48 ways to Sunday

So it’s that time again, you know….time to go calendar shopping for the upcoming 2014 and if you’ve been visiting here for any extended length of time you’re probably most aware of my ongoing love affair with idol calendars through the years and although I’ve no where near posted about all of those that I’ve collected over the years (a few others off of the top of my head which I had collected long before I had begun blogging include Suenaga Haruka, Tanaka Rena, Miura Rieko, Mochida Maki, Goto Risa, Fukada Kyoko, Takenouchi Yutaka, Arashi, Tokiwa Takako, SMAP, Sakai Noriko, Suzuki Sarina and way too many more to remember which are in storage at the moment),

…here though are just a few which have been near and dear to my collecting heart since joining the blogging world….

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

(click~~>)  Calendar ♥  (<~~click)

~

~~~~~~~~~~~

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

And so I’ll be off to do a bit of 2014 calendar browsing and while wall space is at a premium a few of my early front runners and sure things are:

Oshima Yuko 2014 wall calendar

Nagao Mariya 2014 desktop calendar

Oshima Yuko 2014 desktop calendar

Okamoto Rei 2014 wall calendar

Watanabe Mayu 2014 wall calendar

Kawaei Rina 2014 wall calendar

Takajo Aki 2014 desktop calendar

And let’s just say that no one really needs that many calendars in their home all @ once but especially with the wall calendars they’re much more like poster collectibles, you know due to the calendar date portion being so tiny overall with the idol calendars.

So here you too can begin you’re AKB48 2014 calendar shopping here as there are 90 types available!!!

For cdjapan’s complete 2014 calendars listing with categories (to the left) you can shop here.

About MorningBerryz

Lover and free spirit who's interests in Japanese culture and the like are insatiable. I am of pure Japanese/Okinawan descent, love my cats, sleep and am a bit naughty at times :).
Gallery | This entry was posted in AKB48, Calendars and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to 48 ways to Sunday

  1. philipleslie says:

    What great calendars! I see a few from time to time on eBay, but usually out of date ones. The Yuko 2011 one looks complicated! What’s rolled up in the tubes? Was there ever a Moritaka Chisato calendar from her idol phase? A Not Yet one would be truly jolly.

    Like

    • philipleslie says:

      I’ve just visited the CD Japan link. So many! Sadly no images available yet, but there’s still three months to go before the release date. Do you have every MoMusu calendar, do you think?

      Like

      • U~n only the other listings of calendars have images available, none for AKB48 yet =/. Oh I do have every Momusu calendar except for their very first one which I sadly missed out on along with Berryz Koubou and C-ute’s calendars dating back to their beginnings.

        Like

    • I was trying to remember some of those which I’ve collected over the years going back the mid 90’s or so and there’s just too many in storage which I haven’t looked at in ages to remember. The calendars all come rolled up that way with just a name sticker atop, the earlier calendars used to all have a metal bar across the top holding all of the poster sized pages together but recently they’ve all opted for a completely paper top which now has a perforated area across it so that you can easily tear off each month’s pairing when it’s time to display the next image/months…before that with the metal bar binding you either could simply flip and fold each page atop to display the new months or you could cut them carefully across if you dared to. I always preferred to keep all of my wall calendars in tack with no pages removed so I used to flip them to change the months without removing any pages. The beautiful thing about Japanese wall calendars is ironically that the month portion with the dates is really tiny so one could easily make any of the pages into wonderful poster images after the calendar was expired, suitable for framing even. I totally forgot about Moritaka Chisato having a calendar back in the 90’s as she did and I have it somewhere in storage along with the others from way back then too….and I’m sure I’ve forgotten about a lot of them, one day I really should go back and catalog them properly, one of my favorites is still Miura Rieko’s calendar from just around the end of her CoCo days, hers is gorgeous and really sensual too. AKB48 does have a collective box set calendar each year (yet to be listed this year if they do release one) and some of the other 48 groups do get ‘school year’ calendars so they’re released at the beginning of the Japanese school year instead of for January like traditional calendars but sadly I’m yet to see any 48 unit calendars as a Not Yet one would be awesome! And since Sasshi’s move to HKT48 she hasn’t had a solo wall or desktop calendar either =(….as she now has only appeared in AKB48’s collective box set calendar….just happy I’ve got one of hers before her move.

      Like

      • philipleslie says:

        Ah, so Moritaka Chisato did feature on a calendar. Does the Miura Rieko calendar have a red strip down one side with her name written in it? If so, then the photos I’ve seen must have been from that, unless they’re from a photo book. I’ve said before how surprising the pictures are for someone who seems to shy! Some are very intense, almost Gomaki-like. Interesting that there hasn’t been a Sasshi calendar. She continues to feature in photoshoots, though. Someone has just uploaded the latest in ‘Friday’. There’s a new Yokoyama Yui set as well.

        Like

        • Moritaka Chisato’s calendar was a theme calendar where she was dressed in a variety of roles, she also released a few photo books too back then although I’ve only been able to collect two of them till now, one is quite early as she still has really hair while the other was shot at the time of her “Futari wa koibito” single cover. Oh I know what you were looking at with the red stripe on it, in my Miura Rieko post there’s a photo of that photo book which also had a set of DVDs which were released the same time, they were done by photographer Christopher Doyle I have both DVDs as well and it’s a bit of an overly artsy photo shoot I thought, her calendar is from an earlier year closer to her CoCo days and in fact right at the break up time so it was shot much more in a sexy~idol kind of way…clear photos with no blur or shadows like the Christopher Doyle photos. When I do finally put up the CoCo post here which is a work in progress…I was planning on searching for Miura Rieko’s calendar and photographing the pages for the posting, she looks absolutely perfect in it. Oh no I may have confused with my reply above as Sasshi did have at least two solo calendars for both 2011 and 2012..wall sized and a poster styled one with stickers for the latter…there are complete scans of the 2011 one posted here within that link above….it’s the one where on one month Sasshi’s getting her wota on dressed in bunny ears and all =).

          Like

          • philipleslie says:

            I’d not seen the bunny ears photo before, and most photobook pics and magazine scans are found on Tumblr. (I really enjoy the performer blogs, which various fans translate. They’re most useful when they have the original kana, as it’s a really useful way of learning as it’s more informal than textbooks.) Do you know if the performers receive royalties based on their calendar sales, or do they get a modeling fee? It’s a good way of supporting your oshi if she does get royalties rather than a modeling fee, although it might be depressing if your calendar didn’t sell as many as someone else’s…
            Looking forward to your Miura Rieko post!

            Like

            • Sasshi getting her wota on bunny style =D! Have you watched AKB48’s ‘600 sec’ series?, actually there’s tons of footage for each girl and they even released a giant all inclusive box set a bit later but anyway this was the beginnings of my falling in love with Sasshi~♥, her personality and just everything about her with her 600 sec release:

              https://morningberryz48.wordpress.com/2010/08/01/falling-for-sasshi%E2%99%A5-%C2%B4%E2%88%80%EF%BD%80%EF%BC%81/

              When Sasshi takes an unsuspecting Mikapon to a maid cafe and it’s later revealed that Sasshi’s a regular there lol that was so so funny~awesome!!!

              U~n the conversational Japanese is a wonderful way to learn as it’ll prove to be much more useful as one wouldn’t want to come off as a bit stiff in conversation in candid or friendly meetings =D. I have no idea if calendar sales are handled in that fashion, it’d be most interesting to find out, now you’ve got me most curious to know too. If it were done in a royalties based way I’d have to hope that all sales are kept strictly confidential with each girl only knowing of her own sales, although so true that it’d be most saddening if one were to find out that their calendar release didn’t sell very well =(.

              I really need to get down and properly finish that CoCo post xD…I’ve already done all of the photos, scans and media so it’s just the putting it all together which is left albeit it’ll be a most lengthy post for sure when it’s complete. Miura Rieko’s solo calendar may be a bit of a rarity now so it’d be wonderful to share it here with any CoCo fans who may be out there =D.

              Like

              • philipleslie says:

                I’ve watched 600 sec episodes on YouTube. They’re great fun, in spite of not being subbed. Are you able to watch Japanese TV where you live? If so, do you watch AKB Bingo? Again, there are plenty of unsubbed episodes on YouTube.

                Like

                • Perfect little snippets of a private peek into the girl’s lives while away from work, predictably I also loved Yuko’s 600 sec release and her visit to that Nike shop where she designed a pair of very very interestingly loud sneakers =O!! Also Miichan and Yuko having those moments* holding one another, so sweet~♥…I was speechless then!

                  Sadly I’ve had trouble being able to access some of the stations trying out several different recommended ways to watch but the last time I had tried was quite awhile ago so I’m not sure if I’d have access now. U~n I’ve only watched a limited number of AKBingo episodes, awhile back a friend here sent me a link where they had like seemingly every episode uploaded and streaming but unlike in days of past where I was able to watch each and every Hello! Project H!M/HM@ episode on a weekly basis just after their broadcast (I have nearly every episode on disc minus their very earliest of shows on discs), I seem to not have as much time now so I’ll catch just a random episode from AKB here and there whenever I hear something about them which interests me.

                  Like

                  • philipleslie says:

                    Some of those Bingo! episodes are completely mad! It’s amazing no ones ends up covered in bruises or with broken bones. I was trying to find the YouTube footage of Suda Akari limboing under 35cms on a conveyor belt. I think that was on Bingo! It might have been removed for copyright reasons. Shame, because it was awesome. There are some nice gifs of the event on Tumblr. http://moderngirlslikemystery.tumblr.com/post/54181321233

                    Like

                    • Oh my dear! that is amazingly low for one to get!! I’m pretty flexible too but I’m not so sure that I’d be able to perform that under those circumstances there!! They sure do some eye opening stunts and jokes on the show! A sign of great idol t.v., like in the old days of the original Hello! Morning where the games and even quiz shows were so creative and sometimes totally out there, sad in the latter days after HM@ had ended too that they’re shows for that time period had become strictly in a classroom dialogue =/. I think for the most part fans enjoy the physical activities and games and those skits of old over a strictly talk show format.

                      Like

                    • philipleslie says:

                      The fun and games really allow the girls’ personalities to show. The DVD magazines do a similar job, especially when they have to learn how to make or do something from scratch, even if it’s something really everyday like cooking. Funnily enough, I’ve mentioned Hello Morning in another comment elsewhere…

                      Like

  2. Ivan says:

    u have a great collection of calendars :P, lot one i have see the seel time of it, and lot i see u talking about they 😛

    Like

    • There are so many in storage too which I’ve never shared here before..maybe I could begin photographing them for some upcoming IDOLS♥ UNZIPPED posts for Fridays….that may be a fun idea ^ ^。

      Like

      • Ivan says:

        go give u a lot of work to do this haha

        what calendar u go buy for 2014 ? i mean who go be the idol group ? or groups

        Like

        • I’ll probably bring them out over time for some IDOLS♥ UNZIPPED posts =).

          MMm…well my initial shopping list includes: Akicha desktop, Yuko wall & desktop, Mayuyu wall, Kawaei Rina wall and Yagishan desktop….for H!P it’d have to be C-ute of course but I haven’t officially place my pre~order yet so this is just an early wish ~* list but I’ll probably decide really soon.

          Like

          • Ivan says:

            akicha ?? really?? ❤
            kawaei <3~~
            yagishan <3<3~~

            c-ute dont have solo members calendar ?? if have i probably chose maimi and airi

            Like

            • Sadly C-ute’s yet to have solo member calendars and for H!P they’ve never embraced that idea for even their flagship group Momusu over the years opting for a group calendar only…..only their soloist have had them. U~n I’ll most likely go with those 2014 calendar choices I think.

              Like

  3. @Ivan
    Kamei for the most part keeps her life now private although she has surfaced on a few rare occasions as she can be seen from time to time on her fellow ex~Momusu girls’ blogs…I’m guessing you may have skipped this recent post?:

    https://morningberryz48.wordpress.com/2013/08/17/i-dream-of-kamei%EF%BD%9E%E2%99%A1/

    Like

    • Ivan says:

      oh probably i dont looked because thinked is only u talking about ur fellings of kamei… i dont know there has pics of her nowdays

      she looks the same hahaha and the same hair style hahah

      know if her solved her problem with her skin ??

      Like

Say something nice

