Hello! Project Sportsfest 2006- “The mother of all H!P releases!”

This just may be the most expensive H!P fan club DVD release to date. Seems that there’s always a bigger fish out there but this is the biggest one that I’ve seen so far. It’s pure genius on their part to release something like this and completely outrageous for us fans to be able to afford such a set. lol! When I first saw it I really wanted one but then the thought of how much this set must cost overwhelmed me and I avoided checking to see if it was on Yahoo! Japan auctions somewhere as the price tag would surely be a scary sight. I recently mentioned this set to Paul Thomas as the rally balloons that I recently received with a Manoeri Gatas Brillhantes set reminded me of this release and if he gets one his new nickname might become Paul “one kidney” Thomas. Heheh, he lightly joked about having to sell one to be able to afford this.😛

This set features individual DVDs for each H!P member who participated at last year’s Hello! Project Sports Festival! Luckily I was able to get me a few of these DVDs including Maimichan, Momo, Kumaichan, and Rikachan’s individual releases. Each DVD is about an hour long and each member featured had their own personal camera person following them around during the entire event! Makes for great candid entertainment and the sporting events are really great to watch. Relays, horse jump, kick ball, and indoor soccer are just a few of the events included. There’s also a great quiz event and survival run which includes some humorous activities. Maimichan was great in the shorter races and actually ended up winning the MIP award for the day while Konkon was a force to be reckoned with when it came to the long distance 1500 m run where she could be seen lapping the field repeatedly while only a few barely kept up with her including Maimichan. Momo’s was perhaps the most entertaining to watch out of the ones that I have as she has the cutest way of running!😀 But she was soo slow and even Maimai ended up lapping her along with seemingly everyone else. :O Towards the end of the long distance event she was the only one still running to complete all of her laps while everyone else was already resting and waiting. Heheh, but Momo excelled on the horse jump event where they keep raising it higher. It’s amazing for such a small person, she really can get up high as she kept clearing it round after round! At the end of each member’s DVD is their live performance and if I remember correctly I think it included a couple of songs which they performed in the middle of the large stadium. And just as with the rest of the program, that member is the main focus of the camera throughout the performances. I haven’t watched some of them in awhile, maybe it’s time to get them out again. Perhaps the peachy one would be best.🙂

About MorningBerryz

Lover and free spirit who's interests in Japanese culture and the like are insatiable. I am of pure Japanese/Okinawan descent, love my cats, sleep and am a bit naughty at times :).
This entry was posted in Hello! Project and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Hello! Project Sportsfest 2006- “The mother of all H!P releases!”

  1. La-Rush says:

    huaa….so cute^^wanna..wanna…wanna see….wanna buyy…XDD


  2. HarimaKenji says:

    😀 This was the best sports festival ever! Especially Momo's jumping ability. That thing got taller than her in no time, and she kept jumping. Too bad she didn't win…


  3. Saburo says:

    Sheesh, for a few seconds there I thought you actually went and BOUGHT that monstrosity! But then I remembered that your room has regular carpeting.


  4. La-Rush if I had more money I'd be seriously tempted too! Well produced discs and definitely worth it.


  5. HarimaKenji I'm glad that you got to see this one too! Momo was truly amazing in that event and I wish she'd won too. I've never tried doing anything like that but I don't think I'd be able to clear as many levels as she did. Remember that wacky race thing where they had to run, hop on one leg, and at the end wait in line to answer a question? I wrote something a long time ago about Momo in this event. It was about the term "running like a girl" and while of course Momo is a girl!, she runs more like a girl than any girl that I've ever seen run. LOL! It's when she gets the questions wrong and has to go back to get another envelope, that short stretch before the hopping on one leg part…I've never seen running become so cute in my life!😀


  6. Saburo I'm not ready to donate a kidney to be able to afford this one as Paul joked about! But wouldn't it be awesome to own that entire set? I already sleep on the floor, maybe I should get tatami mat flooring for a more authentic feeling of old style Japan.🙂 Must be uncomfortable though!


  7. Hotaru says:

    Wow! Thats…really extensive!! I've never seen anything like it before! I was amazed when you said it covered every participating member that year :O It scares me, honestly, to think how much it would cost to afford such a massive DVD collection!


  8. paul.thomas says:

    Wow, now that's worth selling a kideny for!You're looking at over 40 hours of footage surely, that would need a week off of work to get through! That has to be soooo expensive, I've just checked out on Yahoo Auctions Japan and the 2 Disc Fan Club DVD of the 2006 Sports Festival is going for 8500 yen! A 43 disc set is going to be extremely expensive. This is going on the list things I'd buy if I win the lottery…or meet a strange Russian in a dark ally way with a scalpel.


  9. Hotaru I can't even begin to imagine how much this person spent on this set! I love how the writing matches up when all of the discs are in place. I just settled for a few favorite member's discs as there's so much other releases to buy that I can't possibly afford this.


  10. Paul "one kidney" Thomas has kind of a nice ring to it!😛 I'd take off 2 weeks so that I could rewatch my favorite member's discs again and again. 2 discs for 8500 yen?!! Ouch! Hmm…I'm still waiting for Publisher Clearing House to show up with the big check! I'll buy you a set too if they ever show up. I know you're not much of a fan of hers right now but try to get the Tsugunaga Momoko DVD! I promise it's one of the cutest DVDs! I think you'll like her more if you watch this.🙂


  11. do you know what site you can get this or not all of the DVD's ?


  12. berryzlover11 I'm not sure if these DVDs are still being offered on Hello Online as they're from awhile back. It may be difficult to acquire them right now as not many if any seeders are available for these files. The DVDs may be available on Yahoo! Japan Auctions but it may be quite costly but with Ohta's help you may be able to acquire some of them. Unfortunately with so many H!P releases coming out the availability of older files becomes harder to get and sometimes quite quickly as Saburo informs me. These Sports Fest DVDs may be hard to find for download. But for sale I'm sure they're out there on auctions but it may be expensive.


  13. ok thank you sorry for asking alot of questions but i love H!P^_____^


  14. I'm always happy to help a fellow fan whenever I can.🙂 I hope the information was helpful.


  15. Nigel says:

    Having read this I believed it was very informative.
    I appreciate you taking the time and effort to put this short article together.
    I once again find myself personally spending a significant amount of time both reading and posting comments.
    But so what, it was still worth it!


Say something nice

