individual songs instead of entire albums. I just thought that since it’ll be just AKB48 (and family 48) music that if I went with albums I’d most likely just end up choosing a lot of stage albums so I wanted to make it a bit more challenging as usually this game is played with the entirety of the music universe in play an available to choose from which would be most difficult to do no doubt!

1 0

~AKB48 “Anata ga ite kureta kara” (live at Tokyo Dome

City Hall)~


~AKB48 Team Dragon “Kokoro no hane”~


~AKB48 “Heavy Rotation” (live at Tokyo Dome 1830m no



~AKB48 “Oogoe Diamond” (live at Tokyo Dome 1830m no



~AKB48 Chocolove “Ashita wa ashita no kimi ga

umareru” (live at Shibuya-AX)~


~AKB48 “Shonichi” (live at Tokyo Dome City Hall)~


~AKB48 Team 4 “Boku no taiyou” (live at Tokyo Dome

1830m no yume)~


~SKE48 “Wimbledon e tsurete itte” (live at Shibuya-AX)~


~SKE48 “Te wo tsuginagara” (live at Shibuya-AX)~


~AKB48 “Gingham Check” (live at Tokyo Dome 1830m no





Honorable mentions! (mind you this additional list could go on and on but then would defeat the very purpose of this post completely xD:

  • Tiny T-Shirt
  • Futari dake no kioku
  • Eien Pressure
  • Love♡Wars
  • Sailor Zombie

So what would be your 10 AKB48 (and 48 family) picks if you were to be stranded on a deserted island? And whom would be your 1 celebrity choice to spend the time with you there?

In the future I’ll try posting other categories/genres/albums with this same theme of desert island discs in mind as it’s quite fun to ponder the this hypothetical thought ^ ^。

(The following releases were used to create the videos for this list…)

AKB48 Request Hour Setlist Best 100 2010 special box set with first press photos

AKB48 Request Hour Setlist Best 100 2010 special box set

AKB48 in Tokyo Dome 1830m no yume Bluray with first press photo

AKB48 in Tokyo Dome 1830m no yume Bluray

AKB48 Request Hour Setlist Best 100 2012 special box set with first press photos and post card

AKB48 Request Hour Setlist Best 100 2012 special box set


About MorningBerryz

Lover and free spirit who's interests in Japanese culture and the like are insatiable. I am of pure Japanese/Okinawan descent, love my cats, sleep and am a bit naughty at times :).
Gallery | This entry was posted in AKB48, Desert Island Discs and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Desert Island Discs Volume 1

  1. Denny Sinnoh says:

    Desert Island? More like DESSERT island to me …(scoffs) … (leering)
    (thud … thud…)
    … is this thing on?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Denny Sinnoh says:

    Good choices to be stranded with.
    What happens though, if the other survivor brings along “The Best of Slim Whitman” ?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh thank you! =D The challenge being that there are too many beloved songs out there, I ended up with these ten, songs that always make me happy. Hmm a yodeler? I was curious so I found some videos of him performing and although he’s not my taste I do love a lot of country music for sure. Now if it’s a guy I’m stranded with he better be hot hot hot! Then Slim’s voice would be just fine haha well I’ve no prejudice against any music so I would adapt to his/her tastes ^^.

      No Denny list?


      • Denny Sinnoh says:

        I’d just use your list.

        I actually like Slim Whitman. If you have ever seen Tim Burton’s “Mars Attacks” you learn that the Martians could only be killed by Slim Whitman music, which melted their brains, when then exploded.
        : )

        Liked by 1 person

  3. djv124 says:

    Finally had a chance to really think about this awesome post which might be one of my all time favorite posts by you.
    So your list is rather incredible, mostly because I guess in my mind I wouldn’t have expected you to choose the songs that you did. Not that there is anything wrong with your choices, as they are all lovely AKB48 songs. But really, you like Wimbledon that much? That’s awesome! I enjoy the song live but it’s not something I listen to in the headphones, so to speak. The Team 4 performance of Boku no Taiyou was super emotional, being that I believe Team 4 at this time knew their team was being disbanded. Seeing Paruru and Takeuchi Miyu with tears in their eyes really moved me. I haven’t watched my Tokyo Dome concert in awhile, so maybe I’ll pull that out and give it another viewing soon. Boku no Taiyou is so lovely and sad sounding and just really fantastic. A perfect AKB gem.
    Shonichi is a favorite and I think a must have for many people who say they like AKB48. It documents the struggles of being an AKB member and performing in the theater. So I love that song for its importance to AKB members, especially the earlier generations who really made AKB what it is today.
    Gingham Check is a perfect choice for number one. Yuko driven, a really fun MV that I can watch on repeat and never get bored with it, and a catchy as all heck chorus that you’ll sing the first time you hear it. I didn’t expect you to pick this for your number one for some reason, but I was happy to see that you did.
    Your honorable mentions are nice as well. Glad to see you have River in there. That song IS Akb48 lol.

    For me, I already kind of made a top ten song list for AKB48 on my blog, and I think for me my desert island mix tape would have a lot of what’s in that list, but in that list, I didn’t include the sister groups and their songs. That changes a lot for me in terms of what I would bring to hear everyday while getting a suntan on the beach of the deserted island. So having said that, my top ten right now in my life would go something like this:

    10. Everyday, Kachuusha
    9. Beginner (It’s just too amazing)
    8. River (No explanation necessary)
    7. Sakura no Hanabiritachi (A Must have)
    6. Oogoe Diamond (SUKI! SUKI! SUKI!)
    5. Koi Suru Fortune Cookie (Just have to put this in here)
    4. How Come (TEAM K BABY!!!)
    3. UZA (best dance song ever by AKB48)
    2. Kamonegix (Love the song, the emotions, the’s perfect)
    1. Heavy Rotation (easily the greatest JPOP idol song every written. Period)

    Honorable mentions:
    Mae Shika mukanee
    1234 Yoroshiku!
    Melon Juice
    Must Be Now

    Liked by 1 person

    • Denny Sinnoh says:

      There might also be a distinction between which music (audio) I would bring, and what music video I might bring. Some songs are great for just listening, where others I get a kick from a fun or crazy music video.


  4. Denny Sinnoh says:

    It finally dawned on me that the desert-island location does not have to be forced or accidental.
    There are times when I would like to take my favorite music/video collection and RUN AWAY to an island so that I could enjoy them by myself without any distractions or criticisms.


Say something nice

