Desert Island Discs Volume 1

Desert Island

If you shopped regularly at Tower Records back in the day before the idea of the record store for the most part went the way of the dinosaur, then surely you’ll remember their free monthly publication Pulse! magazine which was always available for you to pick up while on your way into or out of the store. They used to have this fun long running feature which I think was in the back of the magazine and it was titled ‘Desert Island Discs’ and it simply proposed the idea of having to choose precisely which albums you’d choose to have with you in the hypothetical world of you being stranded on a deserted island for the rest of your life with only precisely those albums/songs you have chosen. I can’t remember if they did them by entire albums or by single songs but in any case you could easily play along in either hypothetical sense choosing either all albums or all singular songs =). The allowed number of albums/songs I think was set at 10 although don’t quote me on that as I’m no where near being sure of that. On second thought I’m pretty sure it was done by entire albums so you’d get 10 albums to choose.

As an added bonus* I’ll also be taking the liberty of adding to this game the choice of one celebrity whom you’d want to spend the rest of your days with upon this hypothetical deserted island. For me the choice is simple…okay not really but after much inner struggle to produce a single celebrity’s name it all came down to either Kaneshiro Takeshi, Takenouchi Yutaka or Oshima Yuko and in the end I chose Yuko (*´∀`) ー♥♥♥!、okay I know what you’re thinking!!!!….how will we ever be able to reproduce? know to grow a family upon this deserted island?? Well, Yuko and I could give it a go although two you~who’s will never replace a wee~wee I’m afraid (;゜□゜)。Still, it’d be Yuko…now if only there were actually such comforts upon a deserted island beach (sadly Mayuyu not included in my daydream~*~~*)…


Yuko x MayuyuYuko x MayuyuYuko x Mayuyu

~Desert Island Discs All AKB48 edition~

So for this very first edition I’m doing an AKB48 exclusive desert island discs and I’ll be going with 10 individual songs instead of entire albums. I just thought that since it’ll be just AKB48 (and family 48) music that if I went with albums I’d most likely just end up choosing a lot of stage albums so I wanted to make it a bit more challenging as usually this game is played with the entirety of the music universe in play an available to choose from which would be most difficult to do no doubt!

1 0

~AKB48 “Anata ga ite kureta kara” (live at Tokyo Dome

City Hall)~


~AKB48 Team Dragon “Kokoro no hane”~


~AKB48 “Heavy Rotation” (live at Tokyo Dome 1830m no



~AKB48 “Oogoe Diamond” (live at Tokyo Dome 1830m no



~AKB48 Chocolove “Ashita wa ashita no kimi ga

umareru” (live at Shibuya-AX)~


~AKB48 “Shonichi” (live at Tokyo Dome City Hall)~


~AKB48 Team 4 “Boku no taiyou” (live at Tokyo Dome

1830m no yume)~


~SKE48 “Wimbledon e tsurete itte” (live at Shibuya-AX)~


~SKE48 “Te wo tsuginagara” (live at Shibuya-AX)~


~AKB48 “Gingham Check” (live at Tokyo Dome 1830m no





So what would be your 10 AKB48 (and 48 family) picks if you were to be stranded on a deserted island? And whom would be your 1 celebrity choice to spend the time with you there?

In the future I’ll try posting other categories/genres/albums with this same theme of desert island discs in mind as it’s quite fun to ponder the this hypothetical thought ^ ^。

(The following releases were used to create the videos for this list…)

AKB48 Request Hour Setlist Best 100 2010 special box set with first press photos

AKB48 Request Hour Setlist Best 100 2010 special box set

AKB48 in Tokyo Dome 1830m no yume Bluray with first press photo

AKB48 in Tokyo Dome 1830m no yume Bluray

AKB48 Request Hour Setlist Best 100 2012 special box set with first press photos and post card

AKB48 Request Hour Setlist Best 100 2012 special box set


About MorningBerryz

Lover and free spirit who's interests in Japanese culture and the like are insatiable. I am of pure Japanese/Okinawan descent, love my cats, sleep and am a bit naughty at times :).
Gallery | This entry was posted in AKB48, Desert Island Discs and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Desert Island Discs Volume 1

  1. Captivating pictures.A touch of an artist. My regards.jalal


  2. philipleslie says:

    Good choices! I’m going to stick to AKB releases, otherwise I’d never been able to choose. In no particular order:
    1830m double album
    Ponytail to shushu
    Yuuhi o miteiru ka
    Kodoku na hoshizora
    Pareo wa Emerald (SKE48)
    Hazumisaki (SKE48)
    Teppen tottande! (NMB48)
    Naminori kakigouri (Not Yet)
    As for which celebrity to be shipwrecked with…Now that’s a tricky one, and I’ll have to give that some thought.
    Originally, Desert Island Discs was a BBC radio show which began in the 1940s, when a radio was called a ‘wireless’ (the show is possibly still running). It featured a celebrity who would choose the records (8, I think) they’d wish to be shipwrecked with. They would also chat about their choices to the presenter. One luxury item was permitted, a bible, the complete works of Shakespeare and one book of the celebrity’s choice.


    • philipleslie says:

      Just spotted your rule about sticking to 48 family releases, so ignore my second sentence in the above!


      • A~h it was quite a challenge trying to decide on just 10 songs but after much contemplating I managed to narrow the list down to 10…wasn’t easy! “Kamikyokutachi” was an early release for me as I got into AKB quite late and that album surely has a ton of replay value…perfect~* for being stranded on a deserted island =D! I love that you went after singles too and you even got in a sub unit with not yet being a most mutual favorite of ours. All great choices in your list and I had Bingo! just outside the top 10 at literally number 11 so it just missed making the cut by that much.

        OMG that’s so fascinating to learn!! I had no idea it all began that way! That’s so cool that a radio show started this idea and I’m now guessing that Tower Record’s Pulse magazine borrowed the idea directly as they used the exact same title/scenario and all. The Pulse articles would also feature celebrities in music each month who’d choose their 10 albums which they’d want if left alone on an island. That’s so cool!!…love the way that format sounds with the celebrity open to discussion right then on their choices, must have been fun and fascinating listening for sure.

        Now if only you could reveal your shipwrecked celebrity choice?? I’m so curious to know! Silly me chose a girl instead of a guy…but I think I’d absolutely want to live with Yuko in this hypothetical daydream~*,thank you for playing!!! ^ ^。


        • philipleslie says:

          It’s difficult narrowing down favourites. I missed out Jigsaw Puzzle 48, which is a must-have, and half a dozen others…But hopefully these would be waiting for me on the mainland when I finally get back. Still can’t decide on a celebrity. Silly choice would be the NMB48 Senbatsu, as they’ve demonstrated a great ability in the field of raft construction; but as this desert island is a paradise a person wouldn’t wish to leave in a hurry, the solo celebrity would have to be someone you wouldn’t mind being with 24/7. I suppose the natural choice would be someone with great and useful knowledge to pass on. So Tsunku, perhaps, who’s one of the most versatile of musicians/producers. Perhaps he could be persuaded to share his process of writing a song and especially producing it.


          • Lol that’s so intuitive to choose those with raft construction skills =D!…although true one wouldn’t want to leave so soon. Wow that’s so ingenious and unexpected!!! I applaud your choice!! I would never have guessed Tsunku and yet you’ve presented the perfect case in point and reasoning for this to be your celebrity choice. I’d guess that amongst the many wonderful things being with Yuko would bring naturally, she’d help me get out of my shell and to be much more spontaneous, teach me to dance better, sing (as I’m pretty terrible xD) and also I’d just love to know what it is which is going on inside of that beautiful mind. I honestly don’t think there’d ever be a dull moment on our isolated island paradise.


Say something nice

