世界の中心で、愛をさけぶ

Sekai no chuushin de, ai wo sakebu (1)Sekai no chuushin de, ai wo sakebu (2)Sekai no chuushin de, ai wo sakebu (3)Sekai no chuushin de, ai wo sakebu (4)

Hi Philip,

I was just thinking that I’d make a place for us to speak here about the movie version of “Sekai no chûshin de, ai wo sakebu” as I’d never done a proper post here, but this is really just optional as I’m yet unaware of your reaction to the film…so I could delete this as well =).

I know it’s a very heavy movie to take in, the sort which stays with you long after you’ve watched and although I’ve watched it long ago, it’s one of those unforgettable stories most revealing of how we grieve for lost loves to tragedy, how our past can reflect within it a deep need for a healing and how those wounds at times can only be healed by truth and means for moving forward which can often times bind one’s heart seemingly forever.

Sekai no chuushin de, ai wo sakebu (Japanese DVD version)

Sekai no chuushin de, ai wo sakebu (5)Sekai no chuushin de, ai wo sakebu (6)Sekai no chuushin de, ai wo sakebu (7)Sekai no chuushin de, ai wo sakebu (8)Sekai no chuushin de, ai wo sakebu (9)Sekai no chuushin de, ai wo sakebu (10)Sekai no chuushin de, ai wo sakebu (11)Sekai no chuushin de, ai wo sakebu (12)Sekai no chuushin de, ai wo sakebu (13)Sekai no chuushin de, ai wo sakebu (14)Sekai no chuushin de, ai wo sakebu (15)Sekai no chuushin de, ai wo sakebu (16)Sekai no chuushin de, ai wo sakebu (17)Sekai no chuushin de, ai wo sakebu (18)Sekai no chuushin de, ai wo sakebu (20)Sekai no chuushin de, ai wo sakebu (21)Sekai no chuushin de, ai wo sakebu (22)Sekai no chuushin de, ai wo sakebu (19)Sekai no chuushin de, ai wo sakebu (25)Sekai no chuushin de, ai wo sakebu (23)Sekai no chuushin de, ai wo sakebu (24)Sekai no chuushin de, ai wo sakebu (26)Sekai no chuushin de, ai wo sakebu (27)Sekai no chuushin de, ai wo sakebu (28)Sekai no chuushin de, ai wo sakebu (29)Sekai no chuushin de, ai wo sakebu (30)Sekai no chuushin de, ai wo sakebu (31)Sekai no chuushin de, ai wo sakebu (32)Sekai no chuushin de, ai wo sakebu (33)Sekai no chuushin de, ai wo sakebu (34)Sekai no chuushin de, ai wo sakebu (35)Sekai no chuushin de, ai wo sakebu (36)Sekai no chuushin de, ai wo sakebu (37)Sekai no chuushin de, ai wo sakebu (38)Sekai no chuushin de, ai wo sakebu (39)Sekai no chuushin de, ai wo sakebu (40)Sekai no chuushin de, ai wo sakebu (41)Sekai no chuushin de, ai wo sakebu (42)Sekai no chuushin de, ai wo sakebu (43)Sekai no chuushin de, ai wo sakebu (44)Sekai no chuushin de, ai wo sakebu (45)Sekai no chuushin de, ai wo sakebu (46)Sekai no chuushin de, ai wo sakebu (47)Sekai no chuushin de, ai wo sakebu (48)Sekai no chuushin de, ai wo sakebu (49)Sekai no chuushin de, ai wo sakebu (50)Sekai no chuushin de, ai wo sakebu (51)

About MorningBerryz

Lover and free spirit who's interests in Japanese culture and the like are insatiable. I am of pure Japanese/Okinawan descent, love my cats, sleep and am a bit naughty at times :).
Gallery | This entry was posted in Japanese movies and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to 世界の中心で、愛をさけぶ

  1. Misterchef says:

    I been reading your posts for more than a year somehow this topic got me into writing. I had the book for years(one of my favorites along with Banana Yoshimoto books),I think VIZ(one who publishes some shonen and shojo manga) still has some its books available through online.Anyways,haven’t seen the entire series but manage to see its movie version and other countries version which is loosely based on the book.I know this is one heavy drama but you should also read the book version.Much heavier stuff than that Sparks book.Hey,Nicholas Spark’s book A Walk To Remember has a ring to it.Sekachu published it first,could Sparks be accused of plagiarism??

    Like

    • Firstly, nice to meet you Misterchef and thank you so much for reading =D. For me this movie was actually an impulse purchase way back on its original home DVD release and I actually wasn’t aware of its origin as a novel but as you say the book (origin) is always the best way to experience any storyline with the attention to details and character development being second to none which really gives you real visuals which just are just as if not even more vivid than any translation to screenplay/ movie could ever provide. “Sekachu” left such a deep mental imprint on me and I honestly with even a brief synopsis before hand could never have imagined just how moving and even haunting this story would be and I would literally think about it repeatedly even months after I had originally watched it. I remember sharing the DVD with friends telling them just how powerful and rich in emotions this story was and how it was a must see, happily everyone I shared it with had very much the same reactions to the movie/story and it created sort of a conversational piece for us afterward. As you mentioned the drama version, I too have shied away from seeing it, this may sound very odd but I actually didn’t want to envision these characters being played by different actors/ actresses and particularly the leads with Osawa Takao (his younger self here (played by Moriyama Mirai) being perfectly cast too I must say!!…like it’s 100% believable that he could have appeared that way in his youth, their similar looks are uncanny), Nagasawa Masami for her most powerful role (I thought she was remarkable as the central lead character) and of course Shibasaki Kou who’s talented beyond words as an actress (singer too =D) and it’s really in essence her tragic discovery of the past which is so pivotal in the storyline with the themes of guilt, regret and redemption all being played out in such a moving fashion. I love how the movie seamlessly moves in between the current and the past and how it begins early with his fiance’s finding Aki’s final tape diary in an old outfit of hers from her childhood….the dialogue by Aki as current day Saku listens to them are enlightening of her beauty and mindfulness as their relationship is slowly revealed as the story progresses.

      Most importantly, what I really took away from Sekachu was our human needs in how we need to experience closure along with the deep grief of losing a loved one and just how stirring with emotions the past can become in an instant even though years have since gone by.

      That’s really such a similar parallel to “Sekach” that “a Walk to Remember” has, I hadn’t realized just how much it mirrors “Sekachu” in its storyline. Again, I’m so guilty of having watched the movie rather than consume the book xD…I did love Mandy Moore’s character and acting but as you say it’s most curious to know whether the author had known of “Sekachu” beforehand and had his writings been a little too inspired by the former in “Sekachu?”….as it’s truly a dialogue worthy of exploring I agree.

      Like

  2. philipleslie says:

    Hi, mb. Great idea for a post! I’d better hurry up and order that DVD! Will bookmark this for that time.

    Like

    • Sorry I’ve seemed to have done this prematurely xD!

      Like

      • philipleslie says:

        HI there,
        I’ve not yet gotten around to watching this movie, but I have just finished Strawberry Shortcakes, which also stars Irewaki Chizuru. It’s a beautifully made film, but very gloomy, with some dark scenes. Chizuru-chan excellent, and playing a a character different from the one in Taiyou no Kisetsu, although she is looking for someone to love her, as Eiko was. Incredibly likeable, as before❤…

        Like

        • With such a title I wouldn’t have imagined it to be such a dark film, happy to hear that Chi~chan had a memorable role and on a side note I’m planning to restart Friday’s Unzipped posts most likely beginning with her photo books from awhile back. Still not sure of those posts return date but it will be soon =).

          Like

          • philipleslie says:

            That will be a Friday worth waiting for. No need to worry about not posting for a while as your loyal followers aren’t going to desert you! Your blog is one of the extra special ones.

            Like

            • Well I’m not going to post again as to not distract you from the Ueto Aya post from last weekend, and again I know it’s a lot to consume and new loves are best with multiples and in replays….you know, how songs and performances tend to grow on you but maybe not at first =D. Still I’m confident. And when it comes to Aya~chan’s themed concert towards the ending of the post there are musical/ performance treasures abound…I PROMISE =D!!!

              Like

              • philipleslie says:

                And I promise to listen this weekend and share my thoughts.

                Like

                • Not sure if you’ll be getting into Ueto Aya’s music here but aside from her entire musical/ visual catalog being awesome I did earlier mention of two must haves so I’m just going to put them out there just in case: first would be her “Happy Magic” concert DVD which is featured in the latter part of her post as it’s one of the more unique presentations taking her songs from notes into a complete stage play with notable stand out songs such as “Honey”, “Kokoro poka poka” and “Kimi ga warau to sekai ga warau” amongst many others (live clips included there) and the second would be her starring in the original “Azumi” (second movie is just okay but the first one rocks!!) which is directed amazingly with a talented cast!! And there’s nothing like Ueto Aya with katana getting her ronin on with a bunch or rather a cast of thousands of bad guys =D!!! “Azumi” is so entertaining and a visual feast for the eyes no doubt!

                  But it’d be okay really to say that you just couldn’t get into the post and her songs as I’m kinda guessing now, and honesty is always best no matter what and It’d really be okay as everyone has different tastes in life so I wouldn’t be disappointed =D.

                  Like

                  • philipleslie says:

                    Fear not, I love her music (and Azumi, although I’ve not seen the 2nd) and now I’ve finished with my Mayuyu project, I will sit down and immerse myself in your post. (Honey and Clover sidetracked me too.) IDifficult to choose a favourite, but the single song that makes me warm and fuzzy is ‘Egao no mama de’, which has a lovely chorus (and it starts with the chorus too). But I will comment more in the correct place!

                    Like

  3. philipleslie says:

    A Very Happy New Year to you! Best wishes,

    Like

  4. You bring brightness with your attitude to any day.jalal

    Like

Say something nice

