A timeless J-Pop favorite…S.E.S (愛)という名の誇り

Now that you’ve got your hat all you need is a song! 😛 Before there was Boa and the stream of crossover artists, there was S.E.S…a trio of Korean vocalists with power, grace, and soul in their voices. Before debuting in Japan S.E.S released an impressive catalog of pop releases in Korea and were actually one of the first Korean groups/singers to pioneer the transition to a multilingual career overseas. One day a customer asked to special order their Japan debut single “meguri au sekai” (while I was still employed at a record store here) and while I wasn’t familiar with the trio back then in late ’98 I was immediately impressed with the powerful projection and sound of their vocals which are quite in a very sweet way and when their single “(ai) to iu nano hokori” was released just a few months later I was completely hooked on their sound. “(Ai) to iu nano hokori” remains as one of my top 100 J-Pop songs of all time.

My S.E.S collection is a modest one with just their Japanese debut album and a subsequently released best of album but I highly recommend anyone who finds themselves drawn to this song to check out the rest of their discography!

The melody is extremely memorable and the chorus is simply exhilarating! They sure can sing!!!…so much vocal control, range, and the nuances of a perfect falsetto to speak of!…and I always find myself in awe every time that I listen to this song, no matter how many times I’ve heard it before and they have so many many other great catchy songs to offer any music fan who likes sweet J-Pop with a nice touch of r&b in their tunes. Their Japan debut album “Reach Out” is out of print but many of their other releases are still available here. S.E.S are…Sea (Bada), Eugene, Shoo.

scan0004.jpg

scan0005.jpg

scan0006.jpg

About MorningBerryz

Lover and free spirit who's interests in Japanese culture and the like are insatiable. I am of pure Japanese/Okinawan descent, love my cats, sleep and am a bit naughty at times :).
This entry was posted in Favorite songs, J~Pop and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to A timeless J-Pop favorite…S.E.S (愛)という名の誇り

  1. Mikey says:

    [いいですね]

    Like

  2. Zush says:

    [いいですね]

    Like

  3. Mikey says:

    Nice! I just blogged about this on http://www.plurk.com Fun way to keep up… Like Twitter, but it works!! :)Finland seems so cool! (excuse the pun!)

    Like

  4. I don't know I was just thinking about this song the other day and decided to add just a little write up about it and how much I love it! 'Before the internet'…. :O that's really great that you ventured into J-Pop so way back! 🙂 And so true…not much information available back then either to find online….haha but at least you were online! ^-^ Me and the internet were late friends I'm afraid! 😛 You had to pay by the minute for internet access?!! :O I can't imagine such a thing!! Thank you for the pv link…..love this song too!! 🙂

    Like

  5. This is so great and unexpected really! Wow you've been a fan of theirs for so long!! I love that you still listen to them even now as I really think of their style of J-Pop to be timeless in a sense. 🙂 Thank yo for the "I'm Your Girl" link! I'm thinking about getting their pv collection DVD. I really should have purchased it much earlier! Oh I had no idea that it was a Finnish remake! That touches right at home for you!! ^-^

    Like

  6. My husband is also a fan of S.E.S.~ 😀 I remember seeing their debut on Hey! Hey! Hey! Music Champ with "Meguriau Sekai" in their baggy (and shiny) pink outfits, and thought that they had a lot of talent. I'm kinda sad that they didn't make it as big as others like BoA. I really enjoyed their unique voices and energy.

    Like

  7. wu-san says:

    I forget where I first heard the name S.E.S now, but I'd forgotten about checking them out until your post came along…and well, yes, I very much enjoyed the song you put up for listening. Kind of akin back to that little period in the ninties – inmo – where, well, were a song had this type of feel. You know? does this make sense? lol.

    Like

  8. 'Baggy and shiny pink outfits'…I wish I had seen that show! ^-^ No offense to Boa as I actually own an album of hers and I really love her voice and stage presence but in some ways I think that S.E.S has superior vocals….maybe the timing was just a bit off back then for them to be more successful. This is really surprising me more and more as when I originally wrote this little post I wasn't sure how many would know of them. 😛 I'm happy that their popularity reached much further than I had known. ^-^ Maybe if they weren't under different agencies they could regroup once again…I can only hope. 🙂

    Like

  9. Yes that late 90's sound…really love it!! For me this song has really been timeless as I don't think it'll ever sound dated for me. There are quite a few clips of them up on streaming video sites to watch including some of their pvs too! Lots of catchy songs but this one in particular just remains as my overall favorite by them. ^-^…the chorus is just sooo invigorating and powerful sounding with the strong and expressive vocals! 🙂

    Like

  10. Mikey says:

    I'm so glad you did. Blast from the past, as they say… ^^Nice to know so many others really like them too!

    Like

  11. I'm really quite surprised! And yes! so nice to know that friends here love their music too! ^-^

    Like

  12. dayo ne! says:

    Oh! I'm late to find this but I just wanted to add if you didn't already know that Eugene (kim yoo jin) was from my home town, Guam. You constantly surprise me with our simular taste. I used to see here around before she became famous though she was still a kid at the time. I always though she was really pretty. When I first heard S.E.S. it was already very popular and I freaked when I found out she was in it.

    Like

  13. Oh I had no idea..really?! What a small world. So she is from Guam! ^-^ Haha our shelves are really looking more and more similar each day. 🙂 That's so cool that you knew of her before she was a pop star…and still a kid? That must've been the ultimate kick seeing her grow into a pop star and boy can she sing!!! ^-^ All three of them sing powerfully but Eugene seemed to be the star of the group! 🙂 I'm happy to see that you're going through older posts here. 🙂

    Like

  14. Aki Me says:

    thankz for the wonderful blog to our dear SES….. the trio are really something…
    their talents, passion are exceptional plus their PURE HEART…..
    i just discovered them a few years back..(2005),

    Like

  15. Hi Aki Me!S.E.S has so many wonderfully catchy songs…..the one above just happens to be my favorite but there are many more! ^ ^ So true…their vocals are powerful and passionate…plus distinct. Thank you for your thoughts! =)

    Like

  16. Mikey says:

    Deja Vu, all over again! 😉 <3>

    Like

  17. I was quite surprised to when this post popped up! ^ ^ It's great to know that S.E.S has a nice following. 🙂

    Like

  18. Aki Me says:

    yah.. so many beautiful songs.. actually i listen to them almost everyday.. hahaha…their musics doesn't sound outdated to me..really wish they make an album….i believe that SES actually gaining more fans not loosing…maybe b'coz thats what a great musician is all about…

    Like

  19. I believe some of them are still active in music?? But a reunion would be wonderful news! Their voices just worked together so well and each is such a strong vocalist in their own right so I guess solo careers are great too. 🙂 So true and I think new fans keep discovering their music as well. ^ ^

    Like

Say something nice

