Yuko announces her graduation from AKB48 ・゜・(ノД`)・゜・。

Oshima Yuko graduation

~Oshima Yuko announces her graduation from AKB48 @ 2014 Kohaku =(~

I knew this day would eventually come, and yet right now at this moment I don’t think Yuko’s announcing her graduation from AKB48 has really hit me yet…

If you’re not familiar with the Kouhaku Utagassen, it’s long been NHK’s iconic musical songfest where invited female and male singers perform in team formats as they are pitted against one another collectively as the Red and White teams respectfully through an entire evening which concludes right at the midnight hour in Japan where the final votes are tallied and the winning team is declared. Over the years countless prestigious artists have appeared on the Kouhaku and while in more recent years the artists have become more and more in abundance as modern/pop artists, the festivities are very much still in celebration of enka artists, whom are the root of Japan’s unique folk-pop genre. In the clip above which took place just a few hours ago during this year’s Kouhaku, the musical performances of “Koi suru fortune cookie” and “Heavy Rotation” have been omitted to include just Yuko’s dialogue. In trying to find a silver lining here which admittedly is beyond difficult….Yuko does answer Nino and Ohno’s question of her graduation by declaring that she will indeed continue on as she is, which most likely will include her continued acting career and hopefully, just hopefully her music career as well as I really feel that she can be a most successful soloist without question. If you notice too, it’s quite evident even before Yuko confirms it, that none of her fellow 48 members had any idea of her pending announcement on this evening with perhaps maybe a couple of exceptions as Takamina at the very least appears to perhaps have know beforehand…? And the writing may have been on the wall within the past week or so prior as fans have been reporting that Yuko’s demeanor at events lately has been much less than her usual energetic and engaging self, and can you imagine the onslaught of a wall of anxiety she must have been holding inside leading up to this night’s announcement =(.

No doubt I’m numb right now, Yuko’s been my one and only Oshi for as long as I’ve loved AKB48 and really in trying to work through my emotions as to whether I can still love AKB48 going forward after she’s officially graduated…I can’t really say. Of course I no doubt have numerous other favorites in the 48 family and yet, this is devastating…I can’t even honestly put that into words here right. And to think, this year’s Kouhaku Utagassen hasn’t yet even aired here yet locally on our Japanese station as it has annually for as long as I can remember been broadcast on a one day delay as it’ll air tomorrow on January 1st at 5 p.m. (HST). My heart is sunk, would it be understandable to go into idol mourning?(´∩`*)...I can cry why?? and yet really all idols are meant to one day graduate from their craft, it’s just that I’ve always felt an overwhelming sense of it being too soon and that sentiment goes all the way back to Morning Musume’s 1st Gen. graduations as I’ve never really truly felt that sort of okay closure so to speak where an idol announces her graduation and I’m like thinking the timing is right and she’s done all that she can possibly do within her idol home or genre till that point…personally that’s just never happened which perhaps is selfish on my behalf as all idols do indeed grow up as we do as fans and yet in these times I don’t mind being selfish and admitting it openly as days like today are never so forgiving or happy to allow me to be otherwise. You know it’s therapeutic babbling along like this when my idol adoring heart has yet again been crushed, and yet I do think that I need this sadness to overwhelm me so that I can make peace with it, as I continue to adore the ever loverly Yuko~ from near and afar ( ┰_┰)。

About MorningBerryz

Lover and free spirit who's interests in Japanese culture and the like are insatiable. I am of pure Japanese/Okinawan descent, love my cats, sleep and am a bit naughty at times :).
Gallery | This entry was posted in AKB48 and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Yuko announces her graduation from AKB48 ・゜・(ノД`)・゜・。

  1. philipleslie says:

    Oh no! This is so sad. I’m so sorry for you. I’d not heard about this until now. Another of the great personalities leaving…What a year this has been for graduations. Does this mean Not Yet will become a trio, or simply cease to be? I can’t imagine a new member will be chosen…

    Like

    • Thank you Philip, it may be a few days before this really sinks in…..I know it’s been a major graduation one after another this year with Acchan, Tomochin, Sayaka, Kasai and more and more and yet I never imagined that Yuko would graduate just yet, I was so thinking at least one more year you know with her age and all in mind….I am shocked beyond words. I can’t imagine not yet going on without her or even with a new member which would seem a bit wrong to me for lack of a better way of saying it.

      Like

      • philipleslie says:

        You will have to celebrate her time with AKB48 in a super-special post. There’s a really lovely documentary as one of the extras to a single. It’s simply called ‘The History of Oshima Yuko’. Can you remember it? It might be on a Not Yet single (or Heavy Rotation? I’m too tired right now to look) Her dedication is really well depicted. Lots of tears along the way. Lots and lots of tears. Such an emotional journey.

        Like

        • That’s a wonderful idea, I really want to….Mmm…off the top of my head I’m thinking it’s a not yet extra as Sasshi surely had a history clip too there…it’s uploaded here somewhere lol that’s the trouble with the size of this blog =P. I just got an idea…going back a bit and I’ll include too the very first video clip I ever saw of Yuko, the ONE which made me adore and love her so much.

          Like

        • Hmm I may be thinking of a different clip? Here’s the not yet single with Yuko’s documentary…you’ll have to excuse my Yuko rant mid~post =P:

          https://morningberryz48.wordpress.com/2011/04/05/akb48-s-not-yet-%E3%80%8Cshuumatsu-not-yet%E3%80%8D%E3%80%81features-the-creepy-pezboyz-insightful-documentaries-plus-yukos-lovely-rage-pt-2/

          Like

          • philipleslie says:

            Have you seen the campaign on YouTube to notch up 100,000,000 views of Heavy Rotation by the time of Yuko’s graduation? http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lkHlnWFnA0c I’ve done my bit by notching up a handful! Might watch a couple more times tomorrow.

            Like

            • This is so amazing!!!! And! it’s nearly reached the goal and I imagine it’ll go way beyond that target! A~h must do my part too =D!

              Like

              • philipleslie says:

                I’m hoping to notch up a few more viewings today. Fortunately it’s such a deliriously good fun pv and song, that you can happily watch endlessly anyway. The 100,000,000 goal is such a wonderful way of sending ‘We Love You’ to Yuko. Her graduation is going to be way more heartbreaking than Acchan’s, I think.

                Like

                • There’s so much going on and with the colors and well….the wardrobes “Heavy Rotation” is truly addictive not to mention such a catchy song which really represents Yuko so perfectly with its rock edge and of course cuteness lol me biased of course =D! The kisses are most memorable too!..a most sexy idol pv for the ages. I’m sure she’ll be most touched and I may not be the best person to ask about this but I so agree that Yuko’s graduation will be even more emotional than Acchan’s which says a lot as hers was most crushing and beautifully held….Acchan upon her platform going around the entire arena was amazing and most tearful.

                  Like

                  • philipleslie says:

                    I”ve watched Acchan’s graduation loads of times and it never fails to elicit an emotional response. So does the carefree performance of Yuuhi o Miteirru ka? in the earlier announcement concert, when you know that Acchan knows she’s going to drop the bombshell at the end.
                    Do you have a ‘favourite’ graduation, MoMusu included? Nacchi’s is pretty amazing, especially when Nono is literally speechless with emotion.

                    Like

                    • I remember clearly how Aichan couldn’t speak a single word when Gomaki had graduated and they had the camera on her for some time backstage and after awhile it seemed almost cruel to try to ask her to comment which she never did in that footage =(. Hmm….I think it has to be Yuko’s graduation from Momusu (haha i still feel weird calling them with the 14 now) and really her graduation song was pure perfection with “Koi no kioku” which Tsunku had written for her immaculately although whether or not at the time of its original release had it been intended as such I’m not sure but in any case it’s the perfect graduation song in melody and meaning. It’s actually much more than that or rather I say Yuko’s graduation because of what she stood for and symbolized in Momusu and the irreplaceable dynamic she created within the group by just being Yuko. I know too that watching every Hello! Morning episode in order on a weekly basis back then gave such an in depth insight into the group’s dynamics and well after seeing Yuko be Yuko and rule with an iron fist for all of those years in those episodes it was certain that her graduating would be one of the group’s most major losses. Her performance still makes me cry today (´⌒`。)。 Upon Gakisan’s graduation I did a little graduation nostalgia awhile back here:

                      https://morningberryz48.wordpress.com/2012/06/22/swan-song%E2%99%AA/

                      Like

  2. Pingback: Recommended Jpop♀ Reading: January 1, 2014 | Idolminded

  3. Misterchef says:

    Like Acchan, Yuko is an actress long before AKB48.I’ve seen her in various TV dramas as a child star though i wish i could have recorded it long time ago.But one thing i was worried if how much dedication of its members to keep the group on the top spot since i think No Sleeves are the original ones who still remain.

    Like

    • I’ve seen some of Yuko’s earlier image DVDs but not any of her early acting roles, it’s astonishing how early she began as a child star ~*!! U~n it’s that inevitable changing of the guard so to speak in idol life and it’s always difficult I know for many fans as our favorites eventually grow out of their idol careers. With AKB48 it’s really notable of how little first generation members now remain and with the more recent graduations of the likes of Tomochin, Sayaka, Kasai, Acchan and Mariko amongst others, so much of the familiar face of the 48 family is changing so much…and now with Yuko’s graduation I may be biased but I do believe that it’s a major hit to AKB48’s personality. Still I do have many more favorite members with either Mayuyu or Sasshi growing into my eventual Oshi, but I’ll miss Yuko so much and I do really believe that AKB48 will remain strong with their fan base even despite so many notable graduations of late =).

      Like

Say something nice

