Imai Miki performs one of my favorite J-Pop songs of all time!

One day I’d like to compile together my top 100 favorite J-Pop songs including all groups/artists and while pondering this daunting task Imai Miki’s “PIECE OF MY WISH” came to mind as a sure top 25 candidate. I only have a modest collection of her music which includes 6 of her albums and most of these were purchased during my experimental J-Pop period. What immediately comes to mind the second that you hear her voice is just how elegant and graceful it is and in this regard she’s part of quite an exclusive group in J-Pop. Hmmmm…a good analogy I think would be to compare the aura of her voice to Barbra Streisand’s as it’s a strongly projected one that floats with a seemingly effortless flow. Every note and nuance so perfect and beautiful. Imai Miki debuted in the mid 80’s and luckily a lot of her back catalog was still available and the earliest album that I was able to find of hers is from 1987, “Elfin.” Through the years her music has seamlessly adapted to the changes in style all the while that immaculate elegance has remained intact as her voice is that of an almost trademarked ability and is instantly a recognizable tone.

Her live performances resemble more of a “concert hall” experience and as a true test of her vocal ability she sounds equally amazing and perhaps even better live as she does in her recorded works. For this reason I’ve chosen to share a live performance of “PIECE OF MY WISH” versus the studio version. One thing that you’ll really notice is just how quiet the audience is during the performance…think concert hall atmosphere! Okay so here’s a small singular glimpse into my projected top 25 J-Pop songs of all time…hmmm a list that may take years to complete! 😛 I can’t stress enough just how beautiful this song is so just imagine me going on and on and gushing about it more than I possibly have done before on this site! Well that’s probably difficult to imagine as the gush-o-meter has hit its peak a few times before…think Mr.Children! 🙂 This song is a perfect match for any relaxing evening when you really need to wind down or just would like some moving dinner music to accompany your meal! Please enjoy! 🙂

This version is from her album “THANK YOU.”

Click here to listen to “PIECE OF MY WISH.” 🙂


Ahhh I’ve got a long work week as I have to work tomorrow! 😦 And it’s right in the middle of the whole day and I probably won’t get home until past 11 p.m. Well I’ll have to enjoy tonight!! Everyone have a great weekend!! 🙂

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About MorningBerryz

Lover and free spirit who's interests in Japanese culture and the like are insatiable. I am of pure Japanese/Okinawan descent, love my cats, sleep and am a bit naughty at times :).
This entry was posted in Favorite songs, J~Pop and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Imai Miki performs one of my favorite J-Pop songs of all time!

  1. Mikey says:

    That's an excellent idea – J-pop100! In fact, that might a great VOX Group, don't you think? You could post your 100, and invite others to do the same. They'd have to be fairly dedicated to even have 10, I think, so you would get mostly die hard fans…http://www.netflix.com/Movie/Utada_Hikaru_In_Budokan_2004/70028635?trkid=1660I would help you with the group, if you want… Actually, there isn't much to do, other than start it up and as much participation as you want. Great way to meet others with similar interests. :)Now, I'm listening to all this H!P songs on the iPod!! ^^

    Like

  2. Hmm…it'd probably take me a long time to complete a list like this too! I'd probably end up changing it soooo many times along the way always thinking that I'm missing a particular song! Ah it'd be so difficult to ask others to dedicate the time for something like this I'd imagine but it's a really nice thought! 🙂 Wow Netflix has Japanese concerts too?! Budoukan is such a great place for any performer to reach in their career as it's kind of a milestone to strive for! It's so kind of you to offer helping me but I'm really hopeless when it comes to these types of things and this one site may be enough for me. 😛 I'm happy that you're enjoying H!P!! 🙂 I'm wondering what your friends think of them…hmmm…they may find them strange though. But there's always a chance they'll like them too! :)I apologize so much for my really late replies and I wish I could've responded sooner. I've been feeling so ill lately but I think I'm feeling better today. 🙂 It feels like all I've been doing is sleeping lately. Okay I must lay back down…oyasumi nasai.

    Like

  3. Mikey says:

    Awww… I'm sorry that you're not feeling well. :(Don't worry about me, get your rest! I know how it is to be sick and just trying to get through it. Please don't feel bad, OK? You have gone beyond the call of duty many times for me, and I appreciate it! :)oyasumi nasai

    Like

  4. I just feel so negligent whenever I'm not able to respond in a timely manner and I know that I've been really bad lately. I've had food poisoning before but this was so much worse and it was a bit scary for awhile. I'm thinking that by Friday I'll be back to normal. Thank you. 🙂

    Like

  5. Mikey says:

    I hope you feel better soon! What gave you food poisoning?? It's so prevalent these days. And you just never know where you'll get it from. I am super-picky, but often doesn't matter, since just one mis-step in the preparation process can taint the food. :(Please don't feel bad about not responding right away. I know that if you don't answer right away, there must be a good reason!Hugs

    Like

  6. I think it may have been something worse than food poisoning because it lasted for more than 3 days…it's just that the first 2 days were so bad. I won't share any gory details! 😛 Haha some of my friends make fun of me because I'm so picky with food most of the time although I do indulge from time to time. Some of the foods that I eat regularly during the week are: oatmeal, almonds, oranges, salmon, sometimes chicken (baked preferred!), soybeans, a mixture of brown/white rice, ramen, broccoli, carrots, cauliflower, turkey sandwich, or plain cereal (I can't drink milk anymore!). Emphasis on the 'some' as I can't eat all of that in one day!! 😛 Sometimes I only eat once a day and I know that's really weird but I'm never hungry early in the morning when I get up and with brunch there's no need for dinner afterwards. Some of my friends at work say that I'm so thin and they always try to share food with me! Hmmm…if I take too long to respond then I may have been kidnapped! :O

    Like

  7. Mikey says:

    Yes, I was picturing you eating ALL the above in one sitting before you qualified your meaning! ^^You
    eat really good food, natural and mostly unprocessed. Actually, it
    sound yummy! Lactose intolerance is very common. I was just reading
    about that. Turns out they have traced it using genetic markers, and
    found that it is a relatively (last few thousand year) new mutation.
    Once people starting have animals like cows and goats, it became a huge
    advantage to be able to drink milk as adults to get sustenance and even
    survival. In places where this didn't occur,or people had other
    options, there wasn't as much advantage to be able to convert lactose to
    sugar, it seems. A lot of people don't handle alcohol very well either. Though I can't see the evolutionary benefit to that! ;)Fount of knowledge that I am (haha) I was also
    reading that eating LESS is the key to a longer life span. Not
    starvation, but less than is put out there as the normal calorie
    intake. At least it works that way for rats!! May you live 100 years! :)It is generally accepted that 4 or 5 small meals over the day is better for you than fewer big means. Body processes better, and you don't tend to get as many peaks and valleys energy-wise. I guess that's how the cavemen ate. Unless they bagged a mastodon! ^^But, I know what you mean, having an unusual shift, I often eat one "brunch" meal too. It's a hassle going out for lunch (about 8pm) so it's often either crappy machine food, or nothing.(Que Hawaii 5-0 theme) If someone kidnaps you, I will put Steve McGarrett and Danno on the case immediately!! 🙂

    Like

  8. Haha you must have thought that I was a bottomless pit! A friend back in school used to tell me that I had worm living in me because I don't gain weight. :O That is gross though!! 😛 I do indulge though and it usually occurs on the weekends…I am weak too! It's my fault for not being able to drink milk anymore as I used to be able to when I was younger but one day for no particular reason I just stopped completely. It must have been a few years before I tried it again and…let's just say milk and I can no longer be friends. 😛 I eat my cereal dry and it's a bizarre sight for anyone but I've really tried all of the alternatives such as soy which has no lactose but for some reason I still reject it. I love tofu though and no problems there so it's very confusing. Wait I know what it is…my body is just weird! Hahah if I live to be 100 I do hope that everything still works on me!! 😛 A memory just popped up…my Mom reminds me about this once in awhile…when I was really little an Aunt asked me how old one of my Uncles and my Grandmother on my father's side was and I replied without any thought or hesitation: my Uncle is 50 and my Grandmother is 100. 😛 Don't ask where this belief came from but when I was little I thought that to become an Uncle you needed to be 50 and to be a Grandmother, 100. What was I thinking?! Hahah I would've never survived in prehistoric times! I rarely eat more than twice a day ever!! And on the weekdays it's almost always just once. I hope they find me!

    Like

  9. Mikey says:

    5-0 must find you! What would I do without you now? Your gentle words filling my mind and heart?When is your birthday? I thought it was in mid-December from the context of one of your posts, but I'm not sure… Mine is November 16th.1906 – Opera star Enrico Caruso is charged with an indecent act after allegedly pinching a woman's bottom in the monkey house of New York City's Central Park Zoo.1964 – Diana Krall, Canadian Jazz pianist and singer1967 – Lisa Bonet, American actress1983 – K, South Korean singerWho shares your birthday?? :)You must have been a delightful child! You need to take your Vitamin D! Many women suffer from the lack. Your bones need that and sunshine. Hawaii has lots of sunshine… Got to get you to 100 somehow young lady!! ^^Plus, I think you would be an excellent "Auntie" for the Princesses! Mari's family lives on Oahu and they visit quite often. Her maiden name was Shiraishi. Are you already an Aunt?I am picturing you in your cave girl outfit, like Rachel Welch in One Million Years BC! ^^Have you ever read Clan of the Cave Bear?? (The movie sucks, BTW. Book: excellent!)

    Like

  10. Wow you've got some interesting celebrities sharing yours! Isn't K the one who sings the theme song for "1 Liter of Tears." I haven't gotten started on it yet but will soon. I have some Diana Krall CDs from awhile back. 🙂 Haha I've never looked it up before so I'm not sure if anyone interesting shares mine…think of a very dark day in America's history that involves Hawaii…several movies are based on it…Okay that's enough hints! My father's side of the family is quite large and some of my cousins are married with children. "Clan of the Cave Bear"…strange title!

    Like

  11. Mikey says:

    Yes, K is Korean! I didn't know that. He came to Japan after a failed Korean album… Diana Krall has some awesome records! Did you see her The Look of Love music video on Youtube?! And she's a Scorpio sister too. ^^You must mean when the Hawaiian Queen was overthrown with the support of the American government. I had Hawaiian history in 6th grade there. Have to do a little refresher…Well, that makes you an auntie, right?? ^^Clan of the Cave Bear is the story of a young human girl who after a violent earthquake is found and taken in by Neanderthals(!) Very interesting and well told series of books.

    Like

  12. Mikey says:

    I have this one coming on Netflix:Linda, Linda, Linda Looks like a fun Japanese music movie! 🙂

    Like

  13. Mikey says:

    January 17th…

    Like

  14. I haven't seen that music video before and I'm definitely going to have a look! Hmmmm….think perhaps darker than that. That's great that you thought of that day in history and it never dawned on me that I may be hinting at it. I think you'll think of it for sure now! That sounds like a frightening experience although I shouldn't judge being that I'm not familiar with the series.

    Like

  15. This film sounds like a lot of fun!! I think the foreign exchange student idea will present a lot of great moments…some language barrier fun! 🙂 I'm hoping to watch either "Dororo" or "Izo" this weekend and both look like promising films…I guess I'm in an action kind of mood! 🙂

    Like

  16. Mikey says:

    I am watching on laptop right now (Linda Linda Linda). Good so far! :)You'll have to review them. Yes, good to mix them up. I have a thingy that posts your Netflix queue on Facebook. Do you have Facebook? I found a lot of old friends with it. And it has a lot of cute applications to stay in touch….PS – I am still waiting for E.T.'s reviews to come in! 😉

    Like

  17. Mikey says:

    Silly I didn't guess Pearl Harbor right away. I was thinking in terms of strictly Hawaiian history I guess. 🙂 My hint would be Diana Krall's birthday, I guess! Or the day Caruso was jailed for pinching woman's bottom at Zoo!! ^^ I was living in Hawaii when they where filming Tora Tora Tora! They used many actual planes from the period.If you give Clan of the Cave Bear a chance, I think you would really like it. Every library would have it. Alya is a great woman heroine.

    Like

  18. Friday or Saturday is usually movie night and I'm still deciding which one to watch first. I hope they're both great! My phone has Facebook but I have no idea what it does yet. I need to read about it and perhaps set it up later. Ever since I took away Risakochan's t-shirt, E.T. has been very quiet! :PThat was actually a great guess! I wasn't very specific and your guess was very surprising as it never dawned on me that you may be thinking in terms of Hawaiian history. Ah I'm not a very good hinter! I may have just made up a word. 😛 This is funny…when Pearl Harbor was being filmed here I was at the tennis courts one day and I actually saw 2 Japanese style planes fly overhead at a really low altitude. I have Tora Tora Tora on DVD…I really like this film too. 🙂

    Like

  19. Mikey says:

    Facebook is an excellent way to stay connected with your real life friends, including those you thought where long lost. I found some that way! 🙂 Here's an overview HERE and HEREThere is a very nice iPhone edition of Facebook too. Much easier to use on a mobile! You might want to set it up on your PC first thought. I just bought a whole book about Facebook! ^^ I want to learn some more tips. The program and the third party addons are pretty straight forward though.You have poor E.T. cowering *naked* up on his lonely perch?! ^^I must say that your hinter (you should copyright term!) abilities are great! It was that I didn't think of the obvious thing. Trying to be too smart, I guess. You play tennis too?? Awesome. I played in HS and less so since. Rod Laver was my all time hero (He's a south paw like me!) Lefties throw off your game! heheTora! Tora! Tora! was a collaboration between American and Japanese production companies, giving it a more (for the time) balanced view of the event. Some people freaked out when they where filming in Hawaii – it brought back such vivid memories! (They had whole formations of planes then – no CGI!) I thought the bf of the Japanese girl was a bit of a pantywaist though. Not cool for Charlton Heston's "son"! :)Speaking of that time, I am betting heavily that you would love seeing Snow Falling on Cedars! Yuuki plays Hatsue…

    Like

  20. Thank you I shall now learn about Facebook! 🙂 Wait there's an entire book on it?! I need "Facebook for Dummies." 🙂 Haha now that sounds creepy! He really needs to be dressed properly! I've never played against a left handed player before but I know that they can really swing the serve out wide and lots of variety of spins! Men players are so tall now days but when you watch a player like Justine Henin she's sooo tiny and yet she hits really great serves! I wish I could serve like that! Players that I love watching right now are Ana Ivanovic, Justine Henin, Maria Sharapova, and Roger Federer…he makes the game look so easy and I know that it isn't! I hurt my shoulder though and I play only once in a while now. What's a bf? I'm the world's worst acronym reader! 😛

    Like

  21. Mikey says:

    Yes, you don't want buck naked aliens running around your room! (you excepted, of course)The Facebook book goes into great depth, "moore" than the average user ever would, especially on their cell phones. bf = boy friend gf = girlfriend I know, it's not obvious. I hate acronyms! (except when I use them) :PThat's too bad about your shoulder. Very common though. And tennis elbow. Something about a girl in a tennis dress is soo attractive to me. 🙂 Do yo happen to know the movie significance of "Ditto."?In Ghost, Patrick Swayze's character can't bring himself to say "I love you" to his gf Dinty Moore, so he is always saying "Ditto" when she says it, even though he obviously does love her. After he is murdered, it is too late. Or, is it? Tears will be shed. Queue up Unchained Melody… 🙂 Ditto Dinty

    Like

  22. Mikey says:

    Did you see this new Berryz VOX banner?! HEREAnd here's a song for you! 🙂

    Like

  23. Tiggerkun says:

    Hi M,I hope you're over whatever that was ailing you and are feeling better. It does sounds scary. J-pop100? That's very impressive to even think of coming up with 100 favorite songs and to have to worry about leaving songs off the list. Top 25 would be more of my range and even at that, it would be a struggle to say that they are truly my favorites.Yes, Double Wow! Netflix has Japanese concerts too? I'm going to switch from Blockbuster to Netflix. Thanks for the tip Mikey.

    Like

  24. Haha I need "Acronyms for Dummies"!! I probably mentioned this before but I really love that commercial where the daughter is speaking in acronyms and being scolded by her mother about text messaging too much! I need the translation for sure!! Only recently did I find out what 'rolf' means…and you should have seen me trying to figure out what it meant for the longest time! 😛 I can still hit ground strokes but serving and overheads are kind of out of the question…serving was always a weakness for me though. "Ghost"…I've only watched it once…maybe I should purchase it! Hmmm..LeAnn Rimes has a beautiful version of "Unchained Melody." 🙂

    Like

  25. Mikey says:

    rofl!Sorry!… It's like any specialized group, they always have their lingo, to confirm your membership in the "tribe" and exclude Others. :)We can hit back and forth then, so I can watch you move in your tennis dress… Ouch! ^^I love her version of Unchained Melody too! She is so talented! Have you heard her Review My Kisses from her Twisted Angel CD?! My goodness!
    I want to review my kisses
    On every inch of your body
    I want to reveal my secrets
    That only you should know
    I feel all this pain inside of me
    That only your lips can make better
    I wanna review my kisses
    So you won't forget that you are mine

    Like

  26. Thank you so much Tig! And has anyone told you that you have the cutest avatar?!! Ah I was so ill and I was bed ridden for the most of 6 days….it was the worst in the mornings but happily it seems to be gone now. 🙂 Hmmm…I've always had a history with creating lists and they sometimes take me weeks and weeks to complete. I think that I wore out one of my CD player's lasers while doing one of them as it stopped being able to read anything shortly after. 😛 I'd be comparing multiple songs at one time going back and forth between them…hmmmm…it may have been too obsessive! I used to rank my favorite H!P songs on an annual basis for several years before it became to overwhelming…I have all of my lists posted here somewhere…sorry they may be difficult to search for though. I also love doing favorite member lists!! H!P and Arashi!! 🙂

    Like

  27. Tiggerkun says:

    I'm glad to hear you're doing better. Everyone loves Tigger. You're avatar(?) isn't so bad either. Tell me M, how do you keep track of all your media? I'm thinking that's gotta be a major task in itself. I'd love to see your lists. I'm sure I'll start discovering them soon. Karada ni ki o tsukete

    Like

  28. Hmm…I don't have that album but I do have all of her earlier releases. She really does have one of the greatest voices and I thought it was interesting when she started to work outside of the Country genre. I think there was a song from "Coyote Ugly."

    Like

  29. Mikey says:

    She has such a special vocal talent! I think that she started professionally at something like 13 or 14 years old(!) Country has diverged from what is was, that the term is oftentimes almost meaningless. 🙂 I guess if it has a dobro in it, it's country! ^^

    Like

  30. It's organized chaos!…but I do try to keep everything alphabetical but when it comes to the concerts and special releases it's a bit more difficult and then I have to try to categorize them in a way that makes sense to me. Hmm…if someone else were trying to find a particular title they may have a bit of trouble locating it but eventually I know they'd find it! My brother built me a large shelf that covers an entire wall in my bedroom and most of my J-Pop collection fits there although I've since ran out of space. I've bought additional shelves but my room's really tiny so I'm discovering the funny art of maximizing space when you don't have much to work with! 😛 For movies I keep a catalog of them which is alphabetical and lists genre and the main cast so that if a friend is looking for something to watch they can find it easily. I really need to update the catalog though as I haven't done so in quite awhile now. どうもありがとうございます、かぜが治って、元気になりました。。。君も元気だね!:)

    Like

Comments are closed.